We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hosts, great location, big suite, relaxed B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Ranked #102 of 343 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We booked seriously last minute and got the suite a few doors down from the B&B proper, but we're so glad we stayed here. Amsterdam is expensive, but this was great value - an easy walk from the station, and in a really funky neighbourhood. saved a bit of money by making dinner and lunch. a great base for museums, shopping, cafes etc. Novella is a perfect host - warm, friendly and kind; i'm pregnant so we talked babies! the breakfast was great; we'd love to come back, maybe with my mum and the newborn, and would book the suite again! (warning: this suite not suitable for anyone who couldn't walk or fit up a very narrow staircase - the other suites/apartments look OK though)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trampercamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2010

Beautifully restored C17th house in central Amsterdam, stylish and effectively you are staying in the home of the friendly couple that operate the accommodation. We enjoyed the ambience of being in a family home close to all the attractions we wished to visit and only some 5 minutes from the central station. Particularly enjoyed the playful family dogs.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranciPeckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Our stay at the Blue Sheep was in one of the suites, rather than the true bed & breakfast that they run. Suite 3 was an apartment with full kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, dining area, and sitting area. The location (between Singel and Herengracht Canals) was great. Jon and Novella were friendly, but being in the suites, we had little interaction with them. The only problem we had during our stay was that we had reserved 6 nights in Suite 3 through Expedia, but on arrival were told that another guest decided to stay in Suite 3 for an extra night. So we had to stay in Suite 2 (not as nice) and then get shuffled to the correct room the next day. For the price and quality, Suite 3 is totally worth it (Suite 2 was not). You might want to confirm your reservation via email or phone call with the owners before you show up. There is no air conditioning, which was fine for the first 5 nights, but made for stuffy conditions on the last night. The stairs up to the suite are creaky, winding, and VERY narrow (see photo). This is generally fine, but difficult if you are carrying bags. We found the staircase to be charming, but some guests may find it difficult to climb/descend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissouriTraveler96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
9lla, Owner at The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2010

Dear Guest, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay
Is important to know that the suite and our B&B is in Heritage Unesco, the stair and the building itself is from 700 century nothing can 'be changed.....this has a value.

If our guests want to stay in a typical Dutch house will be happy to host , otherwise is 'better to book an hotel with elevator.
Let me clarify that the luggages are brought in the rooms and Suites by our trusted Eddy....during our check-in and check-out time.
Novella Scholten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Myself, my wife, and our 22 year-old daughter stayed in the blue room and green room for 3 nights for 120 euros per room in mid-June 2010. The B&B is only 5 minutes from the train station. However, we attempted to follow the map on their website and got lost and it took us 30 minutes in the rain. We arrived at the house around 6pm, later than we had expected, and no one was there. We found out later Jon and Novella are there from 9-5 and usually run errands after 5. There happend to be another guest that was returning that let us in even though they did leave a phone# on the door to call. After a 9 hr. flight from the U.S. and all of this we wondered if everything would turn out ok. The Blue Sheep definately exceeded our expectations.
First the layout of the house:
1st floor: kitchen; orange room w/private bath(smaller room w/no windows); bathroom
for blue and green rooms
2nd floor: Jon and Novella's private residence; blue room
3rd floor: green room
They also have a few apartments down the street to rent but they don't usually include breakfast if the main house is full. Breakfast includes the normal meats, cheeses, cereals, yogurt, and even scrambled eggs. But the real reason for the success of this B&B is Jon and Novella. Jon was very good with suggestions about restaurants and where to go. He even booked concert tickets for us online. Novella varied breakfast every day and was very open to conversation. She even let us use her laptop to check e-mail. Their daughter, Vicki, is a typical 3 year old. Their dogs, Spot and Vito, are great to play with but not allowed in the guest rooms. Allen, a hired housekeeper, keeps everything clean. I would definately stay at the Blue Sheep again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoenix1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

My friend and I decided to spend a few days in Amsterdam on our way home from a medical mission trip in Uganda. We were so blessed to find The Blue Sheep bed and breakfast for our stay! After an exhausting trip, this place was just the ticket for a calm, relaxing stay. It's in a wonderful location along the Singel canal, within walking distance to cafes, restaurants and shopping. Very close to the Anne Frank museum and the Noordermarkt farmers/flea market. We stayed in one of the suites, which had a lovely little kitchen area, living room and large bathroom. We were only planning to stay three nights, but flew into Amsterdam about 5 hours before the Icelandic volcano erupted and ended up having to stay an extra 3 nights due to airport closures. Novella and her husband Joe (hosts) were phenomenal during our stressful travel interruption. They ensured us they would have a place for us to stay. Even if they were booked those extra nights, they would have let us stay in the spare bedroom in their own apartment. Very flexible and friendly. Just two lovely people. Breakfasts were wonderful and filling. Their cook is fantastic, go to his home-cooked Italian dinners if invited! The only downfall I could find is the narrow, winding staircases you need to climb to get to most of their rooms. Don't stay here if you have mobility issues. Don't worry about getting your luggage up the stairs, Joe will do it for you. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingnurse22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

My fiancee and I just returned from our European trip and we started off with two nights at the Blue Sheep Inn in Amsterdam. We stayed in the Green Room which was a perfect place for us. To begin with, Alain met us at the place and gave us a great tour of the place and a great orientation of Amsterdam. It was perfect for us, so we knew where to go and walk as well as how to get back. He pointed out all the famous places and how to get there, as well as some other great places.

The breakfast in the morning was delicious. My fiancee is still talking about it. It was plentiful and great. Alain even made some home made bread the second day and he allowed us to take some with us on our next journey. Getting to chat with the family and playing with their dogs was also great. Great family and a terrific place to stay. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

-Ariel and Taylor

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tayriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Having read the previous reviews about this guesthouse we had expected great things. When we arrived the owners were lovely and welcoming. The house is a 10 minute walk from the central station, and well placed for the Ann Frank House and flower markets. It was a bit disconcerting to be advised that the owners wouldn't tolerate any drug use from us (as a middle aged medical couple that was not on our list of to do !) We had booked the blue room that is advertised as having a king sized bed - but were told we had the green room which was apparently the same. The room is reached via very steep stairs, definetly not a king sized bed, but lovely old room that has been restored. We were told that the room cannot be locked at any point, which neither of us liked as just as they don't know us , we don't know them either, so ended up taking cards and passports round with us all the time. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room but no milk !The bathroom was 2 floors down , and supposed to be shared with the couple below. the final morning I had to wait 40 minutes, in a dressing gown outside while someone used it from the adjoining suites, in a different part of the house, only to be greeted by Alain ( doing breakfast) telling us that we were late and he was having to wait for us. As we were coming home we were quite keen to have the scrumbled eggs and bacon that is talked about on their website, but this was not offered and I didn't make a point as felt we were holding him up. The couple that own this guesthouse were very informative about places to go - when you saw then which was once over the w/e. We particularly chose this accomodation because of the concept of a real Dutch house and a very personal service. Probably the best part was talking to the French , American and Norwegian couples at breakfast, which I'm sure wouldn't have been as easy in a hotel. On balance the service was ok, but the shared bathroom a pain, and the breakfast fairly minimal, I'm not sure I would choose it again over a hotel at the same price which there are many.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travellers2Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickylouThebluesheep, owner at The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2010

Dear guest we tried to do our best ....
You came late in the evening and you 'de a nice welcome with beer and fresh cola.
We talked in general about not smoking area and i told you that was not possible to smoke, regarding drugs, was just a simple talking.
In our web site, on Venere , on Easy to book i' very clear and specified that the green room is on the second floor and the blue room is on the first floor, and i never had complaints about waiting for the bathroom.
About the breakfast you 'de:
fresh fruits , yogurt, fresh orange juice,
2 kind of cheese 2 kind of bread , salami, ham ,croissants and different jam nutella coffee and thee , if you asked Alan eggs would have prepared for you.
I would not be wrong but in Amsterdam for 200 euro per 2 nights is 'very difficult to find a hotel that has breakfast and service like we do.
Thank you
Novella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#135 of 376 in Amsterdam
882 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#68 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,042 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#77 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,108 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 376 in Amsterdam
5,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Address: Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £53 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Sheep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing