We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals that we have had anywhere during our world travels”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Greetje

Greetje
Ranked #218 of 3,763 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$32
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Delicatessen, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Plantage & the East
Description: At Restaurant Greetje you will enjoy traditional local cuisine imbued with a modern, upscale twist. Using local, eco-friendly, and organic ingredients, our menu beings to life the best of Dutch cuisine throughout the centuries. Our staff loves to look after you. They have tried every dish on the menu and can recommend their favorites while regaling you the history surrounding each offering. The restaurant is situated in a quiet and beautiful area of downtown Amsterdam, right between the Montelbaans Tower and the Nationale Maritime Museum. Our interior is cozy, with gentle lighting, hardwood floors. and wainscoting. Our tables are set with first class custom made Villeroy & Boch table ware and cutlery. If you are looking for a memorable Amsterdam experience, filled with fabulous food and drink, Restaurant Greetje is your best choice.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best meals that we have had anywhere during our world travels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The space, service, and especially the elaborate multi-course meal extravaganza, which successfully samples local foods, traditions and culinary heritage of the region.
Not to be missed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Felix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    198
    91
    35
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A discovery Dutch Cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a place I discovered biking the East Amsterdam in a quiet and beautifull street
We had dinner outside with a great view on canals , Full menu ( 39 €) a good price indication of (v) for vegetarian , the beet in a special preparation was great , I had "makerel". Desert ..Very good service , the boss came to ask if we were happy ..So really a place to go in this City so popular those days

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank henri p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“THE ONE TO GO TO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

across the Straat from the one to avoid.

So having searched Amsterdam, tiny as it may be, overfilled in its confusing streets that are more accurately alleyways, with many restaurants and cafes, I finally chanced on a winner. Have no idea how to pronounce it, Dutch being as hard a language as there is in the world, but it is named after the owner's mother. And she did a really good job bringing him up.
The food: as delicious as one could hope while having no idea what you're ordering.
The service: handsome young waiters respectful and caring, who help through the confusion.
Having eaten dinner the night before in a restaurant just across the way, so full of itself there is hardly room for the food, it was more than a pleasure, an absolute joy, to chance on this one.
The first course, served for two, which I heartily recommend-- find a stranger if you have to--- is an assortment of tiny appetizers brilliantly presented, and as tasty as they are turn-ons for the tongue. Most surprising, a mystery treat that is a combination of potato and apple, more than delicious, Main courses offered are different fishes and a number of beef dishes, You can;t make a mistake, and if you do, the management will graciously offer something in its stead. The chairs are upholstered in the style of a loving Grandmother's home, and that's where you feel you are while you really enjoy the repast. Bon Appetit, or however you say it in Dutch: it can't be easy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thegwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, great service - pay a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had dinner here with friends on the last night of a short break in Amsterdam. It was a warm, pleasant evening so we ate outdoors which felt a little odd as we were in a mainly residential area. However, it was very warm inside so I'm glad that we were outside! The location is a little off the beaten track, but well worth tracking it down.

The service was very good and the food was excellent - the black pudding is thoroughly recommended! The owner was attentive and helpful - explaining the names behind some of the dishes. It was also no problem to substitute items on the menu from those on another which is great if you don't like the pairings on the menu.

The menu is described as traditional Dutch but, given that we're not experts in Dutch cuisine, it is difficult to say how accurate this is. Traditional or not, it was certainly delicious!

Cost-wise it's probably a bit more than you'd normally expect to pay but well worth it for a special occasion with friends or a celebration. If you're in Amsterdam, certainly consider paying a visit - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobMidsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Everything was perfect, down to every detail. Not only was the food itself really great, but it was also very nicely served. The apetizers were fantastic, too. The restaurant is located in a nice and quiet area, away from the crowded touristic center of the city. Overall, this was one of the best dinners I've ever had during my many travels to the Netherlands, if not the best.
It's expensive, but worth every penny.
It also deserves extra points for accepting credit cards.
When I return to Amsterdam I will definitely visit Greetje again, no doubt about it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vlad_Soare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greetje also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greetje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing