We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Amsterdam Is Amazing City and Hotel Is Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
XO Hotels Blue Square
Ranked #166 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Very clean hotel pritty close to centre easy to get to on tram 14 takes 15mins and cost about 2 euro's

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damon2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,252 - 1,258 of 1,994 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2009

when we arrived at the blue square hotel i was pleased it looked clean and tidy, but we did arrive at night it was a different story in the day time very dirty looking even the area was untidy. we went to book in the hotel lobby was clean and tidy staff was polite, we when to are room and the room was really nice, you are also by a river and that did smell and in the mornings ur woken to duck and swans the other problem we had with this brake was that it's to far from the town center and it's easy to get lost if ur not sure of the tram system we did get lost and that was scary the tram that goes in to Dam Square is number 14 tram and they are every 10 to 15 min be carefull thow the tram's are expencive u need to buy a pass that can last ur trip and any newsagents do this. i do reconmend that if ur not worryed about going to the town then ur fine but if u want the night life then get closer to the town center it's just to far there is a good resturant/ bar called tottoncarmoon not far from the hotel but that's the only good resturant there but is expencive so enjoy ur trip

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boneyemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

We stayed here while on tour with Contiki. We were very pleasantly surprised by the good accommodation. The room was very nicely and basically furnished. THe bed was THE BEST, had the best nights sleep here in all of Europe. The shower was very nice. Bathroom smallish but did the job.
Is out of town a bit, but we used the local bus at night time which seemed pretty easy.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Pip182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in late december.
It was better than it looked from the outside!

When we arrived at the hotel it looks a bit like a hostel with lots of young travellers staying there. The outside looks ok, but made me feel wary about what we would we get inside.

I was quiet surprised, the rooms were large clean and the beds were big! The rooms was a bit sparse, but I wasn't there for the room! The bathroom was a bit small but the shower was big and had a huge shower head and plently hot water!

Breakfast was ok, it was continental with enough choice to keep even the most fussy person happy.

The staff were always helpful and willin to be of service.

We did have a few issues with the safe not locking and then not unlockin the next day but this was soon sorted out.

The hotel is not in the centre of Amsterdam and you will need to take a short bus or tram trip to the centre. Which can be a bit of pain if its cold and yu just want to get to bed after a long day walking around.

This hotel is perfect for those looking to keep their budget down but still stay somewhere nice and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PeasHollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

This was an OK hotel, we are a family of 4, the hotel room was clean and reasonably large, but it was bare - a table with some chairs would have been great. The bathroom was reasonable. The hotel was quite a distance out of the city and you had to catch a bus to get in and out. If you are travelling with your family, the location of the hotel is an advantage. After you have been walking around the city all day smelling the hash, it is very pleasent to go somewhere where the air is fresh.
Amsterdam is the sort of city you visit once and never visit again, it has very little to offer - you may think that all the best artists came from there and you can visit galleries and see this great art, unfortunately none of it is there. Hotel was OK, city was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VicM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

I was moved to this hotel from Inner Hotel after some kind of "mistake" in the reservation. I was skeptical at first because Inner hotel was 2 star hotel and Blue square is 3 star hotel but they didn't charge me anything extra.
The hotel is indeed very nice, big rooms with nice furniture, lights and great shower. You can see that everything in the hotel is rather new and the breakfast served from 7-10.30 was excellent..
The staff was very helpful and they could answer all my questions regarding the city and transportation without hesitation.
I would definitely stay again in this hotel if I come to Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Srdjan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

Hotel was easy to find. Hotel reception clean and bright. Room furniture all new. Room clean. Near public transportation. Inexpensive parking.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahusarmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.1 mi away
XO Hotels Blue Tower
XO Hotels Blue Tower
#182 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,858 reviews
2.1 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,904 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#109 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#124 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,308 reviews
1.2 mi away
XO Hotels Park West
XO Hotels Park West
#62 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,952 reviews
1.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XO Hotels Blue Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XO Hotels Blue Square

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Blue Square Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £59 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — XO Hotels Blue Square 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our XO HOTELS BLUE SQUARE hotel takes its name from the striking building in which it is located. All, in 2017 renovated hotel rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free Nespresso coffee/tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Schiphol Airport, the RAI Convention Center, the port and Passenger Terminal Amsterdam (cruise ships) can be reached within 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your XO Hotels Blue Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing