We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square
Ranked #166 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 7 February 2014

+ Great value
+ Good clean rooms/bathroom and everything worked
+ Car parking
+ Friendly staff
+ Good breakfast

- Location, bit out of town.

So overall a positive experience. Would I stay again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthurh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,975)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 1,975 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

Located around 20 minutes from City Centre by tram, hotel was modern and comfortable the rooms were large and clean. We opted to book breakfast on our two night stay after reading reviews, slightly disappointed with the hot buffet option simply because it wasn't hot more luke warm however the continental option was extensive so all in all was good value. We have stayed in several Great Western Hotels and they never fail to offer good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed at the Blue Square Group of friends came with me, had lots of fun; was a boiling hot summer, so AC was good inside with a boiler room outside. Just be careful about some of the stores in the neighbourhood that may try and scam you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Markus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here as part of a contiki tour in December 2013. Had a single room. Bathroom very modern and clean, bed super comfy and thermostat/air con was great - very important during the winter!!

It seems far out of town but only a 10 min cab ride from the red light district and city centre. Amsterdam is a surprisingly small town!!

Breakfast was great. Probably the best one we had in all of Europe. Serving a full hot breakfast including bacon and eggs is a rare thing on the continent!!

Good security, you must swipe your card to get into the area where your room is and then again to get into your room. Although this was a bit difficult with lots of luggage!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank celuloiddreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Got a special deal through Wowcher, for a 2 night stay in Amsterdam, staying at the Blue Square Hotel.

Yes, the hotel is out of town, but it literally takes 15-20 on a tram and its nice to sit and watch the scenery as you travel through the various streets. We got tram number 13 from Dam Central which dropped us off just round the corner from the hotel. You can also get tram number 14 from the bottom of the street back into Dam Central. When we left the hotel to go back to the airport, we caught the 69 bus which took about 30 mins.

Check-in was quick and efficient (dont forget you have to pay local taxes when you arrive, but for a 2 night stay, our "bill" was 3 euros!!). Our room was on the first floor, overlooking the canal.

Room was spacious, nicely furnished and the bathroom was huge, clean and the shower was lovely. Hairdryer in the room was also good. The beds were like a memory foam and were very difficult to get out of every morning, they were so comfy!!

We paid for breakfast upfront (it wasnt included in the Wowcher deal) for 10 Euros (I think it was 12.50 Euros if you didnt book in advance)...restaurant is nicely laid out, with a choice of fruit, croissants, toast, continental or hot (bacon, sausage, eggs, mushrooms). The orange juice was really tasty...like they'd freshly squeezed a load of oranges!

All in all, for the money we paid, the hotel was lovely. If you want a hotel nearer town, then this probably isnt the hotel for you. But we quite liked being a little bit "out" of town.

Would definitely stay again if we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SandraAngmering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel, the rooms were nice and fairly standard. The staff were helpful providing direction for the handy tram/bus service to downtown and airport, both about 20-30 min travel. The area the hotel is located in is quite suburban with a middle eastern heritage so good restaurants and there was a market in the parking lot of the small mall nearby

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel whilst on a contiki tour. Beware it is a contiki hotel so for families it may not be the most desirable option. Our group was not that loud so it wasn't too bad, but I know some groups can be pretty bad. It was a decent hotel, clean rooms, good buffet spreads for breakfast and dinner. About a 15 minute tram ride from all the action.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jareth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Blue Tower Hotel
Best Western Blue Tower Hotel
#181 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,842 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
3.1 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#125 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#37 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,374 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#112 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,469 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Blue Square Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £61 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is an environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The hotel takes its name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has laid down that the building may only be painted in the characteristic blue color. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free coffee/tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Schiphol Airport, the RAI Convention Center, the port and Passenger Terminal Amsterdam (cruise ships) can be reached within 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing