We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blue Square Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square
Ranked #164 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blue Square Hotel”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is too far from Central Amsterdam, room was spacious and comfortable. Too expensive for such bad location. I wouldn't recommend it especially if you are traveling with children. But if you need a big room and you don't mind spending money and time on tram this hotel might work for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Inna745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    889
    386
    126
    98
See reviews for
341
768
92
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Great stay. Don't be put off by exterior. Excellent location easy train ride to Central Station. Very helpful staff. Market next door. Only downsides, poor internet, no laundry room and only Turkish food nearby. Love Turkish and Maram's across the street is fantastic; just gets old after a week. Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank alankramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were upgraded from Nieuw Slotania to this hotel and we were very happy. Nice big rooms, big bathrooms, nice quiet area and the breakfast was superb! The restaurant also hosted dinner in the evenings and while it was a small selection, we wre very happy with our meals. My main gripes are that it was quite far from anything (however the tram stopped right outside) and the reception seemed to be short staffed - once or twice we tried to chat to them and found ourselves waiting for long periods of time. But overall our experience was wonderful and I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel is ok, as every best western hotel has everything you may need. The main problem is the area, it's way too far from the central station and Central Amsterdam! One hour by tram, and the taxi there is quite expensive... The area is a bit rough people look weird at you. I do not recommend if you are there for partying, in a group of girls, if you are gay etc... But if you are Muslim it might be a good place to be!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matbonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We arrived on 5th feb this year & being our first time there, we had no idea of where we were going but upon arrival @ schipol airport we aked at an information booth & were told which bus to take, it took us pretty much to front of the hotel. It was early evening when we got to the hotel, it was about 30 mins from the airport. First impression of the hotel from the outside was nothing too special but within walking into the foyer to reception, it was great, the outside doesn't do it justice really. We were checked in with no issues, receptionist spoke fantastic english so no language problems, explained everything to us about our stay ie what time breakfast was being served & where to go it, curfew etc.The room was fantastic, couldnt fault it, there was a safe to use, great walk in shower, flat screen TV with english channels & a lovely comfy double bed.

We decided to eat at a restaurant just across the road from the hotel called 'Toetanchamon' well recommened, a bit overpriced but once you've tried the food you will see it's worth every penny.
Back at the hotel, we decided to have a few drinks at the bar which was nice but we didnt have too many as it quite expensive, & we were drinking shorts.

Breakfast the following day was great, everything you could ask for, the typical english breakfast was catered for as well as continental, plenty of fruit, yoghurts, toast & cereals.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel & certainly consider using it again, hopefully later this year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 060606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I was looking for a clean , no frills hotel which is easily accessible from both airport and Central station ( not more than one bus or tram ride away). I also didn't want to spend a bomb. The Best Western Blue Square hotel met all my requirements.

At Schiphol airport, I bought a 3 day pass for 16.50 euros. Just outside the airport is the bus stand . To get to Best Western Blue Square hotel,find the busbay for bus no 69 (frequency every15 mins) and a 20 to 25 min ride away, get off at either the Lodewijk van Deysselstraat bus stop or the Plein '40-45 '. The hotel is between the two stops ,maybe a five minute stroll from either stop. I arrived at 8.30 am at the hotel . They had a room available so gave me an early check in. The reception was businesslike and efficient . The hotel is easily accessible from Central Station ( Bus 21) from Plein '40-'45 ( about 15 mins). Or take a tram to Dam Square and change .

The locality in which the hotel is located is not posh. It is a residential area populated mainly by immigrants. Supermarkets, a couple of restaurants are near the hotel. Though I was a woman travelling alone, I did not feel uncomfortable walking around the area.

The room is a standard one - clean, some toiletries provided.No great view. Tea making facility available ( in European hotels this cannot be taken for granted). Fridge, I think, is available on payment of some extra charges.Breakfast was extra but a reasonablly good spread. The hotel has an arrangement for holding left luggage .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indiantraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Hello!
I am hearing conflicting information from management regarding having a fridge in the room. This question was answered by management who said they cannot accommodate by having a fridge in the room when I asked. Now, via a negative review on Trip Advisor, after the customer has checked-out, Management's response is that one can be placed in the room. I was initially going to book this hotel but have a few concerns.

1. Could Management please respond with some clarification around the fridge? Why does the hotel not provide fridges in the rooms when it is the 'norm' for other hotels.

2. Is the neighbourhood safe - especially at night when travelling? The hotel appears to be placed in a challenging neighbourhood.

3.I have read several reviews, and notice that many include a member of staff (behind the front desk) who appears rude and disrespectful towards customers. If this is the case, why has this not been rectified and the member of staff cautioned or given customer service care training?

A response from management would be helpful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shihotelgroup, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Cherylinca,

as replied before in several ocassions fridges can be placed in the room on request when available. This is stated in each guest direcotry in every room.
A call to the reception desk should be enough to arrange this. We are open a 24/7.

The hotel is located outside the city centre in a neighborhood called Geuzenveld.
Connections to the city centre are very good and there is a commercial centre and several bars and restaurants next door.
I would not consider this a challenging neighborhood but rather a quiet and spacious part of town which is not very known by tourist but with great potential. It is one of the greener parts in the city with a a lakes and parks at walking distance
Actually it is only twenty minutes biking (by cycle path) to downtown.

I kindly invite you to come to our hotel and experience the attitude of the staff yourself and judge us afterwards on tripadvisor because that is where review sites at the end supposed to be for.

For any additional information or question I kindly request you to send an email to : info@bluesquarehotel.nl or dail +31-20-5063717

Best regards and hope to welcome you soon.

Management and front desk team
Best Western PLUS Hotel Blue Square
Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Blue Tower Hotel
Best Western Blue Tower Hotel
#182 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#115 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#165 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.2 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square
Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Blue Square Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is an environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The hotel takes its name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has laid down that the building may only be painted in the characteristic blue color. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free coffee/tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Schiphol Airport, the RAI Convention Center, the port and Passenger Terminal Amsterdam (cruise ships) can be reached within 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing