We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Sampurna

Sampurna
Reserve with
Sampurna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #253 of 3,953 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$40
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
co.antrim
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We had a late lunch on a sunday afternoon there were 10 of us and there was only 1 chef there but boy did he make us a beautiful ricetafel the waitress was very nice and helpful we enjoyed it very much and would definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank ulsterelks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    334
    102
    50
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good, a tad overated by some”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Highly recommended by our cruise director, while it was good, not sure it was great.

Right next to the flower market- view is not great in evening as the market boards up for the evening.

Rice table - we got two diferent versions - vegetarian and also Barrarat - (low end of spicy). Food was very plentiful and interesting, was spicy but not flavorful, some did not appear the freshest

Overalll we were happy with it, but it is expensive and wasn't majorly wowed by it

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roxygirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Lazy Saturday afternoon”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Land on the terrace of Sampurna any time of afternon to restore your forces with a delicious Indonesian meal. While the endless stream of visitors to the flowermarket passes, you can Watch it all and have delicious sateh, lumpiahs, pangsit and one or two main courses to share. Friendly service, great prices. Sampurna's food is authentic, although I feel they put a touch of Thai into it - all the better, it spices up the Indonesian dishes some of which can be dull in taste otherwise.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert_bos53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hungry come here and be fed”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you are hungry after a long day of walking and touring museums then head over to this place. Their rice plate, the Kuning Rijsttafel, is an abundance of food. You have the rice, then there is beef and chicken skewers, spicy tofu, spicy chicken, some kind of bean sprout tofu dish, a delish sliced beef, soybean mix that reminds one of granola, cucumber salad, and this cocounut with brown sugar topping that transforms your rice. So yummy! The service was friendly and prompt, the price was good for what you were getting. And the location right off Koningsplein and the flower market.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chicaJica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really excellent Indonesian - loved it”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I really enjoyed my visit here - I had one of the rijstaffel set menus and it was just splendid - a great variety of simply delicious tasty dishes, very nicely presented. I gobbled it all up with great enthusiasm. Ambiance and service were also good.

Highly recommended as far as I am concerned.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pirranD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sampurna also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sampurna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing