We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Blue Square Hotel Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
XO Hotels Blue Square
Ranked #163 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed at this Hotel in February on a weekend trip to Amsterdam and loved it. The room was really lovely and of high quality. The room had a large walk in shower which was amazing! The air con in the room was outstanding and easy to use. We choose to have breakfast added on to our visit and what a great choice it was the food was outstanding and there was plenty of it! We didnt realise how far out of the city centre the hotel was but just outside is a tram stop which takes you directly into the centre and takes about 25 minutes to get there. It is a bit rough in the area the hotel is located. Would definately recommend this hotel but next time we would go closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is too far from Central Amsterdam, room was spacious and comfortable. Too expensive for such bad location. I wouldn't recommend it especially if you are traveling with children. But if you need a big room and you don't mind spending money and time on tram this hotel might work for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Inna745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Great stay. Don't be put off by exterior. Excellent location easy train ride to Central Station. Very helpful staff. Market next door. Only downsides, poor internet, no laundry room and only Turkish food nearby. Love Turkish and Maram's across the street is fantastic; just gets old after a week. Highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank alankramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were upgraded from Nieuw Slotania to this hotel and we were very happy. Nice big rooms, big bathrooms, nice quiet area and the breakfast was superb! The restaurant also hosted dinner in the evenings and while it was a small selection, we wre very happy with our meals. My main gripes are that it was quite far from anything (however the tram stopped right outside) and the reception seemed to be short staffed - once or twice we tried to chat to them and found ourselves waiting for long periods of time. But overall our experience was wonderful and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brittany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel is ok, as every best western hotel has everything you may need. The main problem is the area, it's way too far from the central station and Central Amsterdam! One hour by tram, and the taxi there is quite expensive... The area is a bit rough people look weird at you. I do not recommend if you are there for partying, in a group of girls, if you are gay etc... But if you are Muslim it might be a good place to be!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matbonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We arrived on 5th feb this year & being our first time there, we had no idea of where we were going but upon arrival @ schipol airport we aked at an information booth & were told which bus to take, it took us pretty much to front of the hotel. It was early evening when we got to the hotel, it was about 30 mins from the airport. First impression of the hotel from the outside was nothing too special but within walking into the foyer to reception, it was great, the outside doesn't do it justice really. We were checked in with no issues, receptionist spoke fantastic english so no language problems, explained everything to us about our stay ie what time breakfast was being served & where to go it, curfew etc.The room was fantastic, couldnt fault it, there was a safe to use, great walk in shower, flat screen TV with english channels & a lovely comfy double bed.

We decided to eat at a restaurant just across the road from the hotel called 'Toetanchamon' well recommened, a bit overpriced but once you've tried the food you will see it's worth every penny.
Back at the hotel, we decided to have a few drinks at the bar which was nice but we didnt have too many as it quite expensive, & we were drinking shorts.

Breakfast the following day was great, everything you could ask for, the typical english breakfast was catered for as well as continental, plenty of fruit, yoghurts, toast & cereals.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel & certainly consider using it again, hopefully later this year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 060606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I was looking for a clean , no frills hotel which is easily accessible from both airport and Central station ( not more than one bus or tram ride away). I also didn't want to spend a bomb. The Best Western Blue Square hotel met all my requirements.

At Schiphol airport, I bought a 3 day pass for 16.50 euros. Just outside the airport is the bus stand . To get to Best Western Blue Square hotel,find the busbay for bus no 69 (frequency every15 mins) and a 20 to 25 min ride away, get off at either the Lodewijk van Deysselstraat bus stop or the Plein '40-45 '. The hotel is between the two stops ,maybe a five minute stroll from either stop. I arrived at 8.30 am at the hotel . They had a room available so gave me an early check in. The reception was businesslike and efficient . The hotel is easily accessible from Central Station ( Bus 21) from Plein '40-'45 ( about 15 mins). Or take a tram to Dam Square and change .

The locality in which the hotel is located is not posh. It is a residential area populated mainly by immigrants. Supermarkets, a couple of restaurants are near the hotel. Though I was a woman travelling alone, I did not feel uncomfortable walking around the area.

The room is a standard one - clean, some toiletries provided.No great view. Tea making facility available ( in European hotels this cannot be taken for granted). Fridge, I think, is available on payment of some extra charges.Breakfast was extra but a reasonablly good spread. The hotel has an arrangement for holding left luggage .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indiantraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.1 mi away
XO Hotels Blue Tower
XO Hotels Blue Tower
#180 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,902 reviews
2.1 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,028 reviews
1.2 mi away
XO Hotels Park West
XO Hotels Park West
#68 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#114 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,557 reviews
1.6 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#168 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,117 reviews
1.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XO Hotels Blue Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XO Hotels Blue Square

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Blue Square Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £46 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — XO Hotels Blue Square 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XO HOTELS BLUE SQUARE takes its name from the striking building in which it is located. All, in 2017 renovated, hotel rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free Nespresso coffee/tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Schiphol Airport, the RAI Convention Center, the port and Passenger Terminal Amsterdam (cruise ships) can be reached within 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your XO Hotels Blue Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing