We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very central, but good value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Ranked #160 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not very central, but good value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

A 20 minute tram-ride to Dam square, but good value. Clean rooms, very good breakfast and helpful friendly staff members.
It's worth while to pack up for day trips into the city, as the ride to the hotel and back is not a simple skip, but the city is very easy to get around, so that proved like a lot of fun any way!
A good place to stay if you want to save some money :)

Room Tip: Any room is good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linis_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    871
    377
    121
    95
See reviews for
336
751
89
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We got this hotel as part of an Easyjet package & we were pleasantly surprised. Good size room & facilities, and staff were great, very helpful & approachable! Only downside is location. It's about 25 mins on tram to centre of Amsterdam and about the same to the airport. But travel passes can be picked up fairly cheaply & used on all transport which is quite regular so we were happy.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaRH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

very clean. pretty good location. easy access to city.

TRAM 14 towards FLEVOPARK - that takes you too amsterdam square (you can get anywhere from here easily.

TRAM 14 towards SLOTERMEER - that takes you from the centre back to the hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Hadleigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Very nice on the inside and has a bus stop right around the corner. Only bad thing was that the shower leaked. Otherwise a great hotel to stay right outside the hustle and bustle of the city. The staff was very accommodating and friendly

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Excellent hotel, truly good value for money. I'm 18 and stayed here late Jan 14 with my boyfriend for 4 nights and it was an excellent base from which to explore the city. The trams and buses are frequent and very easy to use, going fairly late into the night for those of you who are also keen to sample the nightlife!
Kind and welcoming staff, good breakfast, clean room although the windows were very dirty- a shame because we had a nice view of the canal.
I would (and have!) recommended this hotel to a friend- do not be put off by its distance from the centre!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed for 4 days in November, we arrived in the evening and took the bus directly from the airport to the hotel, buying our 4 day travel tickets from the tourist information centre in the airport. We were worried about missing our stop but after about 10-15 minutes on the bus we saw our hotel, not hard to miss because it's big and blue) and got off at the stop just around the corner.
The staff were friendly and helpful, providing us with a map of amsterdam and an information sheet on which trams to take to get to different sites. Our room was a nice size, clean, with nice toiletries and an in-room safe. We had breakfast each morning (its cheaper if you pre-book it at reception the night before) There was plenty provided, both hot and cold and there is something to suit everyone, definitely enough to fill us up before a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

What a fantastic stay we had, on arrival the reception staff were ready to help straight away and gave us information and maps on the local area and what we could do. The were on the first floor in a three bed room facing the lake and it was beautiful to wake up to every morning. The room was tidy and spacious and had everything you needed only downside is that we now find our own bed a massive disappointment because the beds at blue square were so unbelievably comfortable you just sank into them and had a great nights sleep. 2 English channels on tv which was great. They gave us new towels, toiletries and toilet roles in a bag every day as we put the do not disturb sign on to enjoy a sleep in. We didn't use the restraunt at night but we did have breakfast included in our stay which I think was pretty good don't get me wrong the bacon and sausages ect isn't your full English but I guess your in a different country you shouldn't expect it, anyway I got by just fine on the croissants, muffins and jam on toast. All in all this was a fantastic stay in Amsterdam made by the hotel being so comfy and friendly. Ideal location for a 15 minute tram ride into Amsterdam. Quiet and laid back atmosphere but with elegance and class aswell.

Room Tip: Rooms at back have lake view and waking up to the sun on the lake in the morning is beautiful. Tripl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kate240192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
#183 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#122 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#163 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
1.5 mi away
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#157 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is an environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The hotel takes its name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has laid down that the building may only be painted in the characteristic blue color. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free coffee/tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Schiphol Airport, the RAI Convention Center, the port and Passenger Terminal Amsterdam (cruise ships) can be reached within 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing