We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable accomodations in a terrific location”
Review of Eelhouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eelhouse B&B
Ranked #41 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very comfortable accomodations in a terrific location”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Vera met with us to give us our keys to our room and was a great hostess. She talked to us at length to help get us oriented with the city and what there was to do nearby as well as gave us recommendations to restaurants in the neighborhood.
The room itself was quite large and the bed was very comfortable. Heat was steam radiator that the guests could adjust in the individual rooms. The bathroom was clean and well appointed; the shower with good water pressure and piping hot water. The room had a kitchenette with sink, microwave,fridge and coffee maker, as well as an electric tea kettle. The fridge was stocked a-la mini bar with plenty of things for us to drink and was included in the room with no extra charge.
The television had lots of channels and good reception. There was free wi-fi that worked without any problems.
Breakfast was served in the room and had an assortment of meats, cheeses, yogurts, pastries and breads.
The only complaint that some may have (which isn't something that was bothersome to us) was that the stairs to the rooms were quite narrow and steep. Also, there were people staying above us and they walked around quite a bit and it was somewhat noisy.
If Amsterdam were closer, we'd return again and again! Such a nice retreat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
111
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The Eelhouse is a much nicer place to stay than most much more costly hotel rooms. My wife and I stayed for a week in October and were happy with everything. The owners Jasper and Vera are really nice and helpful with everything one might need. If looking to stay in the Jordaan it would be hard to find a nicer place. Our stay far exceeded my expectations and I unreservedly recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you like exercise choose the nice and quiet room at the top. Lots of fresh air, great views and 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Eel House for 2 nights on our way from Seattle to Johannesburg in October. What a find! Sunny room with nice view of park/playground and very close to good bars and resturants, excellent breakfast brought to the room, free wine and beer, juice and water in the mini fridge. Comfortable bed, good shower and only a 20 minute walk from the central train station. We took the train from Schipol Airport to the Amsterdam Central station - about $6 and 20 minutes. Vera, our host, arranged a cab back to the airport for a really good rate. We will definately stay here again when we stop over on our next trip. Note: very steep narrow stairs make this a challenge for anyone with mobility problems or with small children. Can be difficult to locate. Get walking directions from Vera.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This place is incredible and located in the heart of the Jordaan district of Amsterdam, within walking distance of just about everything!

We stayed in the top floor room during our month long trip to Europe. The windows look out onto the neighborhood street and across the tops of the buildings, making it a very romantic setting.

What makes this place so special is the care and attention of the owners - Jasper and Vera. They are ridiculously friendly and really do care about their lovely property. Each morning, they would climb the stairs to our room with a huge continental breakfast in hand. The daily breakfast was definitely one of the highlights of our trip (and saved us a lot of money eating out!!!) Also, they have the best coffee / coffee maker I have ever experienced in a hotel / B & B. Great tasting coffee to go with the awesome breakfast - what a perfect start to the day!

Although the Eelhouse is a B & B, it offers excellent privacy with your own separate entrance.

To be honest, we can't think of a better place to stay in Amsterdam! Thank you Jasper and Vera for making our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santafedre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We emailed the Eelhouse asking for a room and were told they were full. However, the owners offered a furnished apartment a few blocks away that they also own. We stayed there for 3 nights. This was an excellent option. It had a full kitchen and separate bedroom, all for a reasonable price. You don't get an included breakfast (since you are several blocks away from the actual B&B), but with the full kitchen we didn't really need someone to make us breakfast. We just picked up milk, juice, etc at a nearby store.
The apartment was fully furnished with a comfortable sofa and flat screen TV-- great for relaxing after a day exploring Amsterdam. The local area is bustling enough that we felt perfectly safe walking back at night, but its not so busy to be noisy at night like some of the central hotels. It was about a 20 minute walk from the train station and central Amsterdam; and only a 5-10 minute walk to the Anne Frank House. There were plenty of good restaurants nearby. Would definitely ask about this option if you are looking into B&B's in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tom679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Great neighborhood: quiet but lively relaxed street scene and excellent restaurants a short walk away. Hosts very helpful and friendly, and free mini bar in room. Bkfst enough for Breakfast and lunch for us so a really good value as well. Only potential down side is stairs. Would not have been a problem except my wife hurt her knee during our trip so 4 flights of steep narrow stairs was a bummer. Potential guests with mobility issues need to be aware. Otherwise close to perfect for us.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RokeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This b & b in Amsterdam is just perfect!
Very nice rooms with splendid view to Westerkerk.
In the fridge water, jucie, beer and wine free to use!
Coffemaker with very good coffe
Lovely breakfast served at the room.
The Jordaan area is very nice and quiet, but with a lot of cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annikenNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#127 of 367 in Amsterdam
328 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#29 of 336 in Amsterdam
217 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#50 of 336 in Amsterdam
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amphora Apartment
Amphora Apartment
#35 of 230 in Amsterdam
141 reviews
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#78 of 336 in Amsterdam
52 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel Cappuccino
Hotel Cappuccino
#44 of 336 in Amsterdam
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eelhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eelhouse B&B

Property: Eelhouse B&B
Address: Tweede Lindendwarsstraat 21, 1015 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and small guesthouse in the heart of Amsterdam. A lovely historic neighborhood, across the street from a square. Modern rooms, each with bath and a french balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eelhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eelhouse Hotel Amsterdam
Eelhouse Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing