We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely disgusted, would never stay here again.”
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #283 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My boyfriend and I booked to stay for 3 nights paying nearly 300€ for a room, as it was our first holiday, online as the photos of the hotel looked very clean, spacious and comfortable. When we arrived there, we learnt truly how pictures can be deceiving as we were given a room that was the same width as the height of an average man with 2 single bed squeezed into it. To get into the bathroom, you had to side shuffle and the blind for the room were very see through meaning whoever was in the back garden could see into our room whether or not they were closed. When we first complained, the receptionist claimed that she could do nothing about the room and that she would simply put a sheet over the two single bed to make it a double, which was impossible as they were 2 different heights and very uncomfortable. After a 2nd complaint on our very first day we were moved to hotel max over the road and were told by the same receptionist because of their mistake we owed them an extra 10€. The second room, despite being on the top floor, was much nicer in size, however the key failed to work 3 times meaning we were locked out and had to keep running back and forth to Iris to complain. Also my boyfriend was badly bitten by bed bugs in the new room, which did get the 10€ fee waived but wasn't taken seriously by the same receptionist.
The staff were unbelievably rude towards us and left us feeling very angry and stressed during the holiday. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy, absolutely appalling service, rooms, hygiene and staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quin92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Iris R, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hotel Iris Staff and Management would like to contribute the following information:

1. Hotel photos are in fact of our hotel. It is not possible to publicize pictures of every single room, so guests may stay in an accommodation that has not been featured on our website or through one of our online partners.

2. Accurate dimensions of guest rooms are provided on all online publications and available to potential guests prior to making a reservation. This is specifically done to avoid misunderstandings and false expectations.

3. All of our accommodations are equipped with both black-out drapes and sheer curtains. It is also not certain as to why the guest feels that their room could be looked into as the garden is on the ground floor and the guest's room was on the first. It The hotel was not informed of this dissatisfaction from the beginning of the stay until check-out.

4. The guests were upgraded to a larger room and no 10 euro fee was charged.

5. Room key cards become demagnetized when in close proximity of mobile phones or credit cards. The guests were informed of this after the first incident. They were also informed that in the event that they needed further assistance, the doorbell could be used to call Hotel Iris and avoid having to walk back.

6. When the guests claimed to be bitten by bed bugs, they were immediately offered a room move to which they declined! After several unsuccessful attempts to convince them of the severity of this claim, the guest requested to stay in the same room for the last night. With all due respect to the wishes of each individual, we found it unusual that someone would want return to a room with bed bugs.

7. Regardless of the fact that Hotel Iris is truly selective during the hiring process and prides itself on providing genuinely good service, these guests were not poorly treated. It is understandable that expectations may not have been met and that there are aspects of the hotel that can be improved. Suggesting that our team was rude due to this fact is simply untrue.

With this information we hope to have provided our past, present and future guests with a better understanding of the situation.

We encourage anyone interested in our hotel to please see all of our publications and/or to contact us directly for more information.

With kind regards from Amsterdam,

Hotel Iris Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nicolas L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We extended our stay and change to hotel Iris. Because the max was fully booked.
Very nice hotel. Good service.
Amsterdam was a great experience for us. Thanks to great service we had from Hotel Max and Hotel Iris

Room Tip: there is no swinmmingpool but tripadvisor doesnt allow me to clear it up TIP bike rental@hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

We want to thank you for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I would definitely go back to Hotel Iris, since it's cost benefit relation is very good. The staff was always helpful and the Hotel's localization is also a strength. We didn't had a big problem with the stairs because our room was on the ground floor. Although the room was small, it was still comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guilherme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thanks for the great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Lousy breakfast. No coffe. Has toilets without a basin to wash hands. Yek! Wet paint in hallway.
No proper luggage storage. No elevator, very steep stairs. Extra charge at check-out on top of price agreed in reservation. And not even cheap.
Go somewere else!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Civis56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Frist of all we had discount prices because of the construction. The sink is in THE room to wash hands. We never mentitioned anything Aboutaleb elevator. This is an historical building okt of 18 century.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very nice staff and a great location right on the canal, just a short walk to the museums and restaurants. The breakfast was pretty basic, continental style. The room was so small that it had two twin (mattresses only) beds with only 12-18 inches between them, a folding chair and a tv. No room to move around, as the width of the room was as wide as the two beds plus 18 inches. The length was just a bit longer than the beds. The bathroom, while cute, offered a toilet that you had to turn sideways to sit because there was no legroom. It was literally placed in the tile shower area! Strange design! We wondered if perhaps this was a youth hostel because it was so bare bones and tiny. If you are elderly, the stairs are very narrow and steep with no elevator. If you have heavy luggage, it presents a bit of a problem when on the top floor. But we are 18 and 51 years old and in shape so it didn't bother us. In comparison with the other hotels we stayed in around Europe the price did not match up with the accommodations at all. But, as long as you know what to expect, the location and courteous staff are great.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank musicwithleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for the review. This helps to improve our business,.

For a future visit to Amsterdam. Please book directly with us and we can grant a room with preferences as. Garden view or Canal view or groundfloor.These roomtypes are only bookable by the hotel at better room rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The hotel was clean and in a house common to Amsterdam. I was happy with the staff that was very helpful and gave good tips for places to visit and go.
The room was big and clean, not famous for luxury, but was confortable. The intention wasn't to stay in the room all day, so it covered our basics needs.
The breakfast was simple, but with variety and once more perfect for our needs of a continental breakfast and i think the breakfast price is a plus, considering other hotels in the same price range.
It was not in the center but was close to transport and the museums zone, in a quiet place.

Room Tip: If you have big bags or are not in a good fit condition, don't choose room in higher floors, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Minabomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Iris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank u very much for the review. We hope you come vist us again.


Tip: Book directly by us to have better rates or better aminities

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#229 of 374 in Amsterdam
451 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#222 of 374 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#314 of 374 in Amsterdam
267 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#305 of 374 in Amsterdam
486 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#311 of 374 in Amsterdam
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Address: Sarphatikade 17, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £51 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Iris is set in a typical Amsterdam canal house just a 5-minute walk from the bustling De Pijp district. It is accessible by Tramline 4 or Metro lines 51, 53, 54 to the Weesperplein stop. Its smoke free rooms come with free Wi-Fi, flatscreen TV, safebox and linens/amenities. A hearty breakfast buffet is served daily from 08:00 - 10:30 for 9.50 euro/person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing