We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky place to visit”

Electric Ladyland - the First Museum of Fluorescent Art
Ranked #128 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quirky place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The sheer passion of the owner takes precedence for me in this museum. He clearly knows all their is to know about the subject and engages you. This is something my husband wanted to do that I wasn't massively interested in but I did enjoy it and had a long chat about it on the walk home.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank turace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    48
    16
    6
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quirky and informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

If you like the offbeat and interesting, this is definitely for you. At first you wonder whether you have slipped back in time to a psychedelic time warp, and in some ways you have. Our host's only regret is that he was too young to coincide with Jimi Hendrix. He has built an amazing fluorescent museum in the basement, which appears at first to be a trippy disco setting, but then he starts to show you the weird and wonderful. He is a mine (pardon the pun) of information. Who knew that there was both short wave and ultraviolet light, causing entirely different colours to appear In the same rocks? Who knew that this quality had inspired artists to spend years of their lives assembling fluoro particles with tweezers and glue to create pictures that can show night/day, summer/autumn in the same picture, depending on the light. Who knew that banknotes and passports and credit cards and stamps have all this stff in them? You go in thinking this is really hokey, but you come out knowing a lot more. Five stars on the quirk factor. Great stuff, thanks to a man really passionate about it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KathlynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Unique is the only word for it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We had to go and go we went. Fluorescence galore. A very great deal of information. Black light does some remarkable things. Be warned though the steps to museum in the basement are steep. Too steep for me, but Katester went down and took a good look and many pictures. It was also partly a trip back in time. (Get it? "Trip.")

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank michaelj108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best attractions ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

One of the best things I did whilst in Amsterdam. First you walk into a tiny shop full of prints and paintings of bright colours, then you're greeted by the most stereotypical looking hippy ever. He'll begin by informing you of stuff that probably won't make much sense, you'll be asked to put weird slippers on then you'll walk to the basement down the most narrow stairs in the whole of Amsterdam (and you can expect to walk down a lot of narrow stairs). I didn't catch the owners name but what a guy, there's nothing more humbling than letting someone who clearly has nothing but sheer passion for what they do talk to you about it, and he has exactly that. With hundreds of interesting paraphernalia on show he'll make you question why you've never had an interest in fluorescent light art before. Lovely guy and a brilliant museum, best 5€ I've ever spent.

Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Unusual way to spend a few hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We really enjoyed this. At first you think you have overpaid, and been ripped off by 5 euros when you go into the cellar and see his flourescent sculpture, but the owner, a real 60's hippie that never grew up comes down and gives you a show of a lifetime's collection of flourescent rocks in pitch darkness. Then he has another trick up his sleeve, if you have some bank notes or your passport, wont give too much away, but we both found it fascinating.

It may not be for everyone, but his sheer passion for what he lives for shines through (if you excuse the pun) and his enthusiasm is contageous and we came away feeling that it was money and time well spent. It was actually one of our highlights of our trip to Amsterdam, and we weren't expecting much.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jezjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Electric Ladyland - the First Museum of Fluorescent Art also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Electric Ladyland - the First Museum of Fluorescent Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing