We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great spot to lay your head”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #127 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A great spot to lay your head”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while visiting in Amsterdam. To be honest I was a little worried that it wasn’t right in the heart of city, however in the end I was quite happy it was wasn’t. The hotel is about a 10-15 min tram ride, and the tram pick up is a 2 minute walk from the hotel and very safe. The Hotel was clean, great restaurant and snack cafe and great value compared to what that would have got you in the city. When we were there it was also very HOT so having air conditioning was great, and the small fridge in the room was a plus for water and snacks that we purchased. The tram system is easy. It is only 1 tram to the main squares, and one transfer to the Van Gogh museum. The tram also run every 5 minute or so, so personally I would rather have a short tram right & quite hotel at night compared to trying sleep right in a hotel in a square where it can be noisy late at night. I would recommend this hotel to families, couples and people traveling on business.

This hotel is quite North Americanized so you lose some of that European charm but for 2 days I and little time spent in the room is a GREAT place to stay.

Room Tip: buy the I am Amsterdam card - it covers the cost of the tram and many attractions
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Michelle M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you were happy about the fact the hotel is not located in the crowded, noisy city center. In this way you will always have a good night rest.
Even in the Netherlands it can be hot once upon a time :-). We are looking forward to welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    1,330
    424
    110
    70
See reviews for
728
563
124
815
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Novotels can be a varying experience, but this is definately a great one. Friendly service and well located to Amsterdam RAI rail, a few stops from the airport. Light rail nearby is a pleasant 20 min commute to the city centre transiting through lovely suburbs and great restaurant area. This is were I'll stay next time transiting through Amsterdam. Experience helped by upgrade to executive floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank menzies55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear menzies55,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on TripAdvisor. Good to read you had a nice stay with us and you would stay here again in the nearest future! An upgrade to the executive floor is definitely a good experience. You will have a lot of extra benefits, such as filled minibar, bathrobes and slippers, extra luxury toiletries etc.

Looking forward to welcome you back again in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Novotel is well located to the conference center. The rooms are minimalistic, quite clean, nothing special, the beds are ok. The breakfast buffet is large but not very special and rather mass-production. Even though the internet is free, but the connection gets very easy lost and speed not great either.

Green Features: It is not obvious that this hotel takes anything into account to improve the environmentally friendliness, even though I'm always looking at this very point.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAndy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear TheAndy12,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. My apologies your experience was average and not outstanding. Hopefully you will give us the chance to give you a better experience in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I got on an offer on thus hotel through the loyalty card. It was worth every penny as it was a great hotel with all the expectations of a good four star hotel. All the amenities provided and helpful and friendly staff. Gym could have been a bit more extensive. Easy to get into centre by tram or home by night bus if your not a taxi person. Easy ride on the train to the airport. I recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank robjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear robjar,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Nice to read you had a nice stay and you are a member of Le Club Accor. This has a lot of extra benefits!

Thank you for your comment regarding our gym; we will take the appropriate measures.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#103 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,010 reviews
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#143 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 367 in Amsterdam
4,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Property: Novotel Amsterdam City
Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing