We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but disappointing room- 'Double, with two single beds'”
Review of NH Amsterdam Zuid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Zuid
Ranked #122 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was very disappointed to see that, although we had booked and opted for a double room, our room consisted of two single beds pushed together and meant that I had a few very uncomfortable nights sleep and then had to move two days later into a new room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHMusica, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Zuid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Rebecca,

We are very sorry to read that your room did not meet up with your expectations about our hotel. NH Musica strives for optimal service for our guests and we will make sure this doesn’t happen again. Our sincere apologies again, and we would like to thank you for your time to write your comment about NH Musica on Tripadvisor.

Yours faithfully,

Alex Jost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,280)
There are newer reviews for NH Amsterdam Zuid
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I went on a school trip with 40 other people and we stayed at this hotel in mid-March 2014. All of us were extremely pleased by the quality of the rooms, hotel staff, and breakfast. Plus, it is close to the tram that will take you to the city center of Amsterdam. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHMusica, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Zuid, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Rebecca,
Thank you so much for your time to leave your comment about NH Musica on Tripadvisor. We are glad that we could make your stay memorable and we hope to welcome you back at our hotel the next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Alex Jost
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel came as part of a cheap package we found for a 4 day break. It is a bit far out of the main city but only 10minutes from the airport, which will cost you around 40euros for the 'pleasure' of a taxi, so avoid that if you can. It takes around 20 minutes on the Tram from the hotel to get to where it is all happening, tickets cost around 7euros a day or we got a 72 hour ticket for 16euros which can be used on all tram lines so is perfect for getting around the city. There isn't much around the hotel area, on the first evening we were there it was raining so we couldn't find anything local for dinner so ate in the hotel which was actually really nice.

1  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 July 2014

this hotel is nothing much from the outside but inside is a clean and contemporary accommodation that is near perfect. rooms are spacious and clean with some of the best beds i've slept in while staying in europe over the years. nothing bad to say about the rooms overall. the restaurant off the main lobby serves a great variety of varying cuisines. i'm not sure on pricing for either rooms or food but both are very high quality. the hotel is located a few kilometers from the airport and offers good wifi and bike rentals for getting around and seeing the sights. 15 minute casual bike ride gets you into the city centre of amsterdam.

no complaints at all. if i had to find a negative it would be that the "music" theme is a bit weak throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHMusica, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Zuid, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Victoria,

We would like to thank you for your time to write this positive review about NH Musica at Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and we would love to see you back again on your next visit in Amsterdam.

I wish you a pleasant day.

Kind regards,

Alex Jost
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Unfortunately, our stay at this hotel was not the most pleasant. We traveled with our 11 year old, meaning that a roll-away bed was added to the room. Although we were staying for a week, and with three people in the room, they gave us a much smaller than average room, located right next to the elevator. I raised this with the front desk; however, they were insistent that rooms were standard sizes and there was no option for a larger room, unless I wanted to pay for a suite. I could clearly see from the room map on the back of the hotel room door that our room was smaller by about 30%. The attitude of the staff was condescending and their refusal to acknowledge and resolve our smaller room issue made for an uncomfortable stay. I booked for two adults and a child and also called the hotel directly two weeks before we arrived to make sure we had a room that would accommodate three. I expected better from this hotel, especially as most of their usual clientele are staying for one or two nights, traveling alone. There is nothing special about this hotel, the location is poor and the attitude off putting.

Room Tip: Not a hotel for families, only suitable for business travellers.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expatpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHMusica, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Zuid, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear guest,

We are sorry to see that your stay at NH Musica could not meet up with your expectations. The rooms located next to the elevator are indeed a little bit smaller than the other rooms. I will sure to pass along your comments to our Front Office Manager in this way we can prepare in the right way for following guests traveling with a child. I know this doesn’t make up to your trouble, but we are glad you took the time to gives us feedback in order to improve.
If you want to stay at another NH Hotel any time soon, be sure to call to our hotel first and ask for me than I will arrange a free upgrade for you. We hope you still enjoyed the beautiful city of Amsterdam.

Yours Faithfully

Alex Jost
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We struggled quite abit with finding the place when we first arrived but its pretty simple once you have it figured out. Location definitely wasn't ideal seeing how it's quite a distance from the city center and away from all the main attractions. Also, it takes a bit of walking to get the nearest tram station. That being said, the hotel itself was very satisfactory. Rooms were very modern, spacious and above all, clean. Hotel staff were very accommodating and friendly. Plus, i'd say its pretty great value for money. Dining at the hotel is pretty pricey though, so i'd suggest eating elsewhere if you're on a tighter budget.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHMusica, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Zuid, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear guest,

First of all thank you for your time to write this review about us on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to see that the location of our hotel is not as close to the city center as you expected. However we are delighted to read that the rooms and service could compensate for this inconvenience.

Yours Faithfully,

Alex Jost
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Arriving at the NH Musica, it looked like we were arriving in a 1960s apartment block area, but actually the hotel is modern, clean and very nice. We had a long tussle with reception about changing to a room with a bath rather than a shower, which we finally got in the end - having cycled from London the previous day, I needed a good soak!

My cycle ride is relevant as there were 150 of us who did it who were booked into the hotel, yet the bar only had 2 staff, and seemed surprised at how busy it was. And breakfast the next morning was similar. The food however was good at both breakfast and our celebratory dinner at the hotel after our ride.

The rooms are very modern, very clean and very smart, with plenty of space and comfy beds - even if they do commit the cardinal sin of a 'double' bed being two beds pushed together! The hotel is quiet and the city centre is a €15 taxi ride away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHMusica, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Zuid, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear guest,

At first we would like to thank you for your time to write a review about NH Musica. I am happy to hear that the inside design of our hotel pleasantly surprised you, NH Musica is only a few years old and we strive to stay modern and tidy.
We apologize for the fact that you felt like we had a lack of staff on duty during your stay, we will look into this and see if we need to change this for the next time when we welcome a large group of guests.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you had a save cycle ride home.

Yours sincerely

Alex Jost
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#119 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#105 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
NH Amsterdam Noord
NH Amsterdam Noord
#90 of 371 in Amsterdam
669 reviews
0.9 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#92 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,723 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#111 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Zuid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Zuid

Address: Van Leijenberghlaan 221, 1082 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Musica)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#106 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £74 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Zuid 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultra-modern NH Amsterdam Zuid located in the heart of the Zuidas business district, just a stone's throw from the World Trade Center. This trendy neighborhood provides guests with a bevy of shops, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Zuid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Musica Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Musica Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing