We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of B & B 1680

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B & B 1680
Ranked #163 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Our stay in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This B&B is in a great location and very central to all the sight seeing areas. The owners are friendly and accommodating. The room was ideal for the over night stay. There is a fridge, hair-dryer, TV and tea and Coffee facilities. Breakfast was served in a picnic basket that was left outside your door, this included, bread, jam. spreads, fruit juice, brioche and fresh fruit. I would use this B&B again, its simple with no frills and good on cost.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Black and White room. It was quiet and relaxing. No view though outside the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    37
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
3
74
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed in the white room at the back, neat, clean and comfortable with great shower. Breakfast was not spectacular, however there are so many great pastry shops in the area. This location is central to everything which is great for sight seeing. If you are looking for somewhere where you are free to come and go, left alone and still well accommodated then this is the place to stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just got back from staying here for the weekend and have to say it was so friendly.We stayed in the white room which was very cosy and clean and linen and towels changed each day. Breakfast was ok. Met by Eugenie on arrival and she was so friendly and Joost came to see if we were ok as my boyfriend had sciatica and he gave us tablets which didnt really help but the thought was there, they both could not do enough for you. Would recommend these rooms to anyone thinking of going Amsterdam as they are in the heart of everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine13368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed for 4 nights, but wish it had been less(nothing to do with rooms, I just did not like Amsterdam). The room is very basic, clean, ensuite is adequate but small. Breakfast is alright, but its the same every morning, which gets boring quickly. Good price for Amsterdam, only met Eugenie, she was very friendly & helpful. Overall, alright place, be mindful of the stairs they are very narrow & hard to manoeuver with luggage. Also, they need a sign out the front, its difficult to find.

Room Tip: White room is very small, bed is inbuilt in floor which was awkward, choose other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights prior to a cruise departing Amsterdam. We stayed in the Black and White room at the back of the property which was spacious and quiet. The main problem was the very steep spiral staircase to get the room made it difficult to get luggage up. They explained that due to heritage limitations with the age of the building they were unable to modify, which is fine, but guests should be aware of this when booking.
While the room was spacious, the bed was uncomfortable and pillows flat. There was also limited airflow in the room which made it very stuffy, and no fan or air con in the room. One window would only stay open a little, while the other was screwed shut.
The breakfast was delivered in a basket outside the bedroom door the night before, so if you are after interaction with your hosts over breakfast, you won't find it here.
There is also no signage at the front of the property to identify it, so we walked past a couple of times before we realised which canal house it was.
I would also recommend a taxi from Centraal Station (if arriving by train) as there are a lot of cobble stones that would test most luggage - it is probably a 15 minute walk with luggage.
If you are after a central location at a reasonable price and prefer to be left alone, then this may be the place for you, but it wasn't really what we were looking for.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanKAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We booked this room after seeing reviews on Trip Advisor. The price was incredibly reasonable compared with everywhere else in Amsterdam.

The location was perfect for having a taste of the red light district without having to be fully submerged. I imagine that the rooms can be a little noisy at night on the weekends, but it wasn't an issue while we were there. It was an absolute pleasure to stay in a traditional canal side building.

We stayed in the 'Black and White room', the room was very spacious, with bed down one end and large dining table and kitchen area at the opposite end. We didn't use these at all as we were only there briefly. Room also included an ensuite shower/toilet, which was nice.

The only reason we are giving 4/5 is that breakfast left much to be desired. A rather strange mix of bread, jam, chocolate sprinkles and fruit. No tea or coffee at all, so we went out for breakfast both mornings.

The owners kept to themselves though very kindly offered to look after our bags on our last day as our flight wasn't until the evening.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth_Sharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Delightful stay in the white room, joost was a great host and gave lots of good recommendations! Breakfast was good- no fresh coffee though. The room had a great view onto the canal! Only downside- very close to the wild red light district!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jentones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#133 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
#258 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Manikomio
Manikomio
#71 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Ultraviolet Studios
Ultraviolet Studios
#74 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
RUST. Bed & Breakfast
RUST. Bed & Breakfast
#126 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#98 of 225 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B 1680? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B 1680

Property: B & B 1680
Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 144, 1012 DV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish accommodation and free Wi-Fi in this monumental, 17th century canal house, conveniently situated in the oldest part of Amsterdam city centre. The 2 rooms of the Bed & Breakfast 1680 each offer a private bathroom, a DVD-player and a fridge. Every morning a fresh breakfast is served up to your room, including orange juice, sandwiches, spreads, coffee and tea. Whether it’s the bright elegance of the white room or the warm atmosphere of the black & white room, you will have a comfortable base for your city trip. Enjoy a breathtaking view of the canal or the wonderful inner courtyard. Just 1 minute from the popular Red Light District and 2 minutes from Dam Square, this B&B provides you with an excellent location.About the Innkeepers:Joost is a MD working in the largest hospital of Amsterdam and Dennis is a fashion designer, specilised in corsets.When you enter the house, you will see a collection of his creations! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
b & b 1680 Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast 1680

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing