We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small clean rooms perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cornelisz

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Cornelisz
Ranked #161 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
brisbane
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“small clean rooms perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

it s a good hotel to sleep in while visting amsterdam. but it not hotel offering more than this, there is no pool or fitness center and big lcd tv s in rooms, but price is cheap. yes the rooms are small but this is the dutch standards. there are floods in bathrooms but no big drama.
the price is cheap, the location is best, the staff is friendly. it s the best so far in amsterdam and will contonue to stay here in my next visits.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlario483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    193
    109
    47
    18
See reviews for
64
211
44
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
IL
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I got a tiny room without a cupboard. After complaining, I was introduced to am opening below the roof which supposed be where you can put your belongings...

The worse part was when I used the bathroom - the drainage did not work. A maintenance person came, looked at it, and said that nothing he can do since the inclines are wrong. This means it was not a failure in my particular room - it it ongoing design issue.

I asked to change a room, even for a surcharge, but was told that the hotel is fully book. The good side is that I received a squeegee (why wasn't it there as standard?) and extra towels.

Room Tip: My colleagues got rooms on 3rd floor, which were way better than mine on 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent location near Van Gogh museum and Rijksmuseum, with the canal bus stop (hop on and off service) just a few minutes away. Bus from the airport also stops very close to the hotel (so I didnt have to take the train and then make a transfer).

Staff was friendly and the room was clean. The map I got from the hotel was better than the one I got from the airport. Amsterdam hotels tend to be pricy, so this is pretty good value for money (esp with discounts from travel booking engines). This hotel makes for a great place to use as a base to tour the city.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I am a reluctant reviewer of the hotel because the staff was incredibly gracious and helpful. And the location was very close to everything we wanted to see including the Rijks Museum. The weekend we were there there was a big conference in Amsterdam. We paid an outrageous sum for what amounted to a large closet. The front desk person actually apologized for the rate we were being charged when we checked in! The bathroom had a floor drain and an open shower, so the room became the shower when in use. We had a larger bath in our cabin on board ship during a cruise subsequent to our stay there. The double bed was jammed against the wall, which meant one of us had to disturb the other one if we got up during the night.
I cannot recommend the hotel, in spite of the lovely staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAE80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrow,london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here with mum for 1 night in June. I was scared after the bad reviews but we were very happy with everything, Staff very polite and helpful. Maybe just lucky to get a good room. Rooms not big but why do you need big room for only sleeping. The bed was so comfortable didn't want to wake up in the morning. The bathroom needs updating but again we didn't stay in the room as we came to see Amsterdam and not to stay in the room. Flat screen TV on the wall. Few English channels. Would recommend for a short stay to anyone as we were happy there. Didn't get breakfast as too expensive I think when full of restaurants much cheaper nearby. Trams, buses 2 minutes walk.
Would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaHarrow_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

2 booked a doubel room nr 514
and visit amsterdam, we had no time to look for an other hotel
the room was 3.00 x 2.50 m with a doubelbed
we payed € 200,- for 1 night
a great disapointed voor us
the room was ferry noisy

Room Tip: dont take room 514
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 132jan_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were in Amsterdam for a conference and booked 2 nights at one hotel but the 3rd night was booked solid so we booked the RobertRamon for the final night. We arrived to check in and were told that they had no record of our booking and no room for us, despite a confirmed booking from booking.com and their attitude was one of sheer apathy and ignorance, they actually made us feel like we were being awkward for not just going away and sucking it up as our problem.

They refused to accommodate us, even though other bookings hadn't yet checked in and refused to find us alternative accommodation in Amsterdam, as they should do via Booking.com T&C's, I rang booking.com to sort this and they were very helpful and professional.

Ironically it was Orange day weekend and every hotel that had vacancies was now trying to charge crazy money, I looked around for alternatives in case they couldn't sort it a 3 star was trying to get over €1,000 for a night, there were only 6 hotels in Amsterdam centre with vacancies and finally the RobertRamon said they'd put us up in a hotel, YAY.. well not quite, it was the Airport hotel and they would pay for a taxi out there only, so to visit the centre we would have to then pay taxi fares or get the train in.. the reason we booked a hotel in the centre was to be in IN the centre, not travelling back and forth.

We refused this hotel and told then what booking.com had told us - they must accomodate us in a hotel of at least equal quality in a location as close as possible to them - I showed them that there was one a few street away but it was around 3 times the price but the same star rating and they just fobbed us off and said the airport hotel was the only option - take it or leave it - so we left it and went and booked another in the centre at considerably more expense per night.

When we arrived there it was a bait and switch operation that showed one hotel online but had us go to a booking office, where we were then pushed towards the 'only option' of a brand new hotel, not yet finished in the centre, I was too tired to argue so we took it, after walking 10 minutes with luggage to get there had to then pay another €60 to check out late so as to not have to carry all our luggage around in the day as they had no lockable room to leave luggage.

Booking.com refunded the extra expense YAY, but not the extra €60 fees we ended up paying or the taxi ride to the new hotel.

It was obvious from how the staff were behaving that the RobertRamon had a booking for us but had probably had a multiple night booking so kicked us to the curb and left us hanging.

The hotel RobertRamon basically screwed up our last full day in Amsterdam by wasting around 3 hours, then ending up in an unfinished hotel with no amenities because the only other choice was a hotel miles out of Amsterdam.

Would NEVER use them again, they didn't care in the slightest!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel with management that actually cares about guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#123 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#164 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#116 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#85 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cornelisz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cornelisz

Property: Hotel Cornelisz
Address: PC Hooftstraat 24-28, 1017 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Robertramon)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cornelisz 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cornelisz (former Hotel ROBERTRAMON) will enhance your city experience by staying at our central location. Situated on the most exclusive shopping street of the Netherlands, the P.C Hooftstraat, where all the top designers of the world have their exclusive shops. Only a few steps away from the hotel you'll find the famous museums from Amsterdam, the Concert House, the diamond exhibition and the house of bols. For something to eat and drink you can visit the nearby leidse square, Rembrandts square or the canal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cornelisz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robertramon Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing