We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Iris - overhyped reviews”
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #274 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 16 October 2012

pros-

clean rooms and fresh towels and linen everyday

good location to the centre of town

Breakfast- basic food but ok for price of stay

Wi-Fi, limited sky TV

Cons-

The NOISE was terrible. Paper thin walls and no sound proofing meant you could hear other rooms’ conversations, movements, light switches being turned on/off etc. Don’t expect a good sleep.

Though the staff were friendly enough no effort was made to replace toiletries like toilet roll, hand soap etc, and no effort was made to fix the broken safe in our room after we asked the staff to fix it.

The general quality of the rooms felt like the hotel always went for the cheapest option rather than the one that would increase customer comfort. For example the beds were uncomfortable, pillows rubbish.

Overall-

While some mod cons like the breakfast and TV were nice touches it did feel like these were to detract from the low quality beds and noisy rooms. I’ve previously stayed in the flying pig hostel and had a better night’s sleep in a similar standard of room for a much cheaper price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mplondon1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
There are newer reviews for Iris Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

I haven't enjoyed my staying at this hotel.
staying in the bedroom felt like living in a wardrobe, besides the walls are thin and you don't get a good sleep.
the toilets that you share with other people are not daily refilled of toilet paper, furthermore these are not furnished of hair dryer. during our staying one of the 2 toilets in common had no lightbulb, so it was basically out of service because it was dark.
we found out when we've arrived that you're supposed to check in a different hotel, which is Max Hotel on the other side of the river, not a practical thing if you have to go around with your luggages.
I didn't liked the breakfast neither, cheap food and bad service.
at last, one night it even happened that the fire alarm started to sound around 2 am because of the steam coming out of somebody's shower. we had to buzz the other hotel through the intercom to ask to shut it off, because the alarm system was not connected to the Max Hotel.
what's good is the position of the hotel, well serviced by tram and metro and the internet connection, it was always fast and well functioning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italian-lilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Nice location. Booking in done at Hotel Max down the road. If you do not ask and pay a deposit you don't get a remote for the TV. No lift and very steep stairs. No kettle for that early morning coffee. Very clean and fresh. Good for short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKC227124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Amsterdam
1
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I liked the location of this Hotel. The rooms were small. There was linen left under the bed and on top of the wardrobe from previous occupants. Not bad for the price though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

hotel iris was for us a perfect stay. The price was high but in relation to other hotels perfect.
Amsterdam is an expensive city and hotel iris was for us the outcome.
perfect breakfast.
advise read you info good because u have to checkin at hotel Max.
The bikes we could rent at the hotel made everything much easier for us.
staff thnx for all your help.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

We are grateful you gave us this review.

Come to visit us again. The best rates you get directly by the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We had a great time. Just renovated everyday clean linnen.
Breakfast included in the price wow.
Staff helpfull and friendly
Bike rental available at hotel
Central location in amsterdam

This place is a good value place 4u stay
Thx hotel iris

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

We are grateful you gave us this review.

Come to visit us again. The best rates you get directly by the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Very small, but clean & freshly maintained room is ok for sleeping whеn you came on city tour, but no morе. Location - 30 min. walk to the centr of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Olga Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#314 of 371 in Amsterdam
263 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#226 of 371 in Amsterdam
443 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#304 of 371 in Amsterdam
480 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#150 of 371 in Amsterdam
399 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#267 of 371 in Amsterdam
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Address: Sarphatikade 17, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £60 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Iris is set in a typical Amsterdam canal house just a 5-minute walk from the bustling De Pijp district. It is accessible by Tramline 4 or Metro lines 51, 53, 54 to the Weesperplein stop. Its smoke free rooms come with free Wi-Fi, flatscreen TV, safebox and linens/amenities. A hearty breakfast buffet is served daily from 08:00 - 10:30 for 9.50 euro/person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing