We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all of the boxes”
Review of Eelhouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eelhouse B&B
Ranked #29 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The quirkily-named Eel House** B&B in the Jordaan are of Amsterdam ticks all of the boxes for a great little B & B.

Friendly host (extremely), location (great), breakfast ( very,very generous and well presented, and delivered to your room, room space (plenty), together with a host of extras such as a small bar fridge, coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free daily provisions such as wine, beer and juice.

The newly refurbished bathroom was small but sparkling clean. Beds were comfortable and the linen of good quality.

We arrived on a rainy, dark winter's morning around 0730 to be met at the door by the warm smile of our gorgeous young host Vera (and her two cats). Husband Jasper was already off renovating another property (possibly to become Ell House II)

Sure, the EEl House doesn't have the glitz of a 5 star hotel (and the walk up the historic winding staircase is an interesting experience) but it more than makes up for it with its charm, friendliness, location and the genuine warmth and style of the owners.

Nearby are lots of bars, restaurants, a supermarket and lots of ordinary residents going about their business. Opposite is a small park where local children happily play. On Saturdays and Mondays a fantastic and comprehensive street market is set up in a street 100m away (Lindengracht).

It's an easy walk from the Eel House to most central atttractions such as the landmark Westerkerk and the Anne Frank House.

We stayed for four nights in December 2011 after booking the Eel House on the internet. Vera is so trusting (I'm not sure that I would be) that she didn't even require a deposit, just confirmation a couple of weeks ahead. Tariff for a major European city was very reasonable at E110 pn.

Book it, you'll love it!!! It's got our strong recommendation to add to the others you will see on Tripadvisor.

**The Eel House apparently got its name from an old Amsterdam sport/competition which involved trying to grab eels strung across a canal while passing below the rope in a boat

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

Vera met with us to give us our keys to our room and was a great hostess. She talked to us at length to help get us oriented with the city and what there was to do nearby as well as gave us recommendations to restaurants in the neighborhood.
The room itself was quite large and the bed was very comfortable. Heat was steam radiator that the guests could adjust in the individual rooms. The bathroom was clean and well appointed; the shower with good water pressure and piping hot water. The room had a kitchenette with sink, microwave,fridge and coffee maker, as well as an electric tea kettle. The fridge was stocked a-la mini bar with plenty of things for us to drink and was included in the room with no extra charge.
The television had lots of channels and good reception. There was free wi-fi that worked without any problems.
Breakfast was served in the room and had an assortment of meats, cheeses, yogurts, pastries and breads.
The only complaint that some may have (which isn't something that was bothersome to us) was that the stairs to the rooms were quite narrow and steep. Also, there were people staying above us and they walked around quite a bit and it was somewhat noisy.
If Amsterdam were closer, we'd return again and again! Such a nice retreat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The Eelhouse is a much nicer place to stay than most much more costly hotel rooms. My wife and I stayed for a week in October and were happy with everything. The owners Jasper and Vera are really nice and helpful with everything one might need. If looking to stay in the Jordaan it would be hard to find a nicer place. Our stay far exceeded my expectations and I unreservedly recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you like exercise choose the nice and quiet room at the top. Lots of fresh air, great views and 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Eel House for 2 nights on our way from Seattle to Johannesburg in October. What a find! Sunny room with nice view of park/playground and very close to good bars and resturants, excellent breakfast brought to the room, free wine and beer, juice and water in the mini fridge. Comfortable bed, good shower and only a 20 minute walk from the central train station. We took the train from Schipol Airport to the Amsterdam Central station - about $6 and 20 minutes. Vera, our host, arranged a cab back to the airport for a really good rate. We will definately stay here again when we stop over on our next trip. Note: very steep narrow stairs make this a challenge for anyone with mobility problems or with small children. Can be difficult to locate. Get walking directions from Vera.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This place is incredible and located in the heart of the Jordaan district of Amsterdam, within walking distance of just about everything!

We stayed in the top floor room during our month long trip to Europe. The windows look out onto the neighborhood street and across the tops of the buildings, making it a very romantic setting.

What makes this place so special is the care and attention of the owners - Jasper and Vera. They are ridiculously friendly and really do care about their lovely property. Each morning, they would climb the stairs to our room with a huge continental breakfast in hand. The daily breakfast was definitely one of the highlights of our trip (and saved us a lot of money eating out!!!) Also, they have the best coffee / coffee maker I have ever experienced in a hotel / B & B. Great tasting coffee to go with the awesome breakfast - what a perfect start to the day!

Although the Eelhouse is a B & B, it offers excellent privacy with your own separate entrance.

To be honest, we can't think of a better place to stay in Amsterdam! Thank you Jasper and Vera for making our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank santafedre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We emailed the Eelhouse asking for a room and were told they were full. However, the owners offered a furnished apartment a few blocks away that they also own. We stayed there for 3 nights. This was an excellent option. It had a full kitchen and separate bedroom, all for a reasonable price. You don't get an included breakfast (since you are several blocks away from the actual B&B), but with the full kitchen we didn't really need someone to make us breakfast. We just picked up milk, juice, etc at a nearby store.
The apartment was fully furnished with a comfortable sofa and flat screen TV-- great for relaxing after a day exploring Amsterdam. The local area is bustling enough that we felt perfectly safe walking back at night, but its not so busy to be noisy at night like some of the central hotels. It was about a 20 minute walk from the train station and central Amsterdam; and only a 5-10 minute walk to the Anne Frank House. There were plenty of good restaurants nearby. Would definitely ask about this option if you are looking into B&B's in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tom679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Great neighborhood: quiet but lively relaxed street scene and excellent restaurants a short walk away. Hosts very helpful and friendly, and free mini bar in room. Bkfst enough for Breakfast and lunch for us so a really good value as well. Only potential down side is stairs. Would not have been a problem except my wife hurt her knee during our trip so 4 flights of steep narrow stairs was a bummer. Potential guests with mobility issues need to be aware. Otherwise close to perfect for us.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RokeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#107 of 373 in Amsterdam
347 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#39 of 338 in Amsterdam
222 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#47 of 338 in Amsterdam
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel Cappuccino
Hotel Cappuccino
#33 of 338 in Amsterdam
68 reviews
Jordaan
Bayan Bed n Breakfast
Bayan Bed n Breakfast
#50 of 338 in Amsterdam
110 reviews
Jordaan
Amphora Apartment
Amphora Apartment
#39 of 237 in Amsterdam
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eelhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eelhouse B&B

Address: Tweede Lindendwarsstraat 21, 1015 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £113 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and small guesthouse in the heart of Amsterdam. A lovely historic neighborhood, across the street from a square. Modern rooms, each with bath and a french balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Eelhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eelhouse Hotel Amsterdam
Eelhouse Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing