We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Ranked #161 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for four days and the corridor in desperate need of a vacum was never cleaned. Room was clean though. Price was decent, but they do advertice the location being a lot closer to the town senter than it is. All in all we would stay again for the good price, and easy access to public transportation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    881
    379
    122
    97
See reviews for
340
760
90
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel was okay. Good value for money I suppose. Not very central but near the trams so it was easy to get from place to place. Also very near a local market which popped up on weekends so that was fun. Staff did not seem very affable or friendly but helped nonetheless. Rooms were not bad. Breakfast and dinner were great!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaseehaJeewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

What a great experience I get from my 1st visit to Amsterdam , I spent 4 days there during early days of September 2013, the overall experience is quit good, reception team was great and very helpful in submitting info about Amsterdam , hotspots, public transportation and locations you might be interested in, one more thing might be taken in consideration , the internal entertainment within the hotel is very poor and need to be revised.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkhok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a 25 day Contiki tour and it was heaven to us. The twin bedded rooms were amazing, plus it was a bonus getting a bathroom with a full sized bathtub. We had buffet breakfast included and I could not fault it. If I am ever back in Amsterdam I would definitely stay here. The location is a bit further out from the city though but since we had transport it didn't really matter.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursetabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here in September for a few nights , hotel was nice , clean and tidy location was good but isn't in the centre so it's ok if you don't mind travelling on tram or bus and it is quite quick to get to the centre maybe about 20 mins ! We had a really good time and had no problems with this hotel staff were friendly and helpful would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamie125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The situation is good, on tram and bus routes, quiet area rooms very good. The breakfast however was very bad. All the hot food was cold, the cold meats and cheese looked like they had been put out the night before. We have just returned from a 2 night trip, and today we went out for breakfast to a lovely cafe, very fresh tasty food, how difficukt is it?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taurus1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel because other places were full. Hotel is an older property located away from the city in a residential neighborhood. Best part of the room was the shower! Excellent hot shower! Owners worked on the property and talked to customers during breakfast, which was also decent. There are several trams that stop a block away and can take you to Central area in about 20 minutes. Out sttay was OK nothing extraordinary, but good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nishendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
#181 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#123 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#169 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.2 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is an environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The hotel takes its name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has laid down that the building may only be painted in the characteristic blue color. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free coffee/tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Schiphol Airport, the RAI Convention Center, the port and Passenger Terminal Amsterdam (cruise ships) can be reached within 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing