We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place for the money spent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
XO Hotels Blue Square
Ranked #163 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel because other places were full. Hotel is an older property located away from the city in a residential neighborhood. Best part of the room was the shower! Excellent hot shower! Owners worked on the property and talked to customers during breakfast, which was also decent. There are several trams that stop a block away and can take you to Central area in about 20 minutes. Out sttay was OK nothing extraordinary, but good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nishendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

908 - 914 of 2,014 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

we were surprised how far the hotel is from city center, do not beleive what is written - it takes 20-30 minutes each direction !!
the location is in a neigbourhood of imigrants and the facilities are basic.
the room looked old but huge :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

It may seem slightly off putting on the outside, however very nice, clean and modern on the inside. Very friendly reception staff, with very good English! Quiet bedroom, no noise during the evenings. Room located over the river with a nice view. Free wifi available to all hotel customers (able to pick up in bedrooms too). Great access to the city centre and the airport. Trams 7 and 14 and bus 21 go to the city centre, with bus number 69 going to the airport, all arriving every 10 minutes up until around midnight. Good to buy a GVB ticket for the length you are staying as works out cheaper (e.g 72 hour pass = 16 euro) and a single ticket is 2.80 euro.
Great place to stay!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 161, good view, nice and quiet, can pick up wifi, double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ESteele02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The front desk staff (most of them) really need to learn the meaning of "courtesy" and what it means in the hospitality industry. I was told, very rudely, that I was being difficult because I insisted that I would like to clear all my payments and complete all the paper-work for check-out at 11:30pm, since I had an early flight to catch the next morning.

We were booked into this place because our hotel of choice during the IBC was full. We had had a similar bad experience the last time as well - but unfortunately forgot to tell our office to avoid booking us here another time... so, here we were again. The last time we stayed here we were told that our room was "not yet ready" at 9:20am in spite of having paid an extra day's rent in order to have our room available on arrival. Then, after much arguing, we were reluctantly given rooms - but they were not cleaned!

The breakfast buffet is BAD and badly arranged, so that you often have to wait in a queue for 5 minutes to just get a plate! only advantage is that it is close to a Tram stop!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Although the hotel does not seem friendly on the outside, inside it is all ok. The rooms are clean, breakfast was ok and staff friendly and helpful. Back with pleasure at this hotel in Amsterdam.The lady called and negotiated with the taxi driver for a better price

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VirgilS007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here in Sept 2013 for one night. We booked this hotel since all other hotels in Dam Square/city centre were already booked. However, we didn't regret it at all. The hotel is not close to the main attractions but still convenient. From central station, you need to take bus 21 to reach this hotel, around 20 minutes in the bus. There are frequent buses that run at least till midnight. The location is safe, the rooms are quite large, clean and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmbikaRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Nice Hotel really helpfully staff clean and tidy. Good location easy to get into centre with lots of trams and buses. 14, 7' 21 easy to get too and drivers very easy to get along with. Great 3 star accommodation. If you want 5 star do not stay here.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.1 mi away
XO Hotels Blue Tower
XO Hotels Blue Tower
#181 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,874 reviews
2.1 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,939 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#110 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
3.1 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#125 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,336 reviews
1.2 mi away
XO Hotels Park West
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XO Hotels Blue Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XO Hotels Blue Square

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Blue Square Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £48 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — XO Hotels Blue Square 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XO HOTELS BLUE SQUARE takes its name from the striking building in which it is located. All, in 2017 renovated, hotel rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free Nespresso coffee/tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Schiphol Airport, the RAI Convention Center, the port and Passenger Terminal Amsterdam (cruise ships) can be reached within 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your XO Hotels Blue Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing