We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Kartika

Kartika
Ranked #125 of 3,964 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$45
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Vondelpark
Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Restaurant Kartika is worth a trip to Amsterdam in itself. The dishes are delicious, the menu is temptelazing, and the staff, all Indonesians, are really kind and professional. We have been living in Jakarta for many years, and felt as if we had come back to our old favourite restaurant in Jakarta.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IngridB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    276
    78
    20
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value and splendid array of dishes”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Following other Tripadvisor reviews, we tried this out - and were very glad we did. We phoned ahead on a Weds evening to reserve, but only about an hour in advance, and luckily there was a table available.
Like many others, we took the easy option and went for the 18.50E rijstafel selection for two (can't remember what it's called in the menu). The food was delicious, plentiful and intriguing.. lots of little dishes all brought together, with more than enough variety.
Service was utterly charming. Would definitely come here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adriangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indonesian in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was a wonderful meal with wonderful hosts. Everything we had on the tasting menu was delicious and the staff were warm and welcoming. It was also nice to have a little bit of a lot of different dishes. I would suggest reservations though as it does get busy and book up.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keels O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This wa a great experience, definite recommendation. The main waiter is a bit weird but nice.
The food is great and plenty.

On my app of trip advisor the restaurant is on the wrong side of the street though.

Helpful?
Thank felfranke
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Vic. Australia
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“A most pleasant experience”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Kartika provides consummate hosts in a delightful ambience. It does not stop there.

We chose the rijstafel Ramayama and at eighteen euros fifty per person it was an incredible bargain. Most other Indonesian restaurants are more like thirty euros per head for an equivalent offering.

The flavours were delicious and redolent of a visit to Jakarta, but with a little less heat.

This was a thoroughly enjoyable and most amicable experience the I thoroughly recommend for lovers of South-East Asian food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blossom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kartika also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kartika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing