We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Ranked #96 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 October 2010

It's been the first time for me to live in a B&B in the same house with a family. Novella & Jan are very kind , a nice experience to repeat for sure. Guaranteed the privacy (this was my main fear before Blue Sheep) and the house is very very nice too. :))

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank homezerodoteu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed for three nights at The Blue Sheep for a short weekend break in Amsterdam. The location was perfect, just 5 minutes walk from the Central Station, but in the prettiest part of town by far. Near to Jordaan and the nine streets with their great shops, cafes and restaurants - within walking distance of the Anne Frank House and all the museums.

Our lovely hosts Jan Willem and Novella made us feel very welcome in their beautiful, peaceful 17th Century home. It was really our home from home for the weekend and could come and go as we pleased quite comfortably. We stayed in the Blue Room which was light, clean and comfortable. Although the bathroom is shared with the Green room, the room does have a sink in it which was useful, and lots of tea and coffee was provided. The breakfast was varied and delicious and filled us up so much we didn't need lunch!

We were really happy with our choice and would definitely stay there next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaZUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Simply a perfect all-around stay. I felt at home within a home staying at The Blue Sheep. Lovely family and they are very hospitable, helpful and fun. The location is fantastic -- near the Jordaan, and a 5-10 minute walk to either the Centraal Station or the Anne Frank House. Very cozy atmosphere on a side street adjacent to one of the central canals. Good shopping, eating and drinking nearby. I'd much rather stay at The Blue Sheep, where guests can expect to feel at home in a quaint neighborhood, than any of the big and largely over-priced hotels. What a great find.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank algae51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

The people were nice, though not readily available. The apartment was clean and had old world charm in spades. Too bad the Red Light District has camped out on this street. The night-time noise and the 'lady in the window' keep me from giving this place a good review. Too bad. But people need to know before they book.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
9lla, Proprietario at The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear Guests
I would like to inform that at the end of 2010 the " lady on the window" has left the street .
Was never a big problem for us because to see "lady" on our way is quite normal here in Amsterdam, but i can believe that for somebody how is not use to it ...is a big surprise...
I hope to see you another time
Sincerely
Novella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We booked seriously last minute and got the suite a few doors down from the B&B proper, but we're so glad we stayed here. Amsterdam is expensive, but this was great value - an easy walk from the station, and in a really funky neighbourhood. saved a bit of money by making dinner and lunch. a great base for museums, shopping, cafes etc. Novella is a perfect host - warm, friendly and kind; i'm pregnant so we talked babies! the breakfast was great; we'd love to come back, maybe with my mum and the newborn, and would book the suite again! (warning: this suite not suitable for anyone who couldn't walk or fit up a very narrow staircase - the other suites/apartments look OK though)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trampercamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Beautifully restored C17th house in central Amsterdam, stylish and effectively you are staying in the home of the friendly couple that operate the accommodation. We enjoyed the ambience of being in a family home close to all the attractions we wished to visit and only some 5 minutes from the central station. Particularly enjoyed the playful family dogs.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranciPeckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Our stay at the Blue Sheep was in one of the suites, rather than the true bed & breakfast that they run. Suite 3 was an apartment with full kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, dining area, and sitting area. The location (between Singel and Herengracht Canals) was great. Jon and Novella were friendly, but being in the suites, we had little interaction with them. The only problem we had during our stay was that we had reserved 6 nights in Suite 3 through Expedia, but on arrival were told that another guest decided to stay in Suite 3 for an extra night. So we had to stay in Suite 2 (not as nice) and then get shuffled to the correct room the next day. For the price and quality, Suite 3 is totally worth it (Suite 2 was not). You might want to confirm your reservation via email or phone call with the owners before you show up. There is no air conditioning, which was fine for the first 5 nights, but made for stuffy conditions on the last night. The stairs up to the suite are creaky, winding, and VERY narrow (see photo). This is generally fine, but difficult if you are carrying bags. We found the staircase to be charming, but some guests may find it difficult to climb/descend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissouriTraveler96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
9lla, Owner at The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2010

Dear Guest, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay
Is important to know that the suite and our B&B is in Heritage Unesco, the stair and the building itself is from 700 century nothing can 'be changed.....this has a value.

If our guests want to stay in a typical Dutch house will be happy to host , otherwise is 'better to book an hotel with elevator.
Let me clarify that the luggages are brought in the rooms and Suites by our trusted Eddy....during our check-in and check-out time.
Novella Scholten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 372 in Amsterdam
950 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,185 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#136 of 372 in Amsterdam
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#145 of 372 in Amsterdam
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Address: Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £53 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Sheep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing