We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Surinamese/Indonesian”
Review of Spang Makandra

Spang Makandra
Ranked #682 of 3,858 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: De Pijp
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Surinamese/Indonesian”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This place is legit. The food is delicious and reasonably priced. The only problem for a traveller is that the menu is not in English but if you have the patience they will explain the menu to you. I like the Nasi Rendang which is noodles with a beef in a coconut curry. It comes with some veggies which are nice on the side. They also have a yummy pink coconut drink which I can never remember the name of, so I just ask for the pink one ;)
If you go at a busy time be prepared to wait, as it is a small restaurant. If you live close by its worth calling ahead and grabbing takeout!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zabtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    61
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lille, Nord-Pas-de-Calais, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Warung Spang Makandra is a little restaurant in a small and quiet street. They propose traditional surinamese and javanese meals. Since you arrive, you feel very comfortable because the personnel is really kind and efficient. The menu is translated in english in case you need it, you can also ask for some advice. You can have a main dish from about 7 to 10 euros maximum which is very cheap compared to the quantity and the excellent quality of the food. We spent 22€ for two main dishes and beverages. We loved that restaurant so much that we are sad to not have one in France !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giallo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Great food, not too spicy, generous portions. Chicken soup is very tasty. Delicious sweet coconut drinks, I even had 2 of them.

The only thing that it is very small room filled with people buying stuff to take away. And what you won't find here is desserts and alcohol.

Helpful?
1 Thank maxokorokov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun, casual setting, great food”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We only had time for one evening meal in Amsterdam and were so very pleased we made the effort to come to this restaurant.
Easy to find, this place is just off the 16 and 24 tram route.
We went on a Monday night around 7.30 and didn't have to wait for a table, though the place was pleasingly full. The (eat in) crowd was young and very mixed, a lot of people came by to collect take out food.
The staff are charming and speak English very well.
We were recommended 2 special plates, costing about 10Eu each. Each included 5/6 different dishes/servings of either rice, beef, vegetable content.
Everything was just lovely, especially the satay chicken (a much more sophisticated flavour than many satays I have tried) and the rendang beef was deep flavoured, tender and utterly memorable.
As other reviews there is no alcohol on the menu and no-one in the restaurant seemed to be drinking BYOB, so we happily choose from the huge array of soft drinks. My authentic imported coconut water was much nicer than the stuff currently on offer in UK supermarkets.
Just a great little restaurant - a nice crowd - friendly staff. Would go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pethl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly place for cheap eats.”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Came following a recommendation from my host in Amsterdam and as I haven't tried Surinamese food before. I opted, on the advice of the waiter, to go for the Spang Makandra special which was a very full plate with noodles, a rice, some sort of tasty stew and a vegetable dish. I found the food filling but not so interesting as say an Indian or Thai meal - addicted to chilli, me - so a tasty filling meal but I won't be going again. It might have been my choices that were not great. Overall this was a very reasonably priced filling meal for the price.

Friendly helpful service. No license so it will be a soft drink with your meal - I didn't see anyone bringing their own beer/wine in and didn't see any messages encouraging, or discouraging this.

Not much of an atmosphere at 8 pm. Located in a busy part of town with lots of other dining choices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmthatsnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spang Makandra also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Spang Makandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing