We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tulipa Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Pre-arrival communication and transportation information was very good. The bus from the airport drops you a short walk from the door. Paula met us on arrival and helped with local insight into our agenda. Her restaurant recommendations in a nearby neighborhood were excellent. The canal suite is up a double flight of stairs and the bath is up another somewhat steep flight of stairs, but I think this is typical of Amsterdam. The location is a short walk to the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Concertgebouw but feels more like a neighborhood than a tourist area. Tram stops are close by to take you around the canal ring or straight through the city to Centraal station. The canal view suite made us feel like we were staying at a friend’s nicely appointed apartment. Breakfast includes an assortment of fresh fruit, cheese, artisan breads and one of Paula’s specialties like omelets or banana pancakes. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tulipa and the warm hospitality.

Room Tip: The canal suite was the size of an apartment with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed at the at Tulipa for two days.
The hotel is very well located in Amsterdam, between the Jordan area and the Museum area. I have visited Amsterdam a couple of times and this is one of the best place to be.
Plus it has a very easy access to the rest of the city thanks to a convenient Tram station very close.
Host are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast very good and definitely made of quality products.
The room was lovely, with a tasty decoration and lot of space on two levels.
Plus some small details such as the complimentary red and white bottles of wine or the Nespresso coffee machine. Small details but make you feel at home.
Great place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RueDelYvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed at Tulipa in late November, and can not recommend the B and B enough. Up until now we have always stayed in hotels but because of the great ratings and price we decided to go for this B and B. We were not disappointed. Arriving earlier than expected the room was ready and we where greated by the owner Paula who was very friendly with loads of advice for our stay. The room was the standard river view room but was large, perfectly clean and comfortable. We could not have wanted more. I really like the little touch of having dvds available to watch when you want some down time. The location of the B and B is just right, within easy walking distance of everything. We missed breakfast the first morning but managed to get up at a sensible time the second day, with everything supplied that you could need. We had a great time and if we visit Amsterdam in the future we would not hesitate to stay at this great b and b again. Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed at the Tulipa from 28th - 31st March in the canal view room. We found the hosts, Paula & Jan, friendly and helpful especially with their suggestions for meals out and transport information. Breakfasts were very good with a selection of cereals, cold meats and cheese, fresh fruit salad and yoghurt. Paula also cooks a fresh egg dish each morning, we had an tasty omelette and also smoked salmon and scrambled egg. Rooms are a good size, large comfy bed and a large modern bathroom with separate shower and cool double sink. Unfortunately we had snow and it was very cold during our stay so the balcony seating didn't get used as much as we'd hoped! We went out to the Gashouder one evening so knew that we would miss breakfast the next day - Paula left fresh fruit, yoghurt, granola and fresh milk in our room so we could get some vitamins when we finally woke up, a nice touch. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the Tulipa.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Femaleram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Situated between the museum district and the 9 streets, this guest house offers ease of access to all the sights of Amsterdam. The owners are very friendly and offer good advice on sights to see and places to visit. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is fresh and prepared on order.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous weekend break in Amsterdam for my husband's birthday. The Tulipa lived up to its 5 star rating on Trip Advisor with excellent personal service. Paula and Jan, our hosts, were very attentive from their initial greeting with tea and coffee and a quick guide to Amsterdam and all it had to offer, to advising and booking restaurants for us and generally being very plesant, accomodating and friendly throughout our stay. The room (canal view) was lovely, spacious, nicely decorated, immaculate and the large bathroom was very clean and modern. The large bed was very comfy and it was nice to be able to sit at the small coffee table and chairs, looking out of the beautiful huge canal house windows over the canals watching the hustle and bustle of Amsterdammers. The room had tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary mini bar. The breakfasts were lovely, plentiful and varied with a different hot dish each day. We had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs one day and pancakes another, delicious! Even the retro detailing in the breakfast room was a delight, including an original fully working iMac! Would definately recommend Tulipa and Amsterdam- but watch out for the cyclists, they don't take any prisoners!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JiveHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Our four night stay at the Tulipa was like a home from home experience. The canal view room we had was so large it had a full seating and dining area as well as a bed etc. This was lovely to have especially as Amsterdam was very cold when we were there and it was a pleasure to return to our room to warm up and relax without feeling you're staring at four walls. Paula and Jan were both very welcoming and gave us lots of tips on places to see and restaurants to eat. Breakfast was a lovely selection of fruits,cereals and bread with an individually cooked surprise each morning such as pancakes or eggs. We would definately recommend a stay here as this bed and breakfast is of a high quality and the location is perfect with every part of the city within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroleg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Boutique Hotel View
#102 of 374 in Amsterdam
959 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
927 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#47 of 338 in Amsterdam
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel IX Amsterdam
Hotel IX Amsterdam
#24 of 338 in Amsterdam
120 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 338 in Amsterdam
275 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#211 of 338 in Amsterdam
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulipa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulipa Bed & Breakfast

Address: Leidsekade 75, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £173 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulipa is beautifully situated on the Leidsekade allowing the most picturesque views of the Amsterdam canals. Our carefully furnished rooms offer all the facilities of a five-star hotel, but with that extra personal touch. Tulipa's location is a perfect starting point for any visitor. The Leidseplein with its theatres, bars, nightclubs and restaurants, the Museumplein with its famous museums and the PC Hoofdtstraat for incredible shopping are all within 5 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tulipa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulipa Bed And Breakfast
Tulipa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing