We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
XO Hotels Blue Square
Ranked #162 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Stayed 3 days in this hotel recently and it was great. The staff were friendly and the room was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was also good.

Was taking taxi to and from center and that costs ca 20euro each way. You can take the tram if you dont mind and that costs only 2euro each way and public transportation tickets can be bought at the reception. I also read somewhere that you can rent bicycle there or nearby which I will be doing in my next stay here.

When I was checking out and had like 6-7hrs before my flight went I asked them to store my luggage in the hotel meanwhile, although I was no longer a guest staying there this was no problem and was sorted swiftly.

Going out one night I asked a reception guy or hotel manager or whatever standing near the reception desk where I could find different places and upon returning to the hotel again he was greeting me at the door, I was so stoned coming back I dident hear him at first so he stopped me at the door asking me if I found these places I was looking for and was extremely helpful and positive.

Overall one of the best hotels Ive stayed in. Great, helpful and serviceminded staff with great and affordable rooms that has nice bathroom and very comfy beds, tea/coffee making in room and also controlable aircon thing in room you can configure as much as you want.

Im going back to Amsterdam in little over a month again, although last time I was there was my first time in Amsterdam I will still most likely be going back to the excact same spot again over any other because I know this one is great, its nice comfy and has affordable price.

Thank you for giving me a great stay at your hotel and a positive expirience.

Best regards! Until next time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Finn
1  Thank Kristoffer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,198 - 1,204 of 2,025 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2011

I would certainly recommend the hotel. Good sized rooms that were well cleaned daily. Very comfortable bed and extra chairs in the room. Little short on hanging space if you are there for a longer period (we were struggling at 4 nights) but other storage available. The location was a concern but it turned out fine. We got a Connexion transfer from the airport (book a return - great value at 50 Euro for 2) and getting into the centre of Amsterdam or any of the other districts is very easy using the excellent tram system. Do not let location put you off. We had breakfast in the hotel (included in price) and it was a reasonable spread although not extensive. It was replenished regularly right up till the last time of admittance. Hotel staff very helpful with sights and directions and even provided some money off vouchers for some of the attractions we visited.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkBStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We originally booked another hotel but changed to this one, the service we received was excellent. The room was comfortable and clean. One of the best hotel beds we have ever slept in!!!!
Breakfast was of excellent choice and quality.
Staff were more than helpful and friendly Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

A quick review, but a superb hotel! Everything we needed was catered for and a great base for visiting all of Amsterdam's attractions! I will be booking this hotel again the next time I visit!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

This was not the hotel we originally booked for our stay in amsterdam as after reading awful reviews about our original hotel we decided to book a different place to stay.
We arrived at the hotel at around 9:30pm and were greeted by friendly staff who were very helpful when we had questions about getting into the city centre.
Our room was very clean and comfortable. We were shocked at how nice the room was for the amount we paid. The room was cleaned and the towels changed daily.
On our first night, there was a broken lightbulb in the bathroom which was fixed the next day without us having to ask.
Although the hotel is a little way out of the city centre, there are trams and buses which run regularly and are always on time so don't let distance put you off.
Our only issue was when it came to leaving. The hotel offer a taxi service to the airport and we booked our taxi the night before we were due to leave. After checking out and waiting quite a while for our taxi, a member of staff at the hotel asked what time our taxi was booked for and when we said it was 5 minutes late, phoned the taxi company to check where our taxi was. She informed us that they didnt have us on their list but they would be here as soon as possible. This was not the hotels fault, more a case of people getting their wires crossed.
This hotel was not our original choice. After reading awful reviews on our original booking we decided to change to this hotel and we are so glad that we did.
We had a fabulous stay and would definately return to this hotel in the futre.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancescaDent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Lovely hotel couldn't fault it one bit just a little out of the way from the centre. However it is more than easily reached by trams & buses outside the hotel.Fab weekend away and the Dutch are some of the nice people i have ever met!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstyNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I've been at the Blue Square for three weeks on business, leaving for weekends only and then back on Sundays, and my experience is largely positive.
First thing, this hotel delivers an overall 4-stars experience at 3-stars price if you catch the right offer; it is well served by public transportation; it has a strict non-smoking policy; and it offers free wireless connectivity, which is a huge plus (although signal may become weak and spotty at times in some rooms). Keep in mind the surroundings are not exciting (to say the least).
I've been in different rooms and they were all spacious, comfortable and very quiet; south wing may be noisier due to road traffic, and those featuring big windows require some extra heating (just crank it up a little).
I've had some weird moments too. At checkin time on a Sunday evening I've once been given a room that smelled like an entire army had been smoking inside it all day long, and I've had it changed promptly on request. Later the same week I entered my room in late afternoon only to find out someone had been smoking inside it (!), again had to report to the manager who immediately offered to change it or have it cleaned with a spray (I chose the latter and it worked); still have to understand who the smoker was... I can only assume it's been the chamber maid. And lastly I've been given a room where climate control was broken (fixed the day after) and the desk had no chair (brought immediately on request).
I have to underline the staff has always been helpful and nice while solving those minor issues. Albeit not perfect, this hotel can't possibly be beaten thanks to its outstanding price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DriftSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.1 mi away
XO Hotels Blue Tower
XO Hotels Blue Tower
#177 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,894 reviews
2.1 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,000 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
3.1 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#128 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,387 reviews
1.2 mi away
XO Hotels Park West
XO Hotels Park West
#66 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XO Hotels Blue Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XO Hotels Blue Square

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Blue Square Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £33 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — XO Hotels Blue Square 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XO HOTELS BLUE SQUARE takes its name from the striking building in which it is located. All, in 2017 renovated, hotel rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free Nespresso coffee/tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Schiphol Airport, the RAI Convention Center, the port and Passenger Terminal Amsterdam (cruise ships) can be reached within 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your XO Hotels Blue Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing