We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly people, good service, but room a bit small and cold”
Review of Eelhouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eelhouse B&B
Ranked #34 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Booked this B&B because I had to lay over in Amsterdam after a trip to Holland. Hotels in Amsterdam are terribly expensive with little value for money so I decided to book a B&B for once. The location is good, in the Jordaan, but on a quiet street. Got a very friendly reception, room clean, fridge stocked for free, really very nice. My bad luck was that it was a very stormy night and many old style houses in Holland are renovated in a so so way. So the wind was blowing pretty heavily through one of the windows and the weeping of the wind was very present. Pictures on the website overstate the style of the room a little bit, but not a lot. Compared to a €90 hotel n Amsterdam, this is indeed a good deal, particularly given the location. But when you've just been to Berlin where you rent a three room apartment for this price, you may think Amsterdam is pricing itself out of the market. If I need to lay over again, I will probably go back, but I may work harder to avoid a layover in Amsterdam next time.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Kas_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

Benefits
-private entrance
-breakfast in bed (owner brings up large platter of food each morning - we often saved some of the bread for snacks during the day)
-there is complimentary coffee, tea, sparkling water, white wine, fruit and chocolates - replenished each day
-the room was very clean with a beautiful view
-the owners were very accommodating (called us a cab the morning we were leaving and helped carry our luggage up and down the stairs
-b&b located in a quiet, historical, neighbourhood near the Anne Frank house

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie2012Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Great location for exploring the area, and out of the fray. Breakfast and stocked fridge were great touches. The only problem was going up the very narrow and windy stairs to several floor for our room. Our hostess was very accomodating and helped with the baggage. Thought it was a bit pricey for the time of year as well.

Room Tip: Check to see which floor you are on and have no walking problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PemiNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The room is quite pricey for its size, but was very clean and the bed was comfortable. And the location was quite central. I had attempted to book several other B&B's that were less expensive but they had three night minimum stays and we just needed two nights.

Vera was very helpful upon our arrival with information and directions and guide books to loan.

The breakfast served in our room at our requested time was vey good, both in quality and quantity.

Room Tip: All rooms are accessed by very steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This B&B did not disappoint. Vera and Jasper are excellent hosts who truly care about their visitors. My room was well appointed and very clean. The view overlooks a local park where children play in the afternoon and it was fun to watch the mothers and children and the wholesome activities each day. Breakfast was very generous, tasty, and delivered within minutes of the time I had requested. The bed was extremely comfortable. Even though the bathroom (read sink and surrounding area) was a just a little smaller than I would have liked, it was perfectly usable considering the age of this building (circa 1619). WiFi signal was strong and complimentary. Moreover, what a pleasant surprise it was to find the little refrigerator stocked with complimentary wine, beer, water, and orange juice. My room was on the second floor, reached by ascending a steep set of stairs. But, since the building is nearly 400 years old, one would expect nothing modern—including the access to the rooms. It is perfectly appropriate to have a steep set of stairs in a building of this age.

The Jordaan neighborhood is fantastic. You’re away from the hustle and bustle of tourists, but within a 25-minute walk from the Amsterdam-Centraal train station. The surrounding area is absolutely lovely. You’re surrounded by the canals which you expect from Amsterdam, and it’s a continuous “photo op”. There is a bounty of great restaurants surrounding this neighborhood, and you’re within walking distance of the Anne Frank House as well as many other interesting features such as the Boathouse Museum. I was totally satisfied by the lodging as well as the historic neighborhood within which it was located. If you have the opportunity—stay at the Eelhouse B&B!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ingy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed here for a couple of days in mid August, prior to embarking on a river cruise to Budapest. Perfect locality, very central to many places. We arrived on a Monday early and while waiting for our room, wandered down to the weekly market just at the end of the street. Well worth a visit if you are there on a Monday. Ask Vera where to find the best apple pie in the world! Vera & Jasper couldn't do enough to help us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kopakitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of September. What a wonder B&B in a great location. We arrived early morning from the US and Vera not only had our room ready for us early, she treated us to a wonderful breakfast.

We really enoyed staying in the Joordan area and this was a perfect choice for us. The hosts offer the little extras that other places do not. Coffee, juice, water and even a bottle of wine every day is left in your room. The delicious breakfasts are delivered to your room at the time you request.

A perfect B&B in a wonderful area of Amsterday. Thank you Vera and Jasper.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dianac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#51 of 338 in Amsterdam
122 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#38 of 338 in Amsterdam
225 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#22 of 338 in Amsterdam
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 338 in Amsterdam
278 reviews
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#31 of 338 in Amsterdam
180 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 338 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eelhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eelhouse B&B

Address: Tweede Lindendwarsstraat 21, 1015 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £107 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and small guesthouse in the heart of Amsterdam. A lovely historic neighborhood, across the street from a square. Modern rooms, each with bath and a french balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Eelhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eelhouse Hotel Amsterdam
Eelhouse Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing