We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere delicious food”
Review of Garlic Queen

Garlic Queen
Ranked #737 of 3,858 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere delicious food”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our third visit and it certainly won't be the last when ever my partner and myself visit Amsterdam we always eat here,can't fault the food or the staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    32
    15
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I've been coming to the Garlic Queen for the past 10 or so years and have never been disappointed. The service, intimacy and outstanding food make for a memorable dining experience. My favourite is the garlic soup and last night I tried the Parpadelle Pizzaiola which was very spicy but did not overwhelm the garlic flavour. Although they have several desert choices I always go for the garlic ice cream which is delicious. I notice many people on Trip Advisor saying this is on the pricey side (Eur 20 average main course) but really dining in Amsterdam has never been a bargain and these prices are simply competitive. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnbamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It seems to have been around for years but this restaurant is always on our list when we go to Amsterdam and never fails to disappoint. Of course if you don't like garlic avoid at all costs but otherwise be prepared for a treat. The beef stew with 50 cloves is excellent as is the prime rib but my favourite is the garlic ice-cream.

It's a small restaurant but when we went on a Sunday night was fairly quiet. It allowed for an intimate relaxed meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not quite masters of garlic, or restauranteuring yet.”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

The current 4.5 star review is not justified. Very charming interior, but the food is only average. Of 5 dishes between us, only one was 'very good' - the garlic soup. The rest was mediocre. My two dishes (mushrooms starter and shrimp main) were too garlicky, which drowned out the flavor of everything else. On the other hand, hubs' main course (lamb from the set menu) did not have enough garlic! The garlic "queen" should have a better hand with the garlic, no? Service was unusually slow, despite there being only two other tables seated. The high price is not justified, at least as of Sept. 2013. Perhaps their dishes/technique will improve in future. For now, though, go to a less touristy area for a better meal for less €€€.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJ_Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

The food was so so and overpriced. I love garlic, but nothing we had was so exciting. Can't really recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kidstonecrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garlic Queen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Garlic Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing