We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome room and great hosts!”
Review of Eelhouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eelhouse B&B
Ranked #32 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome room and great hosts!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The Eel House is in a great neighborhood for exploring Amsterdam. Lots of tasty restaurants nearby and most of the major sights are within a twenty minute walk. Vera and Jasper were super welcoming and the fridge was always stocked with drinks and the breakfast was delicious (and delivered to our room every morning). You couldn't ask for better hosts than Vera and Jasper.

Room Tip: Our second floor (third floor in the States) room had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daver6236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
113
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We had a very relaxing time at the Eelhouse, bed was lush and comfy and bathroom spotlessly clean. We enjoyed our breakfast, brought to us fresh and tasty. Vera and Jaspar were very helpful with directions and suggestions for restaurants, trams etc. I particularly liked lying in bed and looking over the city. This is also a convenient location, within walking distance of almost everything you want to visit. I wouldn't hesitate a moment to return here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My home from home when I stay in Amsterdam the Eelhouse is great value, very comfortable clean and full of character. Over the years Jasper and Vera have become the hostesses of the moistest. The attention to detail is fantastic and the fridge in your room always has a welcoming drink or two. Breakfasts is class and served to you in room in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is a little late, but we wanted to make sure to add our review.
When we last visited Amsterdam we were unable to stay at the Eelhouse as they were booked up, however Vera and Jasper found us other accommodations nearby.
This time when were planning our trip we booked much earlier and we were not disappointed. The Eelhouse was everything we needed for our 3 night stay in Amsterdam, prior to boarding our bike and barge.
The room was spotlessly clean, the bed was amazing, bedding superb and breakfast was delicious and very Dutch.
We will definitely return on our next visit to Amsterdam.
Thank you Vera and Jasper.

Room Tip: The stairs are a little steep however Vera and/or Jasper will gladly help with your luggage. To us t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I have to agree with all the other reviewers..Location was wonderful, within walking distance to anything you want to do..restaurants, museum, train station, grocery stores, etc. Vera was extremely helpful, along with Jasper who helped with carting our bags up and down. The Breakfasts were wonderful. The bed very comfortable, and the room large with lots of windows. The bath was large, cleaned everyday. I would highly recommend staying here and if I returned I would definitely stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hitravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I loved staying at the Eelhouse, for many, many reasons, just a few are detailed below;

Initial Contact
Prompt, sensible and patient responses to my many questions accurate description of rooms and a very friendly attitude.

Location
This was perfect for us. A lovely, quiet neighbourhood, within easy walking distance to the lively areas at night, and the many, many sights. Jordaan is a beautiful area, and we thoroughly enjoyed being part of it for a few days. Supermarkets, bars and ATM are all within a couple of minutes walk, with a wider variety of eating options, bars and the wonderful Prinsengracht just 5 minutes away.

The Room
Clean, light, fabulously comfortable bed. We stayed on the second floor, which allowed to to open all the windows and take advantage of the glorious sunshine. Bathroom was spacious and cleaned each day, with towels replaced as needed.

Breakfast
This was brought to our room each morning, an array of cheese, fruit, yoghurt, and breads, along with a boiled egg. I really enjoyed the privacy and convenience of not having to get up, dressed and downstairs for a particular time.

Our hosts Vera and Jasper, were great, just the right balance of friendly, but unobtrusive, with great tips for night life, even to the extent of finding out what type of music was playing locally for us.

So, overall, I would stay here again,and I would recommend to anyone. I enjoyed my experience much more than if I had chosen faceless hotel, and welcomed the chance to feel part of Amsterdam for a short while.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrynanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flekkefjord, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Lovely little B&B in a perfect and quiet location. Still it is just a few minutes walk to a lot of restaurants and cafes. Wake up to the birds singing is quite nice when you are in a city.
Vera was very kind and helpful. We arrived 9AM and were able to check in at once.

The room felt like a very small apartment with a double bed, kitchenette, bathroom and kitchen table where you eat breakfast. Free minibar is a very nice touch. Breakfast is delivered to your room whenever you want. Fresh bread, croissant, boiled eggs, yoghurt, fresh fruit, cheese and other meat.

Eelhouse is only a 20 minutes walk from the train station. Nice Saturday market just five minutes walk from the B&B.

It is also nice to have a lot of nice restaurants nearby, but if you find a nice place you want to have dinner. Be sure to make a reservation. We had problem to get a table on a Saturday night. Jordaan is not a typical tourist area and that's what I like the most.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#120 of 368 in Amsterdam
337 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#201 of 368 in Amsterdam
951 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#40 of 336 in Amsterdam
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel Cappuccino
Hotel Cappuccino
#36 of 336 in Amsterdam
64 reviews
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#77 of 336 in Amsterdam
53 reviews
Jordaan
Noordermarkt Apartments
Noordermarkt Apartments
#117 of 234 in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eelhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eelhouse B&B

Property: Eelhouse B&B
Address: Tweede Lindendwarsstraat 21, 1015 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and small guesthouse in the heart of Amsterdam. A lovely historic neighborhood, across the street from a square. Modern rooms, each with bath and a french balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Eelhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eelhouse Hotel Amsterdam
Eelhouse Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing