We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel for single traveller” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #111 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hotel for single traveller”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Just the kind of hotel for those of you who travels alone. Affordable, only a walking distance to the major attractions especially Dam Square, a very happening place. Tram stops and bus stops are easy to reach. Though I get the feeling that smoking inside the hotel lobby isn´t forbidden cause I can smell the smoke from my room. My room was just above the entrance. Be careful with the stairs though as they are pretty steep and small.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    199
    53
    11
    9
See reviews for
47
111
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Loved it! Everything about this hotel was easy, easy to find, easy check in, easy to find our way around from this hotel as a base. It had a very comfortable bed, good tv, the room was big enough for one and the price was right. It's obviously not the Ritz, as you share toilets and showers but that fine for me. Won't stay anywhere else next time I'm in beautiful Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShoelessJoe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our whole family we decided to stay at this hotel for its location and because they had a rooms for 5 people. It is a Rock'an'Roll theme hotel with a very good location near tram and many spots. Rooms are well decorated, huge for all of us, clean bathroom and nice view to the canals. Be careful with the stairs, something common in all the houses!
The staff were great and they helped us in anyting we asked for. They have breakfast every morning, continental one that it is enough to start walking around the city.
Even the area is very central, the nights were quiet and the days we´ve been there, it was snowing giving a Xmas special touch.
If we come back to Amsterdam, we won´t hesitate to choose again BackStage! Congratulations guys.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnderWater888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I laved my stay at the backstage hotel. Rooms have really querky musical equiptment etc. Was in good location. Not a long walk from dam square. Staff were nice. Breakfast was a little confusing but that may have been because I was a bit hungover from the night before.

good time! Thanks Backstage Hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at the Backstage so that our teenage daughter could enjoy her trip to Amsterdam with her boring middle aged parents. It it fulfilled our expectations. Our daughter loved it and we had to suspend our usual critical faculties.
Backstage is a rather run down hotel aimed at under thirties. Some of the rooms are in the basement and some have shared facilities. We had two reasonably sized rooms on the top floor that was reached ascending (and also descending) four flights of almost vertical stairs. Avoid the top floor in hot weather as it will be like a sauna and is only partially alleviated by a rather ineffectual fan. The bathroom was fine but there were let downs such as a bath towel looking like it had the residue of lipstick on it and really tatty curtains that at the very least needed cleaning.
On the plus side the guys on the desk were excellent. The breakfast was very good value at six euros. The hotel is very well situated being near Leidsplein, museums and a whole area with a mass of restaurants. If you walk about ten minutes away from the centre you cross the city centre boundary and hit a local neighbourhood where apart from getting to eat better food, you get to observe real Amsterdammers at play.

Room Tip: Avoid top and basement floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steppenwolf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

My friends and I stayed here in the Jagermiester room when we were in Amsterdam siteseeing. The room had a great ambience and style to it. It had five beds, lockers, a big screen television, a table, chair, plenty of windows and a balcony. It was the perfect size for our group. The beds were fairly comfortable and the bathroom was adequate. It was a definite plus to have a bathroom and shower in our room. The staff was friendly and we were able to get drinks from the bar on the first floor whenever we wanted. We were also able to rent bikes from Mikes Bike Tours so everything seemed fairly close to the hotel as well. Overall, it was a good experience and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely go with a group and request the Jagermiester room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MannyFromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here twice. Location:a few minutes walk to the Leidseplein, with lots of shops, bars, concert halls, tourism office with shorter lines than the one at the train station, and the main entertainment district. Very convenient to tram and bus. A 10 minute walk to Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum, and Heineken Experience. No red light type stuff in this area so it is more family friendly, also. Front desk staff could not be more helpful, Hans especially is a peach of a guy. A small but tall place, lots of steep, narrow steps. If you don't like steps, request the first floor and you will only have one flight. Reception area has funky but fun room that serves as breakfast room (buffet with breads, egg, cheeses, jams, etc. served on the pool table), a cute little bar for guests only, and has musical instruments on the walls, which you are allowed to play. Most rooms sport brand new bathrooms, yes the rooms are basic and functional but with musical decor: the lampshades are drum-heads, the chairs are equipment trunks. My room was clean, functional, modern-ish, and absolutely fine considering the price. A good place for younger people. I brought my students here twice as it is an excellent price, staff is very helpful, it is clean, near museums and nightlife, and it's a bit different and unique. You can't walk with bags from train station, you'd want the tram 1, 2, or 5). And, you have to ask at the desk for a hair dryer, which is no big deal. Oh, the water from the shower may get on the floor as there is little threshold between them, however this can happen in fancier places as well. The automatic bathroom light kept cutting off during my shower, but I reported it and they said it would be adjusted. Not a big deal during the day but at night it would be problematic. Overall I would recommend the Backstage to cost conscious travelers who don't mind stairs, and appreciate a place that is a bit unique.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gr8ful47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#78 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#39 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#86 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
377 House - Amsterdam
#35 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#143 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#104 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BackStage Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Property: BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — BackStage Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BackStage Hotel Amsterdam is a small hotel next to the venues Paradiso and Melkweg, next to the Leidseplein. All rooms offer LCD TV, Alarmclock radio, I-pod dock, Free WIFI and FlightCase Furniture. The hotel is staffed 24/7. We do not have an elevator. Specialties for musicians on the road. @ the bar you'll find a pool table and instruments which you can play on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BackStage Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing