We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B We've Ever Stayed At”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best B&B We've Ever Stayed At”
Reviewed 24 October 2010

This is by far the best B&B we've ever stayed at. You can tell the owners are experienced travelers because they have made things so easy for their guests. Not only free internet access, but a lap top right in your room available anytime for those of us who don't want to travel with our own. Multi-day transit cards for sale a face value to save you the trip to Central Station. Variations in breakfast so you don't get bored of eating the same thing. Sandwich bags to pack leftovers from breakfast to take with you for lunch. It was incredible. And the Parkside room overlooking the park was beautiful, modern, and spacious. The hosts were very friendly and informative (knowing about the law that requires restaurants to let you use their bathrooms was very helpful). We liked the privacy of eating in our room, which had a small fridge. There was also access to a microwave and DVDs to watch in your room. The location was very convenient. Ten minutes by tram to either the museum district or the city center. A five minute drive (with easy to follow directions) to a Park & Ride with affordable parking, free roundtrip transportation tickets (note that you need to hold on to these to get the discounted parking rate), and a direct bus back to the B&B or direct tram to the center. Even facing the street, the room was very quiet. We never saw or heard of the frat boys mentioned in other reviews. The rate was very reasonable. We look forward to staying there again one day.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    28
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
132
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We stayed at this B & B for 7 days, 4 in August and 3 in early Sept. Martijne and Bernard are wonderful hosts. They are very helpful and friendly. The Park room was clean, neat, supplied with a refrigerator and their version of AC which worked well. A microwave and oven were available for use downstairs. We were able to have some meals (they supplied dishes and utensils) in by reheating food we bought at the food market or street market. We especially loved the availability of WiFi and Skype. The bathroom was en suite and the shower water was nice and warm.
The only problem was the "fraternity" of 15 male university students next door. We talked to Bernard and Martijne about the boys/young men. It appears the boys have been there for at least 25 years. They are only noisy (muffled base and some frat yells) during "pledge" period and the start of school. Bernard has talked to them and most noise stopped around 11-12 pm. The party sometimes continued out in Oosterpark after midnight. However, it appears that during most of the year, the boys are quiet and unnoticed by residents of Parkzijde. We therefore can fully recommend Parkzijde as a super place to stay. But if you are going at the end of August or the first few weeks in September, remember that the frat next door will create some muffled noise especially during weekends and pledge parties.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieBFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed at this bed and breakfast not having experienced this type of accommodation throughout our travels. The room was lovely, clean, fresh and stocked with everything you would need for your stay. The hosts were great and allowed us to check our luggage early as we arrived well before check-in time.

I would however have appreciated being told about the extraordinarily loud, what we think was a college/frat house next door, prior to arriving. From the early evening until after 11pm all we heard every five minutes was VERY loud disco music and many people shouting at the top of their lungs. Martijne did tell us about this, but only after checking in and the loudness was already in action. She said it would stop by 11pm, however I was still lying awake listening to it well after then and cannot express enough that after 8 hours of walking around the city, I expected to be asleep well before 11pm. This may have been a one-time thing, given that I haven't seen anyone else write this after staying in the garden room, but had we been asked how our stay was at check-out, we would certainly have mentioned it as it was a major downside to the stay. Barring this, everything else about the accommodation was excellent.
I would certainly recommend the place with a note to make sure that the awful music/yelling would not be happening at the time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautyInTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at Parkzijde B&B which is located right opposite "Oostepark" which is rather large and nice to visit. The B&B is very convenient to the #9 tram from the Central station and #3 and #7 trams went right past the door to other major sites.
Martijne and Bernard were really lovely hosts and couldn't do enough for us. So hospitable and pleasant.
Whilst we enjoyed their hospitality, the two important comments we have to make about the B&B from our point of view (this may not be applicable to a lot of other travellers) was that breakfast was served in your room. This meant that in the 5 days we stayed there we didn't meet one other person. Personally, part of the fun of travelling is to meet people from other parts of the world and discuss places to see etc. and quite often long term friendships can be made from these experiences.
The other thing that bothered us was that because we were in the room on the ground floor that faced the park (nice view across the road, but most of the window had frosting on it for privacy for security reasons) the windows had been sealed shut which meant we couldn't have any fresh air coming in the room. Whilst we were in Amsterdam there were a couple of real hot days, so we had to sleep with the air conditioner on all night, which really bothered us.
Apart from these constructive comments, which I think is only fair to let other travellers know, we would highly recommend this B&B as a place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzGreyNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
It's a pity that our guests obviously have not noticed that our rooms are provided with a ventilation system that brings in fresh air from the garden 24 hours a day. The air in their room was completely refreshed every 80 minutes with clean outside air, which is not possible by just opening the windows. For warm nights in the summer we provide a very silent aircondition (25 db).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Our hosts were fantastic. We stayed in the Park room and were greeted and assisted affectionately at all times. The breakfasts (as said by everyone before us) is delicious and more than enough. Martijne and Bernard even provide sandwich bags and tell you to take with you what remains of the breakfast served in your room for the day ahead. The coffee making facilities were fabulous and coffee, sugar, mlik etc were replaced as we used it all the time. The fridge on our room made it easy to store whatever we needed and bought.

The microwave and utensils provided for semi-selfcatering downstairs is perfect to warm up pre-prepared food which is available at Albert Heijn one stop before you get off the trem.

I was afraid (unnecessarily) that the location might be too far out of town - it is not! Trem 9 is a scenic and quick trip to the B & B from Central Station and on the way you pass a lot of places worth seeing. You do not have to change trems on the way.

I loved everything about this B&B - mostly the kind hosts and their high moral values which I found refreshing in Amsterdam known for cannabis smoking/selling and the red light district.
Oh yes, Bernard provides a laptop with free internet to your room - what a priviliege!! Thanks Bernard and Martijne - we had a wonderful brilliant stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMPSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

What a great place to stay in Amsterdam... I would not want to stay anywhere else on a return trip! Martijne and Bernard were the perfect hosts, thinking of all the details travelers come to appreciate when relaxing in their rooms. We (myself, my husband and young adult son) stayed in the Garden Room. Having the Garden Room was an extension of the room itself and perfect for checking email on the provided laptop! Breakfasts were great and so peaceful in the Garden Room where you had a beautiful garden as your view! Location was also great, just a 10 minute bus ride from Central Station and everything; there also was a nice park across the street. We only wish we had more time there...

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayuval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2010

First night stayed in Garden room, luxurious and beautifully decorated. Gorgeous conservatory, fantastic bathroom. Next 3 nights stayed in Park room. Lovely, spacious, view over park, big windows, lovely bathroom. Breakfast generous and varied. Easy trip into centre on tram. Hosts helpful and charming. Laptop provided in room was a real perk. Only negative thing was that the double bed had 2 single duvets which we found inconvenient.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter230219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Not Hotel
#37 of 336 in Amsterdam
320 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#28 of 336 in Amsterdam
741 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 336 in Amsterdam
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
BB by Servio
BB by Servio
#19 of 336 in Amsterdam
153 reviews
Breitner House
#15 of 336 in Amsterdam
223 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#85 of 336 in Amsterdam
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Property: Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
Address: Oosterpark 53, 1092 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find Parkzijde in front of the beautiful Oosterpark, just outside the busy city-center. The elegant house (1892) still remains conserved in its original style. The “Goede Kamer” (“good room”), where former residents used to welcome their guests, has a high decorated ceiling and marble chimney. The room at ground floor has a view of the park. The Garden room is located at the rear of the house and has access to its own conservatory, overlooking our garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing