We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet”

Chocolaterie Pompadour
Ranked #11 of 106 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sweet”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A nice and classic chocolatier and pastry place with good coffee. Staff is mature and fits perfectly in the classic shop. Friendly service makes you wonder if you are in the busy part of town or not. Nust visit place

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RemcoV533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    78
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Possibly the best cakes ever!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This small but lovely cafe sells the most delicious cakes and chocolates. The lemon tart is to die for. It's not cheap but definitely worth the treat. They also have a lunch room on Kerkstraat for great savoury sandwiches.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FaeBonnieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Let The Aroma Pull You In and The food Keep You In”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I love Pompadour - I always stop by here when I am in Amsterdam - for lunch, for coffee and a sweet treat, or just to lust after the del ices in the display case up front.

Grab the tiny table out front if you can and watch the crowds pass by - it's a fun corner to sit on with lots of passersby to look at and dream up stories about.

And the food will not disappoint. Excellent sandwiches and filling soups. And did I mention the Sweets?!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Center, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Let us eat Chocolate”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stopped there for the chocolate that came recommended from a family friend. Bought handmade chocolate to take with us! Delicious. Many varieties of handmade chocolate. Dark, Milk, White. Worth the Price.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fine patisserie with chocolate delights”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We shared a slice of chocolate mousse cake - it was creamy and delicious with a huge curl of solid chocolate decoration. My wife had tea (she was offered a bowl with a wide selection of tea bags to choose from) while I had hot chocolate (something told me that I should have that rather than my usual coffee).

The hot chocolate at Chocolate Patisserie Tearoom Pompadour is exquisite. I was so taking with it that I asked if I could buy whatever it was they made it with. One of the very helpful staff showed my a cardboard carton of Valrhona liquid chocolate - wow! - but I ended up buying a box of Valrhona cocoa. Mix that up with hot milk and a little sugar and you get one delightful cup of hot chocolate.

Our drinks were each accompanied by a scrumptious, fresh mini financier cake. Great touch and they are available to buy separately.

A great place to visit, though it is small and popular - I recommended queueing a while if necessary.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank longbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chocolaterie Pompadour also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Chocolaterie Pompadour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing