We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's as good as it gets”

Chocolaterie Pompadour
Ranked #9 of 102 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$8
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It's as good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

The coffee and pastries and candies are incredibly beautiful and delicious.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    78
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had lasted visited this chocolaterie 12 years ago and wondered if we would be able to find it again. We were pleased that we did! It is a tiny place but the staff give a big welcome. The chocolates and cakes on offer are WONDERFUL! We are hooked on the chocolate coffee beans and the hot chocolate drink! It is not cheap - but worth every euro!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I was walking on the street and decided to enter to eat something. Ordered the daily salad and was really happy. First the lovely lady brought some nice brown bread and then the salad. Everything was fresh and it had a very special taste. The following week I went there again and ordered the salad one more time. One day I really want to go back just to try the amazing pastries that they have there too

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AMFHMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Sadly this little chocolate shop was fairly close to the hotel so having been in once to sample the goods we were drawn back a few times to add to the holiday calories. Though I'm not the biggest chocolate fan in the world, I can honestly say I have never tasted a better Florentine in my life, and it quickly became a daily treat. They're not the cheapest - about 2.5 euros each, but they're larger than the usual Florentine offerings over here, about the size of a saucer, and combine the best chocolate, fruit and caramel to create an amazing crunchy yet gooey experience. Amsterdam has lots to offer but Choclaterie Pompadour was right up there with the best of them.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fussyduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Chocolate heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The Pompadour is a heaven for sweet-freaks like myself. The selection of cakes and bonbons is delightful and should be enough to sate anyone. The prices are Amsterdam prices, but this is really to be expected from a high-quality place such as this. Will definitely visit again and again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chocolaterie Pompadour also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Chocolaterie Pompadour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing