We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth missing”
Review of Oriental City

Oriental City
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #929 of 4,567 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: US$23 - US$47
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Reviewed 19 June 2016

a very disappointing meal. the starters were actually very good indeed but the mains were a total let-down. also made to feel like the moment we sat down it was time to go, very rushed experience - won't be going back

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank smithdarrena
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time and effort to leave a review on TripAdvisor.

We regret it that you are disappointed about the main dishes and the rushed experience.

The issues have been discussed with the management and operational staff.
We appreciate your feedback about our restaurant. It helps us to realize positive changes.

Thanks again for your help and we hope we have informed you sufficiently,
Kind regards,
Brigitte van Cromvoirt
Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 401 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2016

Went here only for the dim sums since a local friend recommended Oriental City. Terrific range of dim sums. If you dont have google translate make sure you ask for the English menu (with photographs to help). The food was great, and the service was lightning fast... you may want to tell them to pace out if you want a slower experience. And get there early or make a reservation. A reservation is probably a good idea if you want to sit near a sunny window with a view of the canals and street life of Amsterdam.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank nandieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Dear Customer,
We are very delighted with a five star review on TripAdvisor. You described us as a "great dim sums for lunch."

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate it very much that you write us your experience about our restaurant. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours.

We look forward to see you back!
Warm regards,
Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam
Brigitte van Cromvoirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

This might be the best known Chinese restaurant in Amsterdam. You know it's good if 90% of the customers are Chinese.

They have great dimsum and what I really like is the classic style of everything. The classic carts, the tables, the staff, the tea. It just makes me feel nostalgic all the time. And they should definitely keep the classic style.

The food is fresh, tasty and I can't really say anything else about it. You can eat great dimsum here or great (real) authentic Chinese dishes if you want. One of the best places to eat Asian food in my opinion.

There is one little problem.. It's always occupied. So be prepared to wait before a table becomes available. They have multiple floors and enough seats. But the restaurant is just that popular in Amsterdam.

You should definitely visit if you like to eat dimsum and have a good cup of tea.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank hunterxpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Dear Customer,
We are very delighted with a five star review on TripAdvisor. You described us as a "great place to eat dimsum."

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate it very much that you write us your experience about our restaurant. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours.

We look forward to see you back!
Warm regards,
Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam
Brigitte van Cromvoirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Went here for lunch on a weekend break in Amsterdam. No problem getting a table, but the restaurant was crowded and a little bit noisy. Staff is friendly and helpful, and the service is quick. The food is OK, but I have had better dim sum other places. Clean bathrooms.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank LilithNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking your time to send us a review on TripAdviso. We appreciatie all the feedback about our restaurant that we can make the positive changes.

Hopefully, we have informed you sufficiently,

Kind regards,
Brigitte van Cromvoirt
Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

A restaurant that I have been returning to for years. Excellent service, just-the-right spice in the food, attractive ambiance. The only thing lacking was the Indonesian Rice Table that had been a standard here -- "the chef left" they explained. So Cantonese it is. Recommended.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank igbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Dear customer,

Thank you for your four stars review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate it very much that you take the time to write a review about your experience of our restaurant.

I will share your review about the excellent service, just the right spice in the food, attractive ambiance. with our team. I will inform the staff that you miss the Indonesian rice table.

We glad you enjoy your stay here and we look forward meeting you next time!

Warm regards,
Brigitte van Cromvoirt
Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oriental City also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Oriental City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.