We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful area ,clean place , cozy”
Review of Eelhouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eelhouse B&B
Ranked #37 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“beautiful area ,clean place , cozy”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed 3 days in this B&B . Had a room on the 4th floor with a nice view .Joordan area is very quiet and as residential you feel more as if you live in Amsterdam instead of being a tourist. It was good to get back to the place after a day of sightseeing.
it is around 20 minutes walk far from the central station, if you know your route which is a beautiul walk through canals.
My room was clean with nice view, had my own entrance key to the building, Vera was away on a family visit while i was there ,however her friend took care of everything perfectly, she was vey kind, polite and took care of everything right away ( I found everybody in Amsterdam really nice in my 3 visits).
There was a laundramat next to their building and there are lots of nice little restaurants around . Also the Saturday market is a nice small market. breakfast was faboulous and more than enough , i made sandwiches every day from breakfast's left over. A frigo with a beer , an orange juice a bottle of water and a bottle of white wine will be provided and refilled everyday free of charge, a nice touch.

Although, I loved their hospitality and the area but the stairs , which i should have expected as knew this was a traditional house, were quite a bit of workout; i was so happy when Vera's friend carried my luggage upstairs, gladly i was not traveling as heavy as i usually do but that was a blessing.
I took the train and then a taxi from the airport to the eels house, and on my way back , i took a taxi service , that charges less than other regular services to the airport.
Though i Loved their breakfast, cleanliness, quiet ,area, the hospitality but the stairs and the bed on the floor ( kind of futon) will make me thing 2x before going back again if ever due to my knee problem.Price for Amsterdam and the nice Joordan area was very adequate.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mooshi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
112
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sackville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We were very happy with our room at the Eelhouse. Vera and Jasper were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable with a nice view of a children's park. Neighborhood was quiet and conveniently located. Steep spiral stairs common to these heritage buildings might be tricky for some.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AandM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Eelhouse was the most charming, romantic, friendly perfect place I have ever stayed. Vera was adorable, helpful and a great hostess. Our room was just like in the pictures, overlook a small intimate playground where children would come and play and parents could visit, there is a laundromat next door. Food was fabulous and everything was within walking distance or biking if you wished.

Room Tip: The pictures say it all they are honest and correct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2012

we were very impressed with the eel house. Vera could not do enough for us. thank you for a lovley stay and the decorated eggs on easter sunday a lovley touch

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marylyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I booked the Eelhouse after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and doing some further research and I was very pleased with my choice.
The location is just perfect, short walk to everything and in such a lovely and safe neighbourhood. There is also a supermarket etc just around the corner. Tip: ask Vera for directions to the bakery for where she buys the yummy bread you get for breakfast!
Yes, breakfast - YUM! Way too much bread, pastries, cheese, yoghurt, meats and fruit - but you will eat most of it as its so delicious! As a caffeined addict, I was delighted to find a "pod" type coffee maker with loads of coffee pods at my disposal. Plus there is a complimentary mini-bar with wine, juice and water refilled each day.
The stairs are steep - but you need to burn off some of the breakfast calories!
Room was lovely and comfortable. Vera put an extra bed in for us. In fact, Vera is so helpful for any little requests etc. I also loved that she had some maps, tourist books etc on the landing. Oh, and she will give you great tips on where to visit - do go eat some of the "best Apple Pie"!
The only negative would be that the walls are quite thin - and the other guests did speak a little too loudly - so if you are staying here please keep your voices down for the other guests!
But I do highly recommend this B&B - delightful and helpful hosts, yummy breakfast, good coffee and lovely rooms in the best neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Depends on how fit you are - those stairs are VERY steep! So if you aren't too active ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We loved the Eelhouse! We were able to recover from the long flight from Australia in a light and airy room with a super comfortable bed and a wonderful view of Amsterdam's quirky architecture. The location was also perfect - within walking distance of the train station, close to central Amsterdam and with fantastic markets right on your doorstep. Our hosts Vera and Jasper were very kind and provided travel guides, maps and luggage storage for us when we arrived early in the morning. This was a great find and highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NumbatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I booked the Eelhouse based upon previous Tripadviser reviews and was not at all disappointed. Our hosts were friendly, welcoming and very helpful providing tips and recommendations as to how to find things and where to eat.
The room was amazing and vast by Amsterdam standards. The bed was simply the most comfortable I had ever slept in and whilst being a short walk to most amenities the area was so quiet sleep was fitful and uninterrupted.
We were provided with an unbelievable breakfast every morning that was so huge we are not ashamed to admit we took some fresh fruit and some bread with us for lunch! Our fridge was stocked every day with some very tasty white wine, some beer, orange juice and bottled water, all at no additional charge.
The thing that sets the Eelhouse apart from other places are the little touches, the friendly nature of the welcome and every day contact, the ability to take breakfast in your own room, the wonderful artworks in the room and on the stairs, the ready supply of local guidebooks and maps, and most of all that enormous comfortable bed that provides a welcome retreat after a long day on the feet pounding the beautiful streets.
Our hosts went over and above the call of duty to make our stay so perfect. In a city like Amsterdam you could easily charge more and provide less and this is not something the owners do and thank goodness for that.
When we return to Amsterdam we won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#126 of 367 in Amsterdam
332 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#172 of 367 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#30 of 336 in Amsterdam
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#78 of 336 in Amsterdam
52 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel Cappuccino
Hotel Cappuccino
#38 of 336 in Amsterdam
61 reviews
Jordaan
B&B La Festa
B&B La Festa
#35 of 336 in Amsterdam
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eelhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eelhouse B&B

Property: Eelhouse B&B
Address: Tweede Lindendwarsstraat 21, 1015 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and small guesthouse in the heart of Amsterdam. A lovely historic neighborhood, across the street from a square. Modern rooms, each with bath and a french balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eelhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eelhouse Hotel Amsterdam
Eelhouse Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing