We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese Food Gems , more than just Dimsum ”
Review of Oriental City

Oriental City
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #929 of 4,567 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: US$23 - US$47
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Family of 3 craving for Chinese food , order steam scallop and oyster ; a dish not to miss . Fresh and delicious especially the steam scallop is cook with rice noodle serve straight with the shells. See pictures . The mixed meat dish is tenderly cook and must try the chicken and the duck. Great service from the staff complete our meals .

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank ftjl1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your four stars review. We appreciate it very much that you have written us about your experience in our restaurant.

In your review you mentioned that you enjoy our fresh steamed fish, mixed meat, chicken and duck. It is very good to read that the great service from our staff complete our meals.

I will share your positive findings with our team. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours. They take great pride in their service efforts!

We look forward welcoming you soon.

Thanks again for your help!

In the name of Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam
Brigitte van Cromvoirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 361 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2016

When in A'dam you need to visit Oriental City for your Dim Sum lunch. Its right behind the red light district and chinatown. It has 3 floors and it's always busy. The service is quick and friendly and the food taste really good. Almost HK style. The only two negatives are the pricing (expensive) and the fact it has no elevator. I had to carry my baby chair to the 2nd floor.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SimaQ135
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Dear Customer,

We are very delighted with the four stars review on TripAdvisor.

We glad to be informed that you appreciate the DIM SUM and service. It was our pleasure to have served you!

We will share your remarks about the price and no elevator with the management. It helps us to make positive changes.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

In the name of Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam
Brigitte van Cromvoirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

My first visit was in the late 70s, (Ocean City). I was told that Chinese restaurant owners were going there on their day-off to have dinner with their family. For over 40 years I have been a regular client. My favorite dish is "steamed turbot", very fresh from a tank. But also the steamed oysters and scallops are delicious. Try to get a table near the windows, always a nice view to see the people passing by. For bigger groups I suggest a round table. And during lunchtime I can recommend the "dim sum". The place is always busy but they can always squeeze you in.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BenBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate it very much that you have written us about your experience in our restaurant.

We are very delighted to hear that you are visiting our restaurant for more than 40 years which gives your review a special meaning for us. Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam has existed more than 30 years having an excellent reputation. The ingredients used in our meals are of the best quality and the service is of the utmost importance. Our main wish is that the guests enjoy the food and ambiance in our restaurant.

We received a lot of reviews about DIM SUM and other dishes. Not much is said about our delicious fresh fish specialties such as steamed turbot, oysters and scallops. We are very delighted to hear it from you! And we hope you will spread out this experience with everyone you know

I will share your positive findings with our team. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours. They take great pride in their service efforts!

We look forward welcoming you soon.

Thanks again for your help!

In the name of Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam
Brigitte van Cromvoirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

My father, who was in Amsterdam 50 years ago, insisted that we try a Chinese restaurant in Chinatown because he had good experience back then.

I was not expecting much, we had dinner at Oriental City.

I was shocked, as the food was authentic and quite good. Mind you, it's not Hong Kong level, but given it's thousands of miles away, this is pretty surprising.

The clientele is mostly Chinese and the staff spoke Cantonese (good sign).

We had 4 dishes and my parents, who are quite critical regarding Chinese food, had no complaints. That's quite unusual.

It's a little more pricey than what I expected, but nothing extraordinary compared to other restaurants in Amsterdam.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Godwin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Dear Customer,

We are very delighted with the four stars review on TripAdvisor.

What a nice suprise that your father have insisted you to visit our restaurant and you enjoyed the authentic food and our service!

Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam has existed more than 30 years having an excellent reputation. The ingredients used in our meals are of the best quality and the service is of the utmost importance. Our main wish is that the guests enjoy the food and ambiance in our restaurant.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

In the name of Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam
Brigitte van Cromvoirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

If you like to have nice Dim Sum, this is the place. They do Dim Sum only during the lunch time unfortunately.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank junevarkevisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Dear Customer,

We are very delighted with the four stars review on TripAdvisor. We glad to be informed that you appreciate our DIM SUM. It was our pleasure to have served you!

We are looking forward to your next visit!

In the name of Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam
Brigitte van Cromvoirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oriental City also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Oriental City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.