We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!”
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #276 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 14 September 2013

You should avoid this hotel if you like space (and breathing room), the rooms are ridiculously small to the point where beds have to be placed at certain angles or doors won't open. The "secret" garden is not clean and nor are the room balconies. The location and reception staff are all that is good about this hotel, the location is convenient (walking distance to most interesting places) and reception staff really friendly. The walls are paper thin so you can hear "everything" at all hours of the day and sadly night! The hot water makes an appearance (if at all) when you least expect it in the shower, and the bathrooms are so small that one has to engage in a game of twister to just get the door. Overall, would not stay here again and would not recommend either (zero value for money)!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nish v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

On behalf of the owner please contact us about this. There must be an misunderstanding on this.

We want a proper solution

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

The first contact is surprising by the narrow entrance, hall, stairs and the location of the reception in the basement. Then it is annoying by the difficulty of carrying your luggage on the tight and steep steps. Then you see that a part of the bathroom (the sink) is in your bedroom and that you can only sit on your toilet with the door open. Then you understand that what could have been a vestibule actually is the room.
And the second day you start enjoying it. It is abrupt but pleasant, with a friendly staff, a beautiful (and tiny) garden and, most important, it is in Amsterdam. You begin to understand that life is out, only sleeping is in the hotel, wisdom that is facilitated by living in this hotel. And what a life is out there!

Room Tip: Not for claustrophobics! If you cannot live in tight spaces, choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The Check-in
I was on an Interrail with my classmate and when we came to check in the guy in the reciption asked for a 110 euros even though the recite only sayed 90 euros, I asked him way and he told me it was a deposite for the key. I thought that sounded reasonable and thought I would get the money back when I gave them back the key to the room. When I wanted to pay I couldn't pay with my VISA that day aparently the system was down?!? and I hat to find a ATM. So I have no paying 110 euros.

The check-out
When we check out we couldn't get back our deposite, cause theres no deposite for the roomkey. The only deposite that excists is for the remote to the tv and when you pay that you get an extra recite on that! He never gave us the remote or the ekstra recite so when we check out the lady that day couldn't pay us back or help us other than giving us an email adresse so I could complain. I emailed the Hotel got back a auto replay after a week we never gotten any real answer so on our way back we went down to the Hotel Iris again same story again the lady that day couldn't help us either and when she looked through the email system for my complain it was gone! So I was told to email them again wich I did and after emailing with them the only thing I got out of it was that they would give a few days of free breakfest if I come back and stay there again! But I will not stay there again since they won't pay me back the 20 euro they stole from me!

About the rooms and the rest

The location of the hotel is fine I think. But the beds is horribel you are laying direktly on a spring madress with no top madress! The pictures of the outside yeard, your isn't allowed to use only in the morning if we bought breakfast!

Because of this experince this is the worst low budget Hotel I ever stayed at!

Room Tip: Don't pay a deposit for the hotel key, no such thing excist at this hotel, the only deposit ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

We take this informatio seriously and want to pay the 20 euro back. We saw in our records we paid you but we dont want to take your complaint in question.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The rooms are very small and we had problems with the booking because there was a overbooking in the week we stayed in Hotel Iris. But these two issues were definitely the only things to complain.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and finally gave us a double room. The room was clean and the bath room renovated to new. Especially in a city in that room rates are very high the Hotel Iris gives you a cheap alternative for a small wallet. As experienced, you can pay more in the city without having a better room. Hence, I have to rate this hotel that good. Yes, you won't get a luxus Hotel but anyhow. The hotel is located 10 minutes walk from the city centre. Directly located on a canal there are nice places around the area to relax. the Lidl market is one minute away. The breakfast room is very modern and there is more than enough than you can expect for that price: Coffee, tea, milk, cornflakes, fruits, different bread and rolls, various kinds of spready, vegetables and so on.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benski_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank for the wonderfull feedback. We hope to have you as guest in the future.
Our staff is ready to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for three nights.
It's a nice little hotel and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Don't choose it if you look for a modern hotel ( there is no lift, for instance).
Otherwise, it's well located. The tramway lines 4 and 25 take you right into the city centre in a few minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank François B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you very much.
Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

-Keep in mind that Amsterdam accommodations tend to be high.

- We booked this place at the last minute online and got a room for 42€ (tourist taxes included but no breakfast), dirty cheap for Amsterdam. We clearly got it on a discount but i would found it painful to pay more than 55€ for this room. This is more of an hostel than an hotel.

- GREAT location with 4 tram lines going to pretty much all the main points of interest of Amsterdam (better than centraal station), one subway line and also 2 night buses lines. We came in a car and the staff pointed out to us an area of free parking on Sunday. The "park and ride" is only 15-20 minutes away by car. 24hrs access by key card to the hotel is also very convenient.

- The room is pretty basic, hostel style, and very narrow, Amsterdam style! the stairs are REALLY STEEP and long, again a common feature in Amsterdam houses.

- For the hotel management i would point out that room 11 has a shower setting that is impossible to change, great if you like really hot showers (45°), not so if you find it a bit too hot.

Room Tip: - Older travelers should request ground floor, VERY STEEP stairs. - use extensively the official Am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillaumeowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thanks for the positive review. Room 11 is solved thanks to you. We are happy that guest are pointing this out to us. We have ne heating boilers in the hotel.

We are ready to show all the improvements and changes when u visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

It was a first and a last stay in this ugly hotel.
1st-they pretend an anticipated payment for a whole stay-of course,after the first sight you escape!
2-a room just for dolls,not humans,no comfort,no space,no table,no place for two suitcases
3-a bathroom-small,only a shower and wc;when staying at wc you kick a door,no lavatory at the bathroom
4-dirty surroundings-iI stayed in the room,where I saw old shoes and mud at the tiny roof below
Be aware of that hotel,you only waste money.Doesn't help a nice position.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malgorzata m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#314 of 372 in Amsterdam
265 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#232 of 372 in Amsterdam
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#305 of 372 in Amsterdam
484 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#148 of 372 in Amsterdam
404 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#222 of 372 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Address: Sarphatikade 17, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £51 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Iris is set in a typical Amsterdam canal house just a 5-minute walk from the bustling De Pijp district. It is accessible by Tramline 4 or Metro lines 51, 53, 54 to the Weesperplein stop. Its smoke free rooms come with free Wi-Fi, flatscreen TV, safebox and linens/amenities. A hearty breakfast buffet is served daily from 08:00 - 10:30 for 9.50 euro/person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing