We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Family with Teens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #117 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for Family with Teens”
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Traveling in Europe with 3 boys, all over 6', and with huge appetites can be expensive! This place was a great find! We were all able to sleep in ONE room, we all had beds and there was still pace to walk in the room!

Musical stuff every where -- very fun!

Staff was super and very helpful.

Located on a canal and within walking distance to various kinds of transportation.

Breakfast had a great variety and filled the boys.

Parking was located a bit away, but my husband and son were given bicycles that they rode back to the hotel. It was a positive experience for them.

Over all a great place to stay!

Only negative -- this is supposed to be a nonsmoking hotel, but I think there was people smoking in their rooms because we could smell it, we just couldn't pin point the location. It would be nice if the staff were more vigilant where this is concerned.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSaenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    203
    55
    11
    10
See reviews for
48
113
52
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We stayed at the backstage for a weekend in Amsterdam and the location is excellent. Its right next to Leideseplein, and you can reach the clubs and museums within mins. The staff was helpful, and use of the computer was free in the lobby. The bathrooms were shared, which is annoying, but the twin room was a good size with a flat screen tv.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roczberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2009

I stayed at the Backstage with two friends to celebrate our 40th birthdays, we are all mums travelling on a budget who expect a nice clean room and bedding, we got that plus more. the staff were great, very friendly and helpful, and the rooms and rest of the hotel were perfectly clean, and a brilliant central position.

  • Liked — cleaniness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 40isgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

My wife and I booked a three nights stay here in June, and we booked it on the strength of the room style. The instructions on how to get to the hotel from the airport were very good, and the hotel is located very close to the Leidseplein.

The hotel itself is a very typical Dutch house in Amsterdam, tall and narrow. Check in was very easy, as most people in Amsterdam speak very good English, and we were given a room on the 4th floor. The only bad thing about this is that there is no lift at the hotel and the stairs are narrow and steep, so it is not a good prospect for those who struggle with heavy luggage.

The decor of the room is superb, everything from the drum kit light, to the drummer chair, and rockstar table with lights. Not only that, but there is an iPod radio alarm clock in the room, and all rooms have free Wi-Fi access (just ask for the login details at reception). The room itself is not that big, but if you are only using it for sleeping before seeing and partaking in the sights of Amsterdam then it is quite good.

This is a hotel that my wife and I would recommend to anyone wishing to stay in a modern, yet different hotel, in Amsterdam in a quality location.

  • Liked — The decor of the room
  • Disliked — No lift
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Smoolander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#79 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#87 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#110 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#135 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#47 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BackStage Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Property: BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — BackStage Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BackStage Hotel Amsterdam is a small hotel next to the venues Paradiso and Melkweg, next to the Leidseplein. All rooms offer LCD TV, Alarmclock radio, I-pod dock, Free WIFI and FlightCase Furniture. The hotel is staffed 24/7. We do not have an elevator. Specialties for musicians on the road. @ the bar you'll find a pool table and instruments which you can play on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your BackStage Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing