We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
XO Hotels Blue Square
Nearby Hotels
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$378
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,092)
Filter reviews
2,092 results
Traveller rating
454
957
428
146
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
454
957
428
146
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrecontiki tournumber busmin tram ridetrams and busesnice hotelpublic transporttravel cardbuffet breakfastresidential areanice staytwo single bedswould stay againclose to the hotelbooked this hotelshort breakcentral station
Filter
Updating list...
849 - 854 of 2,092 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We are an Indian family. While on vacation, we use hotel for bed and breakfast. So we prefer a no frills experience. There aren't many places that comfortably accommodate 4 in a room. But This one does, is inexpensive and really large rooms in an otherwise expensive city. The exterior and reception are bit run down. It's in residential area ..and area around the hotel is not plush. but absolutely nothing wrong with the rooms and the hotel. This particular hotel is far from the main station and dam square. It's between Sloterdijk and Amstedam stations. but is well connected by tram / bus on either side. Couple of nice restaurants (including one on the lake) around and a supermarket in the mall next door. We bought Amsterdam 3 day ticket and used the bus / tram network to the fullest. Breakfast is good, has variety and cheerful waiting. in all, quite happy with the value for money.

Room Tip: While in Amsterdam, Don't forget an evening ride in Tram # 2 upto Vondelpark and back. it'll take you through all key areas.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anand2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shihotelgroup, Front Office Manager at XO Hotels Blue Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Anand,

thanks for submitting a review at tripadvisor.
We are happy to read that you had a good stay in our hotel.
Hoping to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Best Western PLUS Hotel Blue Square Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We decided spontaneous to spend a weekend in Amsterdam and were shocked about the hotel rates we found for the hotels downtown. Even mean hostels with higher three digits rates. We were about to cancel the trip when we found this hotel half way to the airport. Great room, secured and reasonable parking in the hotel's underground garage and good location in a lifely neighbourhood. Tramway near the hotel to bring you directly downtown, and for the party goers there is even a night bus available.
We will definitely come back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bkkfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

first main dissatisfaction .... location! Not to friendly neighbourhood. By night with my 5-year old you do not feel really safe.
Food was - really nothing special. Not what you would expect for a 4-star hotel. No fridge in the room. It was expensive for this type of the hotel.
I do not recommend this hotel.

BR.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MatjazW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shihotelgroup, Front Office Manager at XO Hotels Blue Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear MatjazW,

thanks you for reviewing our hotel.
It is pity to read that you did not have the stay you expected to have.
The hotel is located outside the city centre but as you might have experienced,
connections are pretty good and quite frequent.
At the end Amsterdam is rather a big village then a huge metropole.
I feel very sorry for you not feeling safe walking around the hotel at night with your 5 year old child. We do whatever is within our opportunities to make the neighborhood as safe as possible.

Regarding your comment about the mini fridge I would like to inform you that fridges can be placed in the room on request. Information about this can be found in the guest directory available in each room or a call to the front desk, which is opened 24/7.

Best regards,

Best Western PLUS Hotel Blue Square
Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

When I first found out that I was staying at this hotel as part of my Contiki tour, I wasn't impressed. The bright blue exterior looked horrible and I wasn't sure about the hotel at all.
However when we arrived and checked into our room I was quite surprised. The foyer was very big and spacious that included a hotel bar on the side.

The Room - The room was great. There was enough room to move around and be comfortable with two people. The bathrooms were very clean and looked new. We got a room on the ground floor. It was great for not having to use the lifts but we couldn't leave the curtains open as everyone on the street could see in.

WiFi - Everybody loves free WiFi and this hotel has got it! I was able to use face-time on my iPad so I was really happy with that.

The Location - I found the Amsterdam metro system difficult to understand. I wouldn't have been able to find the hotel on my own. We got someone to help us find the right tram line to jump onto and the tram stopped a short walk from the hotel. If you are still confused just grab a taxi.

Overall it was a beautiful hotel just outside of the center of Amsterdam. The bright blueness of the building actually isn't that bad, as it will help you locate the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanna1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel at the long weekend "escape" to Amsterdam. I knew that hotel isn't located close to the city center but thought that Best Western 4 star would be warrant for excellent service and standard. Unfortunately disappointed in most aspects: hotel is located in strange suburbian place with nowhere to go. Bus and tram connection is ok with both stations close to the hotel but it takes 20-30 minutes to get to the city centre.
Service was average - our shower got flooded immediately and it required two hours and multiple calls to reception to send somebody to fix it. They haven't removed wet towels (that they used to dry the place) and after we came back next day and called to collect them the whole story repeated - two hours and visit of the reception was required.
Restaurant and food is ok but nothing stunning as you would expect from 4-star and last thing that nailed the rating: windows in rooms are small and you can't open them so it adds to the "cheap" feeling of the hotel.
Definitely won't stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matjaž J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews