We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful taste of Dutch hospitality.”
Review of Lieve Nachten B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lieve Nachten B&B
Ranked #104 of 343 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Please ignore the previous review as they are totally wrong. We stayed 3 nights and found it to be a great and friendly place to stay. Kitty and Fred are wonderful hosts and made us feel at home. The breakfasts are amazing and nothing is too much trouble. We arrived early and were give breakfast and allowed to leave our bags while we explored Amsterdam. We were also allowed to leave our bags once we had checked out all without extra cost. The B&B has real character and is quirky both in design and decor but that is the appeal over a boring and bland hotel. The location is great as the 26 tram runs every 7 minutes into Amsterdam but is nice and quiet to come back to. If you want a really comfortable bed and helpful hosts then book here. We will return next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomwilcox17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

We booked this B & B on the internet everything seemed OK great communication prior to the arival from the owners. Our disappointed started on arrival having been shown what wa supposed to be two rooms on the 4th Floor turned out to be a singel room with a mezanine floor with a bedroom. The shower room and toilet had no door just a curtain which was most disappointing. Then there was the invasion of spiders which to my 14 year old daughter was a nightmare. We were orginally booked in for 6 nights but left after the first night. The owners were resposible and reasonable on our departure. I guess that the other rooms in this B & B were of bettr condition and facilities than the one that we had.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank IGW187351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This is just a great place to stay for a visit to Amsterdam. It's easy to reach - just fifteen minutes on the tram from the Central Station and then an easy one minute walk. After a busy day sight-seeing in the bustle of the city, it's a relief to get back to the quiet and calm of Steigereiland. Kitty and Fred speak excellent English and are kind and attentive hosts. The house itself is modern and very cool - as are all the other buildings in the locality. There's water and a little quay just at the end of the street and a great cafe/restaurant - Cafe Vriburcht - for evening meals. You cannot afford to miss the excellent breakfasts at Lieve Nachten - delicious organic food presented very artistically and thoughtfully on a great range of Eastern-style china. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a view over the pond and vegetable garden. For trams back into the city, we never had to wait more than five minutes. This place has everything - don't miss it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This B&B is very special... A little bit outside of Amsterdam, by tramway or bicycle easy to reach. Very friendly and openhearted owners, good atmosphere, very good breakfast, nice garden, cute cats, big room, personal, arty interior... But you cannot expect the "normal" service of a hotel, it's something different...
*But a very nice place to be*

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Beautiful house in a really interesting new area of Amsterdam, Ijburg, with a lot of silence and interesting examples of new buolding architecture, but at the same time very near from the center.
Kitty and Fred are wonderful homeowner and they will help you in every question and will give you a lot of advice.
The breakfast is large and delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

If you have a very relaxed style, prefer to be detached from city center hustle and bustle and love quirky decorations unique to B&B(s), then Lieve Nachten is perfect for you!

Being a short tram (10mins-ish) ride from the Amsterdam Central station, is just enough to feel out of bombardment of any city center accommodation, but close enough for a short commute there and home after a day trip out and about the city.

For 10 Euros you can enjoy a delicious homemade organic meal with a huge selection of tea, good strong coffee, as well as organic locally made juices and jams on every table.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

B&B Lieve Nachten (“sweet nights”) is the most wonderful place you can stay in when you visit Amsterdam! Beautiful quiet residential area surrounded by a lovely park and water-land, yet only ten minutes from the central station by tram. The local Restaurant Cafe Vrijburcht is a real gem and you will also find a shopping area nearby.

The owners are very friendly and helpful and they both create a very relaxed atmosphere in the house. You can ask to have breakfast in the morning and you won’t regret it - it’s scrumptious, delicious and beautifully organic! Every room has a different character and decor, a great mix of modern and vintage. Architecturally exciting exterior as well as interior! Young, old as well as dogs are most welcome! Enjoy your stay cause I most certainly did!

Room Tip: Every room has its own character and decor so you can make a personal choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nushti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,536 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#31 of 343 in Amsterdam
805 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 343 in Amsterdam
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#117 of 254 in Amsterdam
464 reviews
Hostelle
#34 of 254 in Amsterdam
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lieve Nachten B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lieve Nachten B&B

Address: Jan Olphert Vaillantlaan 77 /79, 1086 XZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £130 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lieve Nachten B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lieve Nachten Hotel Amsterdam
Lieve Nachten Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing