We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lifetime memory”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jordaan Houseboat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Nikola180
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A lifetime memory”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived at the houseboat in the pouring rain and stepped into a haven of warmth, charm and relaxation. Our four nights on the boat have given us memories for a lifetime. Everything on the boat oozed character. The boat has great facilities, including a good oven and bath. We loved evenings on the deck of this boat and felt like a local rather than a tourist as the tourist boats took photos of us!
The location is perfect for exploring Amsterdam. Stay here ...... you will love it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and on the water
Liked least: the weather while we were there as we couldn't get outside on the deck as much as we would have liked
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2014
Nice to hear you have enjoyed your stay - even with rain!
Many thanks for your review :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jinty1964
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an experience”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was the best trip I've ever had to Amsterdam staying on Karin's Houseboat. I cannot praise it enough, it is well equipped having everything you could need, its cosy and homely and you feel really special sitting out on the deck waving to the many boats passing by on the canal. Location was fantastic too, only a 15 min walk from central station and Anne Franks house is just 5mins away from the boat. There is a supermarket about 100m from the boat which is really handy for stocking up on essentials. Karin, herself is very welcoming and goes out of her way to make you feel at home.
Will definitely stay here again when we next visit Amsterdam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience of staying on a houseboat
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for sharing your experience with us.
Cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, IL
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor deck with flowers was amazing
Liked least: Steep stairs to enter the boat
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay :-)
Cheers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joonas K
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We spend four nights in Amsterdam and in Karins Houseboat. It could not have been better. The location is perfect, in Jordaan just a few minutes away from the city center. Facilities were great and comfortable and we felt so welcomed by our host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2014
Many thanks for your review. Glad to hear that we have helped you to have a nice vacation.
Cheers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bubbleart...
Kaneohe
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy Accommodations, Good Location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived Karin's Mom gave us a friendly welcome. She went over the houseboat and pointed things out & told us to use whatever we wanted from fridge. We were given a binder with some suggestions and ticket info. The boat itself was a little worn in places, but comfortable (The bed was very comfortable). The first night the T.V was not operational, which was kind of a bummer (World Cup Soccer), but Karin stopped by & had it fixed by the 2nd. evening. The deck had lots of blooming flowers, but I did not see an umbrella for the table, which would have been nice for drizzly weather, which is typical in Amsterdam. It was a very convenient location; museums, bus, tram, restaurants were in walking distance. Saturday & Monday there was an awesome market in the square right next to the boat. Overall it was a pleasant experience staying on a houseboat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenient location & staying on the canal
Liked least: Step Up in kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2014
Many thanks for your review. Glad to hear that you had a nice stay.
Cheers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara U
Rosemont, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, Perfect city”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Charming home on the Prinsengracht canal. The location in the Jordaan was ideal for experiencing life as an Amsterdam local and convenient for walking/biking to all the city's attractions. The Jordaan is a lively area, full of great cafes and restaurants, shops, and parks. Karins houseboat offered the comforts of home - fully stocked kitchen, washer/dryer, an outside eating area surrounded by flowering potted plants and an extensive library - leave your reading material at home. We were greeted by Peter, who had already stocked the refrigerator with essentials (and some non essentials!) and a fabulous bouquet for the table. If you are visiting Amsterdam, we would highly recommend that you try to book a stay on Karin's houseboat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2014
It seems you had the real "Amsterdam Experience" Thank you for your compliments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable and interesting base in a classy Amsterdam district”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Despite all that Amsterdam offers the tourist, it was very difficult to tear ourselves away from the boat. The immediate vicinity had a buzzing atmosphere by day and quiet by night. The quaint bars and laid back local life was a welcome relaxation after a day's sightseeing.
At the same time the boat is only 5 minutes walk from the hop on hop off canal boats and we were thrilled to see the city sights from water for 2 days without encountering any road traffic.
As everybody says, the boat is fantastically well equipped and Karin was very helpful.
Even though it rained for most of our stay, we hardly noticed it in the peaceful environment provided by the boat. I never got bored of waving to the passengers of passing boats of all descriptions, it made me feel important!!!
The only downside was that our 4 days were over too quickly.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2014
Many thanks for your review. We're glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing