We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
£111
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
gillian s
Falkirk, United Kingdom
brillant
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Dec 2012
really where do i start praising this place, Stayed here for two nights recently read reviews so had mixed expectations before i went. on arrival check in was effortless, pleasant helpful. 4 lifts upper floors speedy and spacious. rooms were immaculate, all mod cons, speaker system in the toilet, bath and shower. free safe, extra pillows and bedding. the best of coffee and tea. television with bbc1 and usual foreign channels. bed was superior large and very comfortable. sofa and coffee table, modern desk to work on. honestly cannot fault room. restaurant amazing colorful and modern. all staff so friendly and struck up conversations. not too expensive either. bar again was great and staff go out their way to appease. all amenities to hand, public toilets gorgeous, phone, wee coffee shop and an abundance of areas so sit and have a coffee and chill all brightly decorated and spotless. although this hotel is not in the centre of amsterdam we had no trouble accessing the town with either the tram system or the metro. a 24 hours pass for 7.50 euros a must you can jump on trams buses metro using this card. Tram number 4 takes you into the centre to central station. we wanted off at the museum square had to change trams . again effortless, tram staff most helpful. Since our return we have recommeded this hotel to many family and friends and we will definetly be visiting this hotel again. no complaints whatsoever........
Date of stay: November 2012
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£400
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £400
  • Agoda.com
    £259
  • Expedia.com
    £400
2.5 miles from Novotel Amsterdam City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£161
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £130
  • Agoda.com
    £128
  • Expedia.com
    £161
3.0 miles from Novotel Amsterdam City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£684
  • Expedia.com
    £684
  • Hotels.com
    £568
  • Vio.com
    £568
2.6 miles from Novotel Amsterdam City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£253
  • travelup.com
    £237
  • Agoda.com
    £203
  • Priceline
2.3 miles from Novotel Amsterdam City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£387
  • Hotels.com
    £441
  • Vio.com
    £371
  • Expedia.com
    £441
2.9 miles from Novotel Amsterdam City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£115
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £115
  • ZenHotels.com
    £113
  • Hotels.com
    £115
1.7 miles from Novotel Amsterdam City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£119
  • Expedia.com
    £132
  • Vio.com
    £119
  • Hotels.com
    £119
4.0 miles from Novotel Amsterdam City
Free Wifi
Exterior
Booking.com
£256
  • ibis
    £256
  • Vio.com
    £234
  • Expedia.com
    £256
3.2 miles from Novotel Amsterdam City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£118
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    £101
  • Hotels.com
    £101
  • Expedia.com
    £101
3.9 miles from Novotel Amsterdam City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£85
  • Vio.com
    £79
  • Agoda.com
    £75
  • Expedia.com
    £85
4.4 miles from Novotel Amsterdam City
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Amsterdam
Reviews (3,586)
Filter reviews
3,586 results
Traveller rating
1,141
1,628
547
159
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,141
1,628
547
159
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rai station amstel park business hotel nice hotel free wifi tram number business trip executive room tram stop public transport excellent breakfast hotel is located schiphol airport min walk dam square conference euro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,522 - 1,527 of 3,586 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Stayed for one night at the hotel, arrived late and I was tired. The staff was really helpful and service minded. Slept perfectly and woke up a bit to late. I missed the breakfast which is served in a nice restaurant at the entrance floor.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bengt_fjallborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2012

2 nights for business. Rooms are a 90's throwback but OK enough. The rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet, but the sheets made my skin itch for 2 days - what is it they use on them...bleach?!! The snazzy lobby has had a face-lift and has a good value restaurant and breakfast. Free Wifi everywhere with a simple login is a big plus. The front office staff need to remember that some clients understand dutch perfectly, even if they're not speaking it at that moment, so moaning about the customers is not recommended when you're standing in front of them :o| I would stay there again when visiting Amsterdam office at WTC.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swissbrit444
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I regret the fact that you have experienced some skin irritation of perhaps the hotel linen. Novotel Amsterdam City uses environmentally friendly detergents as much as possible, however it is difficult to retrieve if this has affected your skin in some way. Please allow my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused.

I would like to thank you for sharing your comments on the Front Office department. Please trust me when I tell you that this has been discussed in full detail with the department involved in order to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We are looking forward welcoming you again at Novotel Amsterdam City and thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
NOVOTEL Amsterdam City
Europaboulevard 10
NL-1083 AD Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

A nondescript and somewhat drab exterior hides a modern, airy and roomy interior. The reception and restaurant area have a lot of places to sit, chat and work. The front is crowded with smokers and the garbage bins need to be emptied more often. Hotel is located near the RAI convention center and within easy walking distance of the RAI train and metro station.

Staff everywhere was very friendly and professional and they speak their languages. Checkin was lighting quick. There's a few self service kiosks that don't work very well.

Public places are generally clean but the men's room near the restaurant need to be cleaned more often. Urinals are rather small and as the bar does it's business men tend to lose their aim.

Rooms are standard new novotel. Not too big but everything is there. Water pressure is good and hot water comes easily. Big drawback here is a thin mattress on an extremely inflexible bed base. I would have liked to see real mugs and milk instead of creamer with the kettle. Noise insulation for outside noise is good, for the corridors mediocre and for the other rooms decent enough (I did hear someone snore in the next room)

Restaurant was decent enough, no big mistakes but also not near star level yet which seems par for the course for novotel. Breakfast had the usual hot and cold fare including rice for the oriental guests. Coffee comes from one of those excellent WMF coffee machines. There's a coffee counter if all you want is a drink and a sandwich.

We also had a meeting room on the ground flour which seemed to lack ceiling tiles what resulted in poor, almost pool-like, acoustics. Noise insulation between meeting rooms is almost non-existent. Staff does keep your meeting supplied with snacks and drinks very well and is sharp when it comes to noticing meeting breaks and cleaning up dirty cups.

Wifi is problematic in some areas, easy fix for that is to disable N-mode on your computer and switch to B/G mode. When it works it's quite fast at 400kb/sec.

Room tip: end of corridor has the quietest rooms
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeroen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear Mr. Wijnands,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

I hereby also take the liberty to thank you for informing us on the possible improvements we could implement in order to upgrade the service level to our guests. The feedback given on the sometimes full outside bins and to check the public toilets more regularly is highly appreciated. Together with the feedback given on the set smoking area close to the entrance of the hotel will be discussed internally and might be changed in the near future.

Apart from the above I regret the fact that your preference is a thicker mattress than the ones available at Novotel. In this aspect it is quite difficult to fulfill your wishes, however we will try to find a suitable solution when you might stay with us again.

Once more I would like to thank you for sharing your comments and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the near future. We look forward welcoming you again at Novotel Amsterdam City

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager

NOVOTEL Amsterdam City
Europaboulevard 10
NL-1083 AD Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Enjoyed the weekend. Stayed here three days and found the service and quality great. The room itself was clean, tidy with free wi fi and a mini bar.
Breakfast is served in a huge dining room we managed to eat more than we usually would at breakfast it was so good.
This hotel is not central but tram stops are close and it's a nice twenty minute route to the middle of town.
Amsterdam has something for everyone and we found some interesting arty small shops around the nine canals/bridges area.
Will need to go back didn't have enough time to see all Amsterdam has to offer and we found the people genuine and so friendly.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear Mr. AlexB,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. We are very happy to be informed that you well appreciated the room, personal service of our employees and the American breakfast buffet in our restaurant each morning.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
NOVOTEL Amsterdam City
Europaboulevard 10
NL-1083 AD Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Novotel Amsterdam City has become part of our regular locations when in Amsterdam. The hotel has significantly improved over the years. Biggest change is now they are non-smoking. Suggest they move the smoking area to away from the front doors otherwise the no-smoking policy in the lobby becomes irrelevant. The upgraded hotel is great. Rooms are well-appointed. Services and amenities just fine. Breakfast and parking seem a little expensive, but are actually in-line with the area. Funny - they had a dog convention/show and the hotel apparently accepts pets (didn't know...). No problem at all but they should probably have swept the elevators for dog hair more frequently.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoneDivingVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com again.

It is of great pleasure to read your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

The non-smoking policy in public areas has been conducted by Dutch law since 2008 and strictly followed. The feedback given on the smoking area at the entrance of the hotel will be discussed internally and possible alternative areas might be implemented in the near future.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations. Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel Amsterdam City!

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
NOVOTEL Amsterdam City
Europaboulevard 10
NL-1083 AD Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews