We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really good find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #117 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A really good find!”
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night in the first week of October. The Hotel staff greeted us with friendliness, advice and were very forthcoming with any information about the area. Our room was immaculately clean and the decor was awesome. The shared bathroom was also really clean and allayed all my fears about sharing with others. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the centre and red light district etc but really close to the liedseplein and we had an amazing time there! In the morning we missed the breakfast because all the other guests (bands) had been up earlier but this was not a problem for the guy behind the desk who rustled up a fantastic continental breakfast for us in no time. The hospitality from the crew at the backstage is outstanding, laid back and second to none. We will never stay anywhere else in dam.

Also the information book in our room was very extensive and extremely helpful.

The only negative was that the front door lock wasn't working properly, but we were able to buzz reception and they let us in. I really felt like nothing was too much trouble for them! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissyMetcalfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    203
    55
    11
    10
See reviews for
48
113
52
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

It seemed to be a good idea as we considered the previous comments.
In reality, we paid the first night 75€ for a 16m² room with shared bath-room (and we didn't care about sharing the facilities). But the second and third nights, we were overcharged for 25€ per night, so 100€ per night for the same kind of room, 3 higher floor., and not bigger. Considering the difficulty of "climbing" the dutch stairs, it shouldn't be an overcharge, but a discount that we should have.
We missed the only "concert" as we were not informed about the representation. And the recommandation about other place where to hear music were wrong as the places were closed...
As I see in the other comments, discuss the rates the lower you can as nobody should pay more than 70/75€ for a room in this hotel.
Some other hotel in the city offer lower rates for the same kind of accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frdleroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We got here i think 3 weeks ago and were welcomed by very freidnly staff.
Location is perfect with a view of the canal. The room was quite small but good enough if considering the rate that the hotel is charging us.

The breakfast was more than I expected, really tasty ! They served drinks in the bar 24h, impressive ! (especially for yound traveller)
And only a short cab will take you to the red light district
So no complains and regret at all for this place.
Although i will advice to confirm the booking with them in advance.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Listechie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Hotel is about a 20 minute wall from the main square but right next door the van gough museum. Quite expensive place to stay but rooms are clean and nicely decked out with the music theme. The hotel has no lifts and the stairs are almost vertical!! Had a few problems when we first got there i.e the bed being broke, however they did change it (the next day!). Would stay a little bit closer to dam square next time but overall the hotel is fine for a few nights.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davexr2i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Georgia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We got to Amsterdam late and had to take this hotel. Room was very interesting but bathroom plumbing stunk. Must have had a vent problem. The room was expensive but comfortable. Narrow (typical for the city) winding stairs that simply wore us out going up and down. Staff was very helpful. Only stayed one night but it served its purpose. Not a bad experience but stay was too short to provide a detailed review.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCollyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We came to Amsterdam with friends to party for 3 days. Backstage was the best place to stay! it was really well priced, the rooms were fun, clean, and newly done up. We loved the sense of fun at Backstage, the entire hotel is designed to look and feel like you are backstage, the lighting the red walls the drum kit all added to the novelty of the hotel. We definitely had rockstar moments!
The other thing we were very impressed with were the staff, anything was possible, they were great and so helpful, nothing was a problem, they were full of excellent advice from local gigs to the best breakfast around the corner.
If you want something a bit different stay at Backstage, we will be going back again! great hotel!! Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dekes82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

I stayed for one whole year here whilst working under contract nearby and the owner and his staff could not have done more to assist and serve me well from the very start.

There was never once a time I felt overlooked or ignored. The building is smart and also kept very clean. Any problem was resolved quickly. When I needed sleep and there was noise outside they offered earplugs ! The jazz and popular music theme is great fun.

I would always stay here whenever possible.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#79 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#87 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#110 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#135 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#47 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BackStage Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Property: BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — BackStage Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BackStage Hotel Amsterdam is a small hotel next to the venues Paradiso and Melkweg, next to the Leidseplein. All rooms offer LCD TV, Alarmclock radio, I-pod dock, Free WIFI and FlightCase Furniture. The hotel is staffed 24/7. We do not have an elevator. Specialties for musicians on the road. @ the bar you'll find a pool table and instruments which you can play on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your BackStage Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing