We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Place to Stay For a Mixed Group Of Friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Lastage Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
De Lastage Apartments
Ranked #104 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay For a Mixed Group Of Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We booked the De Lastage Apartments to stay over the bank holiday weekend.
As we were arriving outside of their usual check in hours I arranged in advance some alternative check in arrangements, which all went perfectly to plan.
The location of the apartment was perfect for us, it was about a 10-15 minute walk into the hustle and bustle of cental amsterdam, but in a quite enough location to allow us to relax when we needed to. Supermarkets, banks, restuarants and bars are all within 5 mins walking distance. Highly recomment Tonys Bagels (the BLT is great), its just past the large supermarket on the corner.
The apartment was large and clean and contained all of the facilities required during our stay. The beds were extremely comfortable and plently of additional towels/pillows ect were provided. The filtered tap water was a nice bonus and the toilet and shower facilities were excellent. We didnt have very good weather buring our stay but the apartment was warm and dry.

All in all this apartment fulfilled every need thet we required and WHEN we visit Amsterdam again we will definately consider a repeat visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheffben79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    43
    7
    2
    11
See reviews for
73
9
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Our apartment was a split-level one. Two bedrooms and one bathroom on the upper floor, and the living room, kitchen and a powder room on the lower floor - a lot of space. The staff are only there till 5.00 pm but were helpful with whatever we needed. It is an excellent location: very close to Rembrandt square, 5 minutes walk to Rembrandplein, 10-15 minutes walk to the Red Light District.

There were a number of excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. We didn't use public transport, but did use both the hop-on-hop-off boat tour (Canal Bus: which worked great) and the hop-on-hop-off bus, and both of these had stops within a couple of hundred meters of the apartment. There was a nice supermarket within a couple of minutes walk.

This is definitely where we would stay if we were to go back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Generally I find apartment hotels to be lacking in Europe, so I am very happy for the initiative that De Lastage has done with creating this apartment hotel in Amsterdam.
With that being said however, I find the apartments offered by De Lastage to be sort of half-[--] . The location is great and lots of effort and money has gone into selecting the appliances and beds, but then it was sort of like the money ran out.

The walls had marks all over them, the floors were worn and sticky, and had water damage in the kitchen.
The shower had black mold on the bottom and corner caulk.
The kitchen, equipped with a lovely 5 burner SMEG stove, only had to pots and one pan. There were no baking sheets, no chopping boards, the knives were doll as hell. So really the kitchen was only good for simple breakfast and lunch.
The bathrooms had toilet paper and shampoo, but no hand soap was supplied. Also the kitchen had a dish brush, but no dish soap. I'm sorry, but for a 4 night stay, I'm not going to go out and buy such things, were I will use maybe a forth.
The towels in the bathrooms were overly worn and some of them were threadbare, one of them also had black marks on it, probably stemming from mascara, just not properly cleaned.
The walls were bare, except for one supermarket type drawing. There was a post in the elevator, that art was being distributed around, hopefully they hadn't reached our apartment yet.

The beds though, were absolutely great, best sleep I've ever had in a hotel room.

De Lastage has every possibility to create a fantastic apartment hotel, but they are missing out on the little things. It needs to feel like you could actually live there, so the kitchen needs to be well stocked with utensils, small things like soap needs to be there and it needs to be CLEAN.
Yes, the visitors scratch the walls, but then go over it every 1-2 months with a paintbrush, it is not that hard.
For a place where you're paying €300 a night, you expect more than this.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SecretDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

It is in a very convenient location. All major attractions are within walking distance. The apartment is spacious, clean and equipped with excellent kitchen facilities. Though our apartment is facing the street, we were not disturbed by any noise.

The reception lady is very nice and helpful. She booked us a taxi to the airport with a discount rate.

One thing that can be improved is the security of the building, which is not manned. You have to use the key card to gain entrance. However, the automatic door stays open for a long time so anyone can sneak in. On one occasion, we found the door was wide open on our return because it had been stuck by the floor mat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hfguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The apartment is located in a great location, located close to the metro, the tram, and just far enough from the main train station to avoid all the noise. We rented a 2 bedroom apartment. The lady at the reception desk was very nice and helpful. The apartment is very modern, with a great big living/dining room. The bedrooms are also nice. Overall, it was a great place. However, there are a few things that they need to fix or make better. There is not enough lighting in the main living area. One more light would be perfect. What was most disappointing was the cleanliness of the bed sheets. We found stains on the bed sheets, pillow cases, and the duvet cover. They also didn’t replenish all the shampoo bottles. We got a few half bottles which were probably left over from the last guests.

All in all, I think the apartment would be perfect if they had provided clean sheets. But I still recommend it because of the modern facilities, great location, and nice staff. I hope they will take notice and make the necessary change.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed at the De Lastage Apartments for a business trip with two colleagues. All of the bedrooms were very clean as was the rest of the apartment. All of the rooms were a very good size with plenty of room.

The location is about a 5 minute walk from the Waterlooplein Metro station as well as a short walk from plenty of places to eat and drink (about 10 minutes). The supermarket is at the corner of Valkenburgerstraat and is a resonable price for all your needs.

The shower was certainly a positive, wet room which a large rose shower which was great to wake you up in the morning. Internet access is also free by either LAN cable or WiFi. This is certainly a place I would recommend to anyone who wants a quality location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartynCoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in Port A
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We are four adult family members, stayed in this well appointed, great location Vacation Apartment two weeks in September 2011. We traveled around Europe for three weeks, came back to De Lastage for another week. I can't say enough about the management, these guys nailed it! Only negative aspect is the shower, a squeegee broom would be great as we had to use bath towels to mop up. We are already making plans for 2013, staying at De Lastage of course. Go to the top floor step out on the balcony, best view of Amsterdam. A small cafe across the street Het Kleine Olijfje is a must, their specialty is Tappas excellent food and service very cozy place.
The Perales' Oceanside,CA and Omaha, Nebraska.

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussieinteriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#166 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Plantage & the East
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
#6 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam ID Aparthotel
#5 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Centrum
Yays Concierged Boutique Apartments Bickersgracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lastage Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lastage Apartments

Property: De Lastage Apartments
Address: Valkenburgerstraat 188A, 1011 NC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Lastage Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 29 De Lastage apartments are equipped with Hastens beds, Smeg kitchen, flatscreen TV, DVD-player and a stereo system. High speed internet (cable) is price-included and telephone is an option if one wants to use one of the rooms as an "office away from the office." Also you will find all the standard household equipment as an iron, ironing board, vacuum cleaner, hairdryer, coffee machine, water cooker, microwave oven, dishwasher and of course several pans, plates and cutlery. We provide twice-a-week apartment cleaning and linen service by a certified staff under direct management. A professional laundry room has been created in the same building. Other services requested by our guests can also be taken care of. From Monday to Friday our Facility Manager will be in the office in the same apartment building to provide one with personal service for all queries which may arise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
De Lastage Apartments Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing