We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in the centre of Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #37 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This lovely canal house bed and breakfast was perfectly placed in a quiet street, yet close enough to the centre for us to reach all that Amsterdam has to offer including the museums,canals and restaurants.
We stayed in the garden room which very was spacious,high ceilings,vintage furniture and very comfortable and the complimentary wine and beer was a pleasant surprise.
The breakfast was superb with fresh fruit,cheeses and meats,eggs,smoked salmon and pancakes,all served in a room overlooking the canal.A fantastic way to start the day.
Our hosts were very welcoming extremely helpful with top tips on where to go and restaurants to try, with the two that we went to being great recommendations. Nothing was too much trouble and they even kindly printed out our boarding passes for our flight home!
We would highly recommend the Tulipa for a special weekend in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The garden room is at the rear of the house and very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAH121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

This beautiful b&b was the perfect place for us to explore the city from. Really close to the museums and near enough to the centre to enjoy the stroll back and forth. Quiet spot yet close to the action. Our room (the garden room) was so comfortable - a real home from home!

We stretched our budget a little to stay here but it was worth every penny and II'm very glad we did.

Breakfast was delicious and Paula and Jan were great hosts - thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josemaphanwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Everything was top in this lovely B&B. Welcoming hosts, 5-star breakfast, lovely room with vintage interior and king size bed. All in a central location of Amsterdam. We would like to come back some time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfredoroeselare76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our family (2 adults and 2 year boy) stayed here for a week in November 2012. It was the first stop after flying straight from Australia and first impressions with the owners was such a welcome experience. They knew we must be tired and showed us around the lovely room (on ground level with bedroom below down a little set of stairs that they had specially toddler proofed). The next day incidentally was our sons birthday and they had put balloons and made him a special seat at the breakfast room - such a nice surprise. Breakfast was great with all the Dutch specials and other items and the view from the breakfast room over the canal throughout the November cold fog was beautiful. The hosts are wonderful (a Dutchman and English lady) and will help out on anything and have great advice on directions and attractions. Will go back soon.

Room Tip: Basement bedroom is very quiet with upstairs living room for TV, couch etc
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peregrine2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

It was a beautiful, large suite in a small, family run hotel in the heart of Amsterdam.

The welcome was very warm, the hosts were very helpful. The breakfasts were amazing and different every day.

We asked for the canal view and it was definitely worth it. The three full length windows offered lots if light and a spectacular view, especially in the evening whilst enjoying the complimentary wine and beer.

While this is relatively expensive, we thought it was good value for money and would recommend it to those looking for a good base for exploring Amsterdam.

Thank you Paula and Jan!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I am overdue in writing this review since my stay was back in October 2013. The unit far exceeded my expectations. I was travelling with another couple and we wanted separate rooms, which can be quite pricey in Amsterdam. We certainly lucked out with Tulipa. The first floor had two huge bedrooms that were very comfortable. Paula prepares an amazing breakfast each morning and provided perfect recommendations for our short visit to Amsterdam. I would recommend Tulipa for anyone's visit as it is in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I spent 48 hours in Amsterdam Thanksgiving weekend. I loved my time here! Amsterdam is an easy travel city with friendly people & beautiful places. The Tulipa is centrally located and accessible by public transportation.
Paula & Jan are gracious, welcoming hosts with great tips on getting around. The room I stayed in has amazing views & was very comfortable. The pictures are exactly as I experienced. It was my first time in Amsterdam & I will return.
Highly recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: The stairs are a bit tricky the first time up & down, but I got the hang of it
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gasgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Boutique Hotel View
#92 of 371 in Amsterdam
950 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#191 of 371 in Amsterdam
336 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#58 of 371 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#55 of 371 in Amsterdam
867 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#126 of 371 in Amsterdam
453 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Weber
Hotel Weber
#56 of 337 in Amsterdam
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulipa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulipa Bed & Breakfast

Address: Leidsekade 75, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £173 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulipa is beautifully situated on the Leidsekade allowing the most picturesque views of the Amsterdam canals. Our carefully furnished rooms offer all the facilities of a five-star hotel, but with that extra personal touch. Tulipa's location is a perfect starting point for any visitor. The Leidseplein with its theatres, bars, nightclubs and restaurants, the Museumplein with its famous museums and the PC Hoofdtstraat for incredible shopping are all within 5 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tulipa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulipa Bed And Breakfast
Tulipa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing