We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for a stay in Amsterdam.”
Review of Hotel Cornelisz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cornelisz
Ranked #159 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect base for a stay in Amsterdam.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Took advice from other reviewers & got bus 197 from airport to Rijksmuseum (less than 30 mins journey 5 euro single fare bought on bus). Walk 2 mins in same direction as bus & hotel on right
(Pieter Cornelisz Hooftstraat). Booked triple room which had everything we needed inc fan, hairdryer and fridge. Fabulous location with short walks to all sights. Hotel staff welcoming especially as we arrived early in a torrential downpour and were delighted that our room was ready at 12.00. Sun soon came out and we enjoyed our 4 day break in Amsterdam very much.
Didn't sample breakfast as so many places to eat nearby. Would recommend Pancake Bakery near Anne Frank museum. Take a walk in Vondelpark, it's lovely, better still hire a bike.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank citybreaker049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    197
    116
    49
    18
See reviews for
70
223
45
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I'll start with the few positive things: the location and the staff. Nothing else!
I got a room on the last floor, in a mansard: it was really small (entirely occupied by the bed), the bath was just under the roof so no way to stand for a shower and no bath-tents so every time the bathroom was getting a lake.
After I arrived the elevator was out of order and it took a day to repair it (although I have to say it was Saturday/Sunday and they immediately activated the maintenance service).
It's good for a short stay but I believe there might be better options in the same area.

Room Tip: Never on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danilo3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The bus 197 from teh airport drops you off at the Rijksmuseum which is 2 blocks away from hotel, which makes it very easy to find. This area has cleaner hotel option (beware of bedbugs closer to the city center). Everything in the city is within 15 minutes walking distance from hotel. The hotel has elevator, the room are typical small rooms (all rooms are small in this city) that have tv, wifi, showers, towels and soap. Breakfasst was a bit pricey so we opted to go to cafe instead. there is a supermarket behind Van gogh musuem (5 minute walk). I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightygeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

easy walk to downtown, restaurant and cruise tour less then 100m away. next to busy street but not too noisy. rooms very small, but bed confortable. staff very friendly. small hotel, like 20 rooms. breakfast good. we liked it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

As others have highlighted already location is good but that's about it. This was one of the smallest rooms I have ever seen in my life. Paid extra for a double room for single occupancy and got a single room with a double bed. Had no space to put my bags or move around the room. Very old and in dire need for renovation. Telephone was under the bed as there was nowhere else to put it. Bathroom was actually a wet room. Can't fault housekeeping as room was clean but overall horrific.

Staff was really friendly and helpful and breakfast was decent. I stayed during a stag do so all I really needed was a bed to sleep on so if you're on a similar trip give it a chance but I would never recommend it for couples or in general more than one person. Some of the rooms were being renovated at the time so perhaps things have improved since February 2014.

Room Tip: If you want space (even just a little bit) do not book double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinosEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

If you want an amazing location for your hotel, this is it. Its very close to all the tourist attractions and less than a mile walk to thebfarthest part of the city (Central station area). It is surrounded my tons of restaurants, and is part of the richest street in Amsterdam (all high end stores). From the airport you tske Bus 197 and grt off st the Rijksmuseum stop, exit the bus to thr left, and the hotel is one block up on your right. VERY easy. Bus cost is 5 Euros. At the hotel I got a single room which consisted of a full size comfortable bed, desk, tv, and shower/toilet. It isnabsmall space but its all you need. The shower does not have a tub or door, so water does grt all over one side of the bathroom floor. The hallway gets a little noisy due to thin walls but very wuiet suring sleeping hours. I would sefinitely stay here again on a return trip to Amsterdam.

Helpful?
Thank ADubs12
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#119 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,043 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#157 of 367 in Amsterdam
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#80 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,007 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#128 of 367 in Amsterdam
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cornelisz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cornelisz

Property: Hotel Cornelisz
Address: PC Hooftstraat 24-28, 1017 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Robertramon)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cornelisz 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cornelisz (former Hotel ROBERTRAMON) will enhance your city experience by staying at our central location. Situated on the most exclusive shopping street of the Netherlands, the P.C Hooftstraat, where all the top designers of the world have their exclusive shops. Only a few steps away from the hotel you'll find the famous museums from Amsterdam, the Concert House, the diamond exhibition and the house of bols. For something to eat and drink you can visit the nearby leidse square, Rembrandts square or the canal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cornelisz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robertramon Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing