We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location close to everything”
Review of B & B 1680

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B & B 1680
Ranked #141 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I think they are having an identity crisis. Don't expect a B and B unless the second B stands for basket - which I may add along with the phone number for the taxi that I needed to phone at 5 am wasn't delivered on our final morning. Really disappointing finish. The toilet seat in the black and white room is cracked hence it pitches you're backside - not the most comfortable thing . No soap/ shampoo provided - even for the sink. Even hostels provide that , didnt feel like a B&B at all - hence identity crisis. More like a private room in a hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sianah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

The B&B is in a very old house without elevator or a/c but with narrow winding wooden steps. It undoubtedly has character and atmosphere but not any more than that.

You should not choose this b&b if you would like to see or talk to one of the staff or owners, if you like milk in your tea or coffee, appreciate a real breakfast if you are older than 40 and/or are not in olympic condition.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meikelfromtivon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This B&B is in a great location and very central to all the sight seeing areas. The owners are friendly and accommodating. The room was ideal for the over night stay. There is a fridge, hair-dryer, TV and tea and Coffee facilities. Breakfast was served in a picnic basket that was left outside your door, this included, bread, jam. spreads, fruit juice, brioche and fresh fruit. I would use this B&B again, its simple with no frills and good on cost.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Black and White room. It was quiet and relaxing. No view though outside the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed in the white room at the back, neat, clean and comfortable with great shower. Breakfast was not spectacular, however there are so many great pastry shops in the area. This location is central to everything which is great for sight seeing. If you are looking for somewhere where you are free to come and go, left alone and still well accommodated then this is the place to stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just got back from staying here for the weekend and have to say it was so friendly.We stayed in the white room which was very cosy and clean and linen and towels changed each day. Breakfast was ok. Met by Eugenie on arrival and she was so friendly and Joost came to see if we were ok as my boyfriend had sciatica and he gave us tablets which didnt really help but the thought was there, they both could not do enough for you. Would recommend these rooms to anyone thinking of going Amsterdam as they are in the heart of everything.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine13368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed for 4 nights, but wish it had been less(nothing to do with rooms, I just did not like Amsterdam). The room is very basic, clean, ensuite is adequate but small. Breakfast is alright, but its the same every morning, which gets boring quickly. Good price for Amsterdam, only met Eugenie, she was very friendly & helpful. Overall, alright place, be mindful of the stairs they are very narrow & hard to manoeuver with luggage. Also, they need a sign out the front, its difficult to find.

Room Tip: White room is very small, bed is inbuilt in floor which was awkward, choose other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabitha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights prior to a cruise departing Amsterdam. We stayed in the Black and White room at the back of the property which was spacious and quiet. The main problem was the very steep spiral staircase to get the room made it difficult to get luggage up. They explained that due to heritage limitations with the age of the building they were unable to modify, which is fine, but guests should be aware of this when booking.
While the room was spacious, the bed was uncomfortable and pillows flat. There was also limited airflow in the room which made it very stuffy, and no fan or air con in the room. One window would only stay open a little, while the other was screwed shut.
The breakfast was delivered in a basket outside the bedroom door the night before, so if you are after interaction with your hosts over breakfast, you won't find it here.
There is also no signage at the front of the property to identify it, so we walked past a couple of times before we realised which canal house it was.
I would also recommend a taxi from Centraal Station (if arriving by train) as there are a lot of cobble stones that would test most luggage - it is probably a 15 minute walk with luggage.
If you are after a central location at a reasonable price and prefer to be left alone, then this may be the place for you, but it wasn't really what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanKAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Hostelle
#36 of 242 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Couture
#42 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,960 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B 1680? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B 1680

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 144, 1012 DV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £87 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish accommodation and free Wi-Fi in this monumental, 17th century canal house, conveniently situated in the oldest part of Amsterdam city centre. The 2 rooms of the Bed & Breakfast 1680 each offer a private bathroom, a DVD-player and a fridge. Every morning a fresh breakfast is served up to your room, including orange juice, sandwiches, spreads, coffee and tea. Whether it’s the bright elegance of the white room or the warm atmosphere of the black & white room, you will have a comfortable base for your city trip. Enjoy a breathtaking view of the canal or the wonderful inner courtyard. Just 1 minute from the popular Red Light District and 2 minutes from Dam Square, this B&B provides you with an excellent location.About the Innkeepers:Joost is a MD working in the largest hospital of Amsterdam and Dennis is a fashion designer, specilised in corsets.When you enter the house, you will see a collection of his creations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your B & B 1680 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b & b 1680 Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast 1680

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing