We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #121 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed in an 'Executive Novation' room on the top floor. Value for this room was excellent considering we stayed just a day or two after New Year's. Received great service from the lobby staff that we came across, extremely happy and helpful with questions we had about getting around Amsterdam. Had a slight issue with the shower head in our room but had staff view the problem very promptly. Bathroom was on the tired-looking side of things but otherwise ok. Executive room comes with bathrobes, slippers. We also enjoyed the free apples stacked in the foyer of our floor...! Breakfast buffet spread was excellent with a huge range of items to have. We had this included with our stay under an offer but otherwise it could be a little expensive to add on. Location of hotel is slightly south to the city but it is a very quick (less than 5 min) walk to the RAI train station and trams. I would be happy to stay at Novotel again next time I come by Amsterdam - lovely place and we had a great experience from our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spliceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Spliceo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am very glad to read you had a wonderful stay at Novotel Amsterdam City. Hopefully we could give you again the same, or even better, experience in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

869 - 875 of 2,901 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel it self is nice, but not much more than that. It certainly ain't a 5 star experience. The hotel is nice to stay at if you're hanging around the south part of town. For example a seminar or convention at the RAI center. In that case, you're only 5 minutes from RAI, and also the train and tram station. Otherwise I would recommend to staying closer to the center of the city, even though the tram are convenient and quite frequent.

The staff is a mixed bag. Most are very nice and positive, others are more grim and less helpful. Breakfast is nice actually! But it's also quite expensive if you do not have it included in the room. I would stay here if I were at another RAI convention. Otherwise not.

Room Tip: Be sure to include breakfast before ordering, as it will give you a good start on the day :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrHaugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear MrHaugen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to read you had a mixed experience, because our aim is to give you the best experience offcourse! Indeed, we are not a 5-stars hotel, but a 4-stars. Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future to give you a better experience!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

breakfast was rich and delicious, there was a wide variety of food.
the staff was really nice and helpfull.
the hotel desinged very nice and modern.
i recommend everyone to stay at this hotel, it's a really lovely place to stay in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 89Dana89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear dananehama,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. This is really appreciated. I am glad to read you had a nice stay at Novotel Amsterdam City. Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Were for the new year. Close to the metro. Walk to Dam Square 40 minutes. Conveniently out of town by car - once you get on the highway to Belgium. In the lobby are modern computers with free internet access.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anychin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear anychin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a nice stay. Very sportive of you, you walked all the way to Dam Square!

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future1

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I choose this hotel to stay one night in Amsterdam for trade show at RAI. The hotel is very near (5 minutes walk) the RAI center and rail and metro station. You can take the train on the airport and arrive at the hotel in about 20 minutes, from the same station you can take the metro (or train) for city center. The hotel, in perfect Novotel style is very comfortable and in nice area with a lot of trees. On the hotel you can rent a bike to ride on the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arisso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear arisso,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a good stay. Indeed, we are perfectly located!

Hopefully we could welcome you back again in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have just stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group.The best word to describe the place is adequate. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. There was no iron in the room and the lighting was poor.I ate at the restaurant and the food was OK but nothing really special.I dont think I would bother to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeronikaNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear VeronikaNewZealand,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a good stay.
Regarding the iron in the room; this is indeed not provided in the room, but if you call the housekeeping or our Manager on Duty, we are more than happy to bring one up to your room.

Hopefully we could welcome you back again in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Nice big box hotel. Lots of people in and out. The big area of improvement is the quality of the gym which is extremely small relative to the size of the hotel. I also think that for the price is reasonable but I would have liked breakfast included in the price.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Paul M.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Hopefully we could welcome you back again in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#103 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,151 reviews
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#156 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,511 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £88 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing