We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$606
US$505
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sebastian's(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$483
US$456
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
US$575
US$543
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$449
US$421
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Toren(Amsterdam)
US$506
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$418
US$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$414
US$383
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$522
US$418
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$275
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$486
US$472
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
195
32
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
32
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomb bpark oppositelovely parkexcellent hostsevery morningseveral tram linesdutch cheesecity centrefaced the streetgreat place to staystayed nightsroom was lovely and cleana short tram ridea lovely stayclose to public transportvisiting amsterdam
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed at this bed and breakfast not having experienced this type of accommodation throughout our travels. The room was lovely, clean, fresh and stocked with everything you would need for your stay. The hosts were great and allowed us to check our luggage early as we arrived well before check-in time.

I would however have appreciated being told about the extraordinarily loud, what we think was a college/frat house next door, prior to arriving. From the early evening until after 11pm all we heard every five minutes was VERY loud disco music and many people shouting at the top of their lungs. Martijne did tell us about this, but only after checking in and the loudness was already in action. She said it would stop by 11pm, however I was still lying awake listening to it well after then and cannot express enough that after 8 hours of walking around the city, I expected to be asleep well before 11pm. This may have been a one-time thing, given that I haven't seen anyone else write this after staying in the garden room, but had we been asked how our stay was at check-out, we would certainly have mentioned it as it was a major downside to the stay. Barring this, everything else about the accommodation was excellent.
I would certainly recommend the place with a note to make sure that the awful music/yelling would not be happening at the time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeautyInTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at Parkzijde B&B which is located right opposite "Oostepark" which is rather large and nice to visit. The B&B is very convenient to the #9 tram from the Central station and #3 and #7 trams went right past the door to other major sites.
Martijne and Bernard were really lovely hosts and couldn't do enough for us. So hospitable and pleasant.
Whilst we enjoyed their hospitality, the two important comments we have to make about the B&B from our point of view (this may not be applicable to a lot of other travellers) was that breakfast was served in your room. This meant that in the 5 days we stayed there we didn't meet one other person. Personally, part of the fun of travelling is to meet people from other parts of the world and discuss places to see etc. and quite often long term friendships can be made from these experiences.
The other thing that bothered us was that because we were in the room on the ground floor that faced the park (nice view across the road, but most of the window had frosting on it for privacy for security reasons) the windows had been sealed shut which meant we couldn't have any fresh air coming in the room. Whilst we were in Amsterdam there were a couple of real hot days, so we had to sleep with the air conditioner on all night, which really bothered us.
Apart from these constructive comments, which I think is only fair to let other travellers know, we would highly recommend this B&B as a place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzGreyNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 August 2010

It's a pity that our guests obviously have not noticed that our rooms are provided with a ventilation system that brings in fresh air from the garden 24 hours a day. The air in their room was completely refreshed every 80 minutes with clean outside air, which is not possible by just opening the windows. For warm nights in the summer we provide a very silent aircondition (25 db).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Our hosts were fantastic. We stayed in the Park room and were greeted and assisted affectionately at all times. The breakfasts (as said by everyone before us) is delicious and more than enough. Martijne and Bernard even provide sandwich bags and tell you to take with you what remains of the breakfast served in your room for the day ahead. The coffee making facilities were fabulous and coffee, sugar, mlik etc were replaced as we used it all the time. The fridge on our room made it easy to store whatever we needed and bought.

The microwave and utensils provided for semi-selfcatering downstairs is perfect to warm up pre-prepared food which is available at Albert Heijn one stop before you get off the trem.

I was afraid (unnecessarily) that the location might be too far out of town - it is not! Trem 9 is a scenic and quick trip to the B & B from Central Station and on the way you pass a lot of places worth seeing. You do not have to change trems on the way.

I loved everything about this B&B - mostly the kind hosts and their high moral values which I found refreshing in Amsterdam known for cannabis smoking/selling and the red light district.
Oh yes, Bernard provides a laptop with free internet to your room - what a priviliege!! Thanks Bernard and Martijne - we had a wonderful brilliant stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMPSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

What a great place to stay in Amsterdam... I would not want to stay anywhere else on a return trip! Martijne and Bernard were the perfect hosts, thinking of all the details travelers come to appreciate when relaxing in their rooms. We (myself, my husband and young adult son) stayed in the Garden Room. Having the Garden Room was an extension of the room itself and perfect for checking email on the provided laptop! Breakfasts were great and so peaceful in the Garden Room where you had a beautiful garden as your view! Location was also great, just a 10 minute bus ride from Central Station and everything; there also was a nice park across the street. We only wish we had more time there...

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayuval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

First night stayed in Garden room, luxurious and beautifully decorated. Gorgeous conservatory, fantastic bathroom. Next 3 nights stayed in Park room. Lovely, spacious, view over park, big windows, lovely bathroom. Breakfast generous and varied. Easy trip into centre on tram. Hosts helpful and charming. Laptop provided in room was a real perk. Only negative thing was that the double bed had 2 single duvets which we found inconvenient.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter230219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews