We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Szmulewicz

Restaurant Szmulewicz
Reserve with
Restaurant Szmulewicz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #309 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$21
Cuisines: Dutch, European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Szmulewicz is since 1990 a small, informal, cosy restaurant (with terrace) in the centre of Amsterdam, near Rembrandtplein. The name suggests a Polish kitchen, but the chefs have different nationalities, and are inspired by the international (Mediterranean) kitchen. Dutch dishes are also being served. We all speak English, and some of us speak French and German as well. Since the place is frequently visited by locals, please make a reservation!
Reading,England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Went without booking and were placed at a table by the door not ideal but our fault for not booking!! but by the time we had ordered we were moved to a better table (without asking) which had become available. Service was prompt, friendly and efficient.
Food was tremendous, fish with "Pakistani" sauce and Spanish Lamb Kebabs, both mains were superbly cooked and the lamb was melt in the mouth tender.
Well worth a visit, but best to book to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GRK56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    82
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, great value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I went here at the end of February with my girlfriend during our 5 day stay in Amsterdam. Both of us really enjoyed all the food we had, the lamb probably being the best although the selection of 3 chocolate desserts pushed it close! The surroundings aren't particularly posh or pretentious but the staff were friendly and attentive and the food was excellent value for money. In a city where eating out is very expensive our whole meal came in around 50 euros which was half of what we had paid at other restaurants for similar standard of food!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fallops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
151 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“good meal spoilt by painfully slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I've been here for dinner twice. Considering the location and the very reasonable prices, the food is quite good. The ingredients are not of high quality, but the food is filling, tasty, homely and plentiful.

Unfortunately, we had to wait ages and ages to get a drink, followed by more ages until the food actually arrived. The place was not busy, but the waiting staff were not in any rush either... This they could really sort out!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesJames1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good food for very little money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This restaurant is right off the Rembrantplein frequented by tourists and locals but very few people know about it or notice it.
This is really a hidden germ: the food is good and you will be pleasantly surprised by the prices you see on the menu: main dishes start from 10 euro. The food is cooked well and service is good and attentive. The waitresses are always ready to explain the specials and advise on the best dish to choose or size of portions. The portions are big size, so careful on bread and nachos as your starters. In summer you can also sit outside
I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elenkahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“pheasant in a heart of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Amsterdam was a city of herrings, clams, and shrimps. Now you can have a hot dog, pizza or kebab on every corner. The Samulewicz's is unique. You can get here really excellent meals but don't omit pheasant, which is very rare in even top restaurants. The other choice give you satisfaction as well. You'll be pleased with the service.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pavel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Szmulewicz also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Szmulewicz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing