We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”
Review of Oriental City

Oriental City
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #929 of 4,567 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: US$23 - US$47
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Reviewed 20 July 2016

A return visit to a restaurant that I had eaten in in 2009 on a work trip , always a good sign when the restaurant is full of Chinese eating
Friendly service and very nice food

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for the four stars review on TripAdvisor!
We appreciate it that you give your feedback about our restaurant.

We glad to be informed that you have appreciated the nice food and friendly service.

It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours. They take great pride in their service efforts. It was our pleasure to have served you!

Yours sincerly,

In the name of Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam
Brigitte van Cromvoirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 375 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016

Centrally located, nice view from the table by the window on the first floor, it was a pleasant refuge and a place to eat when it began to rain. The first night when I arrived at the end of working hours, asking if I can get dim sum, I was cut short with a not very courteous; no!. The next day I came earlier. I thought, since, while traveling the money trickles away anyway, I might as well order what I realy wanted-a lobster. I expected the usual, slightly larger semi-shrimp. What arrived was a really big specimen. I fought with the beast as best I could to justify paying so much for it and to do it justice:). It was good, maybe a little too much sugar in the sauce. I'm sorry that I did not try the dim sum.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laliqueent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for the four stars review on TripAdvisor!We appreciate it that you give your feedback about our restaurant.

We glad to be informed that you have appreciated the lobster and nice ambiance of the restaurant. It was a pleasure for us to have served you!

We hope you have the possibilty to visit us again and try to eat DIM SUM.

We look forward to your next visit!

Yours sincerly,

In the name of Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam
Brigitte van Cromvoirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

There was nothing to fault. Dim sums were excellent. Quick service, plenty to choose from yet you can feel it ' s fresh. Will definitely come back, with all those Chinese places around you never know what to expect and where to go, but was a pleasant surprise!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 497c_liak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for the four stars review on TripAdvisor!
We appreciate it that you give your feedback about our restaurant.

We glad to be informed that you appreciated the fresh food, service and DIM SUM.

It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours. They take great pride in their service efforts. It was our pleasure to have served you!

Yours sincerly,

In the name of Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam
Brigitte van Cromvoirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I go to the Oriental City quite often. It is one of my favorites in the Netherlands (there are also excellent ones in Den Haag and Rotterdam) and the best in Amsterdam.

The restaurant has 2 floors but if you want the best Dim Sum in town go there for lunch. If it is a weekend, then you better ensure that you are at the restaurant maximum at 11:30 to 12:00. If you arrive later you will have to wait a long time for a table. For lunch in the weekend the restaurant is full of Chinese families having Dim Sum.

Try it - it is worthwhile. The service is good and most if not all of the waiters speak english. If you speak (and read) Chinese ask for the Chinese menu, there are many more choices there.

In any case ask for the Dim Sum Menu. The "normal" menu is mostly for non Dim Sum.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank zepedro99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Dear Customer,

We are very delighted with the five stars ery extensive review on TripAdvisor. We glad to be informed that you appreciate our DIM and our service. We also appreciate it very much you take the time to send us a review on TripAdvisor.

It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours. They take great pride in their service efforts. It was our pleasure to have served you!

We are looking forward to your next visit!

In the name of Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam
Brigitte van Cromvoirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

For those who missed Chinese food, this is the place to go when you are away from far and living in Amsterdam or visiting. A 3-storey restaurant in the heart of city center near dam square, abundance of seats await you as you enter the restaurant, greeted by friendly staff. Booking is preferred if in big group. The variety in this restaurant is pretty decent, ranging from set meals for 6, 8, 10 pax to ala-carte dishes or one-dish meal like noodles, fried rice and porridge. Taste is okay, but portion is generous with nice presentation and good service. Dim sum also available for those who just want something light for brunch. Wifi is provided in the restaurant so you can leisurely surf net, sip tea and enjoy your meal overlooking the city street from 3rd storey of the restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 655geraldinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your very extensive review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate it that you give your feedback about our restaurant.

We glad to be informed that you appreciate the food, efficient staff, pleasant atmosphere, location and prizes. Although we wonder what you mean with 'the taste is okay'

It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours. They take great pride in their service efforts. It was our pleasure to have served you!

Yours sincerly,

In the name of Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam
Brigitte van Cromvoirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oriental City also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Oriental City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.