We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uitstekrnd”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #119 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    1,292
    402
    98
    62
See reviews for
698
538
124
783
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Very good weekend-deal on family making city trip to Amsterdam. Downtown Amsterdam is lnly tram-ride away (20 minutes). Rooms are spacious, breakfast copious and parking easily to be found with the hotel being located right by the ring road.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geertvdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear geertvdh,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

This was such a horrible experience, would not repeat it ever! There were three of us sharing one tiny room with a double bed and a sofa bed. It was room 716, the carpet had such bad stains on it over by the window. The room is really old fashioned and badly in need of an update. The bathroom has no lock on the door. I asked at reception if we could change to a room with three bed or even two real beds and I was amazed that for such a huge hotel with such a large amount of rooms it does not even have one room with more than one bed, as I was told at reception, a joke. Reception was so unhelpful, basically laughed at me and dismissed me when I told them how unhappy I was with the room. We have another 3 nights left in this hotel and I am not looking forward to it but we are stuck here now as the hotel is prepaid for. We ate in the restaurant last night, food is good, restaurant stylish and modern but service very slow. The hotel is not very central, takes a 20 minute tram journey from central Amsterdam, I would never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Neil Ross S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your experience at the Novotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

As I can see in your booking you have made a reservation through Booking.com. In the description of our superior triple room is written:

Room size: 22 m2
Bed size(s): 1 sofa bed, 1 large double bed.

In this way we inform all of our (potential) guest what they could expect of a superior triple room.

Regarding the carpet, we are renewing our carpet in phases.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We were a travelling party of 3 (2 x adults and 1 x child) and booked a room with a double bed and a sofa bed for two nights in Dec-13. The hotel is conveniently located on the last stop of the tram line No. 4 (RAI) and it is a 15min ride to downtown with trams running every 5 – 10 minutes until late. Also being on the outskirts of downtown you are paying 3-star hotel rates for a 4-star hotel! Staff super friendly and efficient! Buffet breakfast which was included in the deal we got off hotels.com was divine!

Room Tip: There is a tram stop in front of the RAI station but the tram goes on a little further down to a sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaybeegee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear James B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed here as part of a mini cruise break from Hull to Amsterdam. Arrived at hotel at about 11 in the morning, so what a bonus to be able to check in our room at that time. The hotel staff were so friendly. Very impressed. The room was lovely. Free Wifi a big bonus. Free safe too. Great that we could watch BBC channels on TV. Loved the park across the road and so easy to get to and from city centre on tram 4. 48 hour tram pass was well used. Would definitely stay here again. Only negative was no phone in room for room service. Apart from that - perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAFFA_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Jaff_56,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

I am sorry to read you did not have a telephone in your room, which is not usual. Every room should have a telephone.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have been there regularly since 2.5 year ago due to meetings in Amsterdam.

My 1st experience was not optimal 2.5 year ago but it seems to be improved in terms of internet and meals.

In my opinion, the reception always try to keep very patient and friendly and fast. There are so many international guests everyday there, so well done I will say.

The breakfast buffet is 23 or 25 euro? It has a very comprehensive selections of international foods, however, still a bit pricy. There is also a quite snack corner, I grabed a cappuccio and crossiant for 5 euro.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jude9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 17 March 2015
Dear travelfairy1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a good stay with us in general.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future at Novotel Amsterdam City!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#144 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
1.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#113 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
0.7 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#103 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Property: Novotel Amsterdam City
Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing